Chevron Left
Retour à Advanced Algorithms and Complexity

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Advanced Algorithms and Complexity par Université de Californie à San Diego

4.6
étoiles
632 évaluations
119 avis

À propos du cours

In previous courses of our online specialization you've learned the basic algorithms, and now you are ready to step into the area of more complex problems and algorithms to solve them. Advanced algorithms build upon basic ones and use new ideas. We will start with networks flows which are used in more typical applications such as optimal matchings, finding disjoint paths and flight scheduling as well as more surprising ones like image segmentation in computer vision. We then proceed to linear programming with applications in optimizing budget allocation, portfolio optimization, finding the cheapest diet satisfying all requirements and many others. Next we discuss inherently hard problems for which no exact good solutions are known (and not likely to be found) and how to solve them in practice. We finish with a soft introduction to streaming algorithms that are heavily used in Big Data processing. Such algorithms are usually designed to be able to process huge datasets without being able even to store a dataset....

Meilleurs avis

FS

21 oct. 2020

It's was great to learn advanced algorithms and complexity. Besides, I learn new topics that can help me further learning. All the problems and the lectures were very good.

EM

3 janv. 2018

As usual, complex arguments explained in simple terms!

Some problems are really tough! (e.g. there's a problem from Google Code Jam).

Thank you for this course!

Filtrer par :

101 - 117 sur 117 Avis pour Advanced Algorithms and Complexity

par Alexander M

29 juin 2017

.

par Niraj S

11 janv. 2017

While I like the content of the course but I felt too much of topics were crammed into one single course. I had to struggle a lot to grasp the concepts on advanced algorithms by just relying on video lectures so I had to look around in the internet for additional resources. Nonetheless it was a satisfying experience though it took me a lot of time and effort to complete the assignments.

par John B

7 mai 2018

A lot of really useful algorithms are covered in this course, however some of the presentation is annoyingly sparse on details (particularly in the section on network flows).

par Juho V

13 sept. 2018

Lectures are mostly good. Assignments not. They are often very difficult in an uninteresting way such as unintuitive input formats and / or template code.

par Daniel P

31 mars 2018

Too much emphasis on implementation details (99%), so one doesn't get a great intuitive understanding of the logic of algorithms.

par HussamAldeen S

27 août 2019

Course content is very good, however the lectures are hard to follow because the examples are always at the end.

par Saurab D

15 oct. 2018

The lectures are very abstract so, I had some difficulty in solving the assignment problems.

par Cheung W C

29 juin 2021

N​eeds to redo week2. Insufficient guideline on 2phase simplex method.

par Ahmed A

15 août 2017

Some of the material was not sufficiently covered or explained

par Valeriano T

7 oct. 2017

Too much material for the time given :(

par JICHEN W

28 janv. 2018

very challenging

par Jose P E

2 nov. 2017

I'd give it more stars, but, sadly, when I started the specialization, the professors were very responsive and active in the forums, giving help and guidance.

However, more than a year after the specialization started, (this is the fifth course), the professors were totally absent, precisely when I needed their help!

I hope they'll be back or assign someone else to answer the questions of the students in the forums.

par Dmitri M

9 mai 2017

I have finished the specialization. The first 4 parts were more or less useful. Unfortunately, Advanced Algorithms and Complexity is a poorly implemented course. Some interesting assignments but lectures are pedagogically lacking (e.g., the Simplex Method isn't covered at all).

par Bohdan S

4 mars 2021

Although the 3rd and 4th weeks are good enough and Mr. Alexander S. Kulikov did a great job there, I'd rather give this course a thumb down just because of the first two weeks that were so poorly organized and absolutely rubbish last week on Heavy Hitters problem.

par Julian A

12 déc. 2016

Inadequate student and teacher participation on forums, leaving students to figure things out without assistance or collaboration. Insufficient explanation of math concepts required to fully understand lectures.

par David F

17 juin 2017

This course is way harder than the prior ones in the specialization.

par Mahmoud M

7 avr. 2019

Took very long time fro me to be finished