Chevron Left
Retour à Writing for Young Readers: Opening the Treasure Chest

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Writing for Young Readers: Opening the Treasure Chest par Commonwealth Education Trust

4.7
étoiles
1,037 évaluations
423 avis

À propos du cours

This course is for curious students and aspiring authors with a passion for writing for young readers. Participate in a dynamic online community of writers as you experiment with your own writing and develop your voice. This course will guide you with a combination of video lectures, online readings, peer reviews, and guest appearances from world-renowned children’s authors. As you work through the writing exercises, you will give and receive feedback from your peers and gain tools and techniques for improving your writing. During this course you will identify stories that matter to you, explore cultural significance and boundaries, and shape your identity as a writer; become familiar with standard elements of narrative (character, setting, plot, theme, language, dialogue, point of view); reflect on your own work and practice essential self-editing skills; see the different ways in which words and art interact, and the possibilities of longer narrative forms; come away with practical insights into publishing options; and create a plan for pursuing your enthusiasm for writing. By the end of the course, you will have ten to twelve extracts of writing that you can develop into a portfolio. Join a dynamic community of many voices from around the world. Find inspiration in your own voice, heart, and place so that you can tell the stories for young readers you’ve always wanted to tell....

Meilleurs avis

DB

Feb 07, 2016

I am a beginner wantabee author and publisher, first steps are elementary, as I need. Self paced, life can get in the way. Instructors are wonderful, as are the guest speakers and interviewees Thanks.

FO

Jul 17, 2017

This course introduces writing in an easy to understand way. The interviews with published authors are very insightful as well. The exercises are a great avenue to practice what the Mooc instruct

Filtrer par :

376 - 400 sur 415 Avis pour Writing for Young Readers: Opening the Treasure Chest

par Ann K

Jul 14, 2017

I particularly enjoyed the writing prompts and Maria Gill's portions of the course.

par Mamotheba M

May 11, 2017

I am finding this course helpful. The presentations are simple and easy to follow

par Yan O L

Dec 24, 2019

The course materials are very informative and useful. Thanks for the good work.

par Phillip K

Aug 29, 2015

It's perfect for teach beginning Children's book writers how to start writing

par Hanaa A

Sep 13, 2015

I love this course. I learned a lot. It ignited my passion for writing again.

par Martin P

Sep 07, 2015

The general advice given is very good and useful, and the section

par David M

Sep 01, 2017

Añadiría textos en español o la opción de subtitular los textos.

par PASCAL D

Sep 05, 2015

interesting and clear !

For all levels of English

Good experience

par Sudha D

Sep 15, 2015

Many more Handouts to refer can improve the course much better

par Kattia C

Sep 01, 2015

Very good Training! Lots of examples and practical knowledge.

par TONY E

Jun 28, 2020

Its a very effective MOOC to enhance the writing skills.

par Alexandra L

Aug 31, 2015

This was a very helpful course, as well as entertaining.

par Ekaterina K

Sep 05, 2015

The course is helpful for begining writers. Thank you.

par Mónica S

Jun 15, 2017

I learned a lot in this course. It was really good

par C L

Oct 04, 2015

I'm learning to write a book which is great.

par 19EUEC102 P R R

Jun 29, 2020

Great way of explanation of the topics.

par Hanto L S

Oct 15, 2017

Good explanation for non native speaker

par Nguyễn M T

Nov 10, 2015

Great, this course upgraded my view.

par Cátia B

Jun 27, 2016

I loved it all!

par Karina N L

Nov 12, 2016

Very good :)

par Meredith F

Aug 30, 2015

Great class!

par Sara M S V

May 23, 2020

.

par Turnip

Sep 03, 2015

I want to give it 3 1/2 starts - sometimes the modules seem really segmented and you spend half the time repeating the same ideas or recapping the course material (that was new that week!).

While the assessment tasks were great exercises, the fact that they're peer-reviewed means that the feedback you get is often unhelpful or poorly informed.

It was a good course to do, but I don't think it's really going to change anyone's life (and I would encourage people to not take the peer feedback too seriously!).

par Aurelien T

Sep 30, 2015

Far too basic in content. It's clearly aimed at people with next to no experience at all on writing and publishing! However, it still is insightful and inspirational as, 'Writing for Young Readers' is taught by two established children writers and, packed with interviews of other writers from all around the world. A nice introduction but, just that -an introduction. If you have experience writing (for children or else)