Chevron Left
Retour à The Science of Training Young Athletes

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour The Science of Training Young Athletes par Université de Floride

4.8
étoiles
518 évaluations
173 avis

À propos du cours

Seventy percent of kids drop out of sports before their high school graduation. Only 15% leave because they feel they are not good enough. Almost 70% leave because they were not having fun, or due to problems with the coach. Injuries cause 30% to give up sports. This course is packed full of practical sports science information that provide youth coaches and parents with the practical pediatric sports science insights to successfully retain young athletes and develop their sport potential while avoiding injury and overtraining. We begin by examining the multidimensional nature of coaching, the relevant sport motor performance abilities, the impact of growth and development on motor skills, the gene versus practice controversy, and briefly overview the body structures strengthened through training. Then we explore the athlete's energy supply, where this energy comes from, and how it matures along with the athlete. Finally, we examine the development of strength, power, anaerobic capacity, coordination and flexibility through the life span. The optional text manual for this course is available at: http://www.learnitez.com/HighPerformanceScience/manuals/...

Meilleurs avis

BD
27 mai 2017

Great base to build on. Filled in my gaps with regards to physical/physiological development of young athletes. For me it is a great addition to the English FA Level 1 and 2 football coaching course.

PP
30 avr. 2020

The course was explained comprehensively.. thank you so much for making this course, I have learned a lot. I can surely use this knowledge in my class as Physical Education teacher

Filtrer par :

1 - 25 sur 167 Avis pour The Science of Training Young Athletes

par Cara B

27 mai 2020

As a current athlete, looking to potentially go into coaching in the future this course was very interesting. I highly recommend this course even if you are still an athlete not looking to go into coaching.

par Bent C D

28 mai 2017

Great base to build on. Filled in my gaps with regards to physical/physiological development of young athletes. For me it is a great addition to the English FA Level 1 and 2 football coaching course.

par Sharan G

9 avr. 2017

Great course! Very well structured and taught. Great job by Dr. Brooks! If you're a coach training at any level this is a must-do course!

par TimTim S

20 nov. 2019

This is a great course which provides an understanding of the bio-chemical machine that the human body is. I would love to have further feedback about my performance in the course. I feel the concepts have been explained well and can be utilised in training & creating relevant training programmes for various age-groups - not just young athletes.

par Mihnea T

19 août 2017

Very good course covering everything about the basics of training young athletes. The course is a must for young or starting coaches. It is also an excellent tool for parents who wish to better understand their children practicing sports. While focusing on the young athlete, the knowledge from this course is set in the context of the different phases of growth and maturation and there is much to it that can be applied to mature athletes as well.

As a suggestion: perhaps it would be interesting for future iterations of the course to touch the topic of young athletes affected by diabetes and other chronicle disease and how should coaches, athletes and parents cope with that. Same goes for a more in-depth look into the psychology of athletes in general and young athletes in particular.

par Dr. M A G

8 juil. 2020

The course helped me get get much more insights into the science of training. So far I used to be a recreational Triathlete. But after doing the course I was able to get much more insights into the various concepts of Speed, Coordination, Flexibility, Strength, Coordination and endurance along with the concepts of diet, stretching, recovery and training concepts. The course was conducted in a very fluid manner and was easily understood with good illustrations making the biological terms easily understood. Thank you very much Dr. Chris Brooks. I loved the course very much. I would recommend all Sports Coaches to take this course. I adds many dimensions the body of Sports Coaching.

par Sudarshana K

4 sept. 2020

Thank you very much for your good work . trough out the course I have learnt lot of things . she taught us very clearly very important things. I think while we are doing coaching this is very useful for us . Once again thank you University of FLORIDA and URSERA gave me this huge opportunity to me. This knowledge mean gold for me as a physical education Instructor ,Coach and Visiting lecturer. I will hope continue further courses without any hesitation.

par greg a

11 avr. 2020

This course had a lot of great information that applied to not only my own athletic endeavors and how I train, but valuable information on the young developing athlete. There was excellent, detailed information regarding all the systems of the body and how they work and how they evolved and change as children grow. This information is valuable in structuring sound work outs and programs that are age appropriate. I really enjoyed this course.

par Stefan D L T Y

24 août 2020

The course was very informative. It would have been great if there was a module or two on how to prepare age appropriate training for a particular sport or if that is too wide, a guide on what exercises would be appropriate for especially the pre puberty and puberty stage as well, for example running, jumping certain strength building exercises. Also a link to books, videos (tutorials) on stretching exercises would have been really helpful.

par Tom H

3 mai 2020

Just a fantastic course for anyone involved in training children or just having children that participate in any sport. I have been a basketball coach for many years and I am now a much better coach after having gone through this course. I am very thankful for University of Florida and Professor Chris Brooks for making this possible. It is also fantastic to be able to take this course from Sweden - Thank you Coursera.

par Mark F

7 juil. 2020

Very well structured and insightful course on how children and teenagers develop and therefore as a coach what you need to be aware of to improve players/teams. As a rugby coach with children just entering teenage years the informative information about the physical work capacity and how this develops will really help me develop my coaching plans over the coming years. Thank you.

par Vera C D

1 sept. 2018

This was my first time interacting in taking an online course. I found the information to be very informative and interesting. I really enjoyed the experience. Now that I've gotten my feet wet, I look forward to continuing my educational goals. My aspiration is to learn as much as I can in order to allow people and children to become better achievers for tomorrow.

par Guillermo R B

17 nov. 2017

Es un curso indispensable paras todos los maestros, entrenadores y padres de deportistas en etapas formativas. Abarca los aspectos fundamentales del entrenamiento deportivo en niños y adolescentes explicando desde la perspectiva científica las bases para el aprovechamiento y disfrute de la práctica deportiva en edades tempranas.

par Delfina

31 déc. 2017

If you are not a PE teacher or have little experience the course is great. If you need to review basic stauff, this is your course too. If you are an expert you can also take the opportunity to review material y listen to the final material, the final interview with Dr. Williams is worth the course. This is a course for anyone!

par Lazaros F

2 août 2017

The course is very informative - what I wanted was to gain a basic understanding of coaching/training so as to better understand the details of exercising. Instead of looking on various sources on internet with questionable reliability I chose to complete this course. I have also completed Part 2 which I highly recommend.

par Kate S

17 févr. 2018

This course is pitched at a level requiring science understanding to approximately age 16-18. It is challenging but also very well structured and presented. It is useful for people from many backgrounds. I found it really insightful and it will add to my skill set for my work as a physiotherapist and also as a parent.

par ILIAS F

27 juin 2020

I admire Dr Brooks scientific background. I enjoyed her narration and every slide. Although it is a beginner's level course, it was very detailed and well developed. I learned so many new things despite of my 10 years experience as a coach. I am excited for the second part. Good choice. Well done Coursera.

par Bharath A

2 août 2020

A very through and detailed approach. Putting the science behind athlete development from a young age. This is a must do for any coach or any person that is involved in physical education, literacy or training. Thank you Dr. Brooks for the time and effort put to create such invaluable content!

par G A

16 juil. 2020

If you don't know how the engine (body) works, how do you expect to modify it (to a sports specific body). An indispensable course if you work with kids through sports.

There is critical information without which we are probably causing some harm. Cause no harm! Take this course!

par Jhon S E P

13 juil. 2020

Excelente explicación de las fases de crecimiento y maduración en la pubertad y los periodos sensibles para la adquisición de habilidades para potenciar el techo genético de un atleta. Además de otros conceptos relevantes en el campo del entrenamiento de atletas jóvenes!

par Andr�s A V F

13 sept. 2020

It is an excellent course, which contemplates in a very understandable way the most important topics within the sports training environment.

As for the Speaker, Dr. Chris Brooks, is a very capable person in her area, who transmits knowledge in a very practical way.

par Patrick D

26 mai 2020

Excellent course where the scientific background of the basic training methodologies is explained in a clear and consise way. I know understand the why's an how's of training young athletes much better and will incorporate this knowledge into my future training plans.

par Richard R D

9 févr. 2019

I love this course. Very well explained and detailled. It also gives you a great insight of sport sciences.

Some of the modules really explaned the difference between genders. As a soccer of coach of young females athletes, it teaches more about females athletes too.

par Daequan J

17 août 2020

This course was excellent, it taught me new information that will now help me to develop my skills and experience as a coach not just to young athletes but to any age group. I will definitely recommend this course to anyone who wants to develop their coaching skills

par Leigh S

7 mai 2020

I learned a lot from this course. I haven't had a physiology class in 30 years and a bit has changed. I appreciated the practical application of coaching knowledge backed up by the scientific research that has been concluded since I left the university environment.