Chevron Left
Retour à Writing for Young Readers: Opening the Treasure Chest

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Writing for Young Readers: Opening the Treasure Chest par Commonwealth Education Trust

4.7
étoiles
977 évaluations
389 avis

À propos du cours

This course is for curious students and aspiring authors with a passion for writing for young readers. Participate in a dynamic online community of writers as you experiment with your own writing and develop your voice. This course will guide you with a combination of video lectures, online readings, peer reviews, and guest appearances from world-renowned children’s authors. As you work through the writing exercises, you will give and receive feedback from your peers and gain tools and techniques for improving your writing. During this course you will identify stories that matter to you, explore cultural significance and boundaries, and shape your identity as a writer; become familiar with standard elements of narrative (character, setting, plot, theme, language, dialogue, point of view); reflect on your own work and practice essential self-editing skills; see the different ways in which words and art interact, and the possibilities of longer narrative forms; come away with practical insights into publishing options; and create a plan for pursuing your enthusiasm for writing. By the end of the course, you will have ten to twelve extracts of writing that you can develop into a portfolio. Join a dynamic community of many voices from around the world. Find inspiration in your own voice, heart, and place so that you can tell the stories for young readers you’ve always wanted to tell....

Meilleurs avis

DB

Feb 07, 2016

I am a beginner wantabee author and publisher, first steps are elementary, as I need. Self paced, life can get in the way. Instructors are wonderful, as are the guest speakers and interviewees Thanks.

FO

Jul 17, 2017

This course introduces writing in an easy to understand way. The interviews with published authors are very insightful as well. The exercises are a great avenue to practice what the Mooc instruct

Filtrer par :

326 - 350 sur 381 Avis pour Writing for Young Readers: Opening the Treasure Chest

par José G A U

Jun 25, 2020

It's a nice course for begging writers, it helps you lots of things, like characters, settings, plot and more like enquiry letter and publishing.

par Bunly M

Jan 06, 2018

This course is fun but informative. It gives practical knowledge of writing skill for a very curious group of readers, the children. Recommended.

par Heissell R

Oct 08, 2018

I enjoyed the guess interviews. A few times I looked them up on google to see what other books they had written. It was nice to see real life ex

par Nazanin M

Aug 16, 2016

Loved this course! I just wished there was a better system for peer reviews, because I couldn't get any helpful tips or feedbackthrough them.

par Edima

Jul 03, 2016

Pro

Great introductory creative writing course.

Con

Need to create a more structured approach for people when they are giving feedback.

par Shirley J

Sep 15, 2017

This course is incredibly helpful on many levels. The advice given from the course instructors and guest instructors is very good.

par Suranjana R

Jun 22, 2016

I had a great time learning . It was fun as well as informative. Maybe we can have a story competition in another of your courses.

par Johana T M K

Aug 24, 2015

It was good tips. it has really interesting interviews. It was been really positive experience and encouraging to keep writing.

par Ranjeeta R

Jan 04, 2018

Loved the course! It would have been perfect if along with peer reviews we could have been reviewed by famous writers as well!

par DEBRA

Jun 27, 2016

I found this course a very inspiring a thoughtful experience. It gives you direction provides you a meaningful path to follow.

par Grace M

Oct 27, 2015

A pretty basic but very enjoyable and thorough course in writing for younger readers. I really enjoyed my time on this course.

par Dorothy E

Jan 14, 2017

Great course to learn the basics of writing and to get a broader view on what i means to be an author of children's fiction.

par PATRICIA J R

Jun 01, 2017

I'm an English teacher, so much of this was second-hand to me. However, I'm sure it would be hugely beneficial to others.

par Safen R

Jun 02, 2016

A very introductory course that helps in getting an idea on how to write for young readers. I found it quite useful.

par Shaini K

Nov 21, 2015

Great introductory course for writing for children. Comprehensive topic coverage, however not too much detail.

par Imaan A

Jun 05, 2020

It would be better if you could earn a FREE certificate, otherwise amazing course and I really enjoyed it :)

par Hasan F

Dec 16, 2015

A great tool for beginner writes, but not very good at showing you how to write SPECIFICALLY for children.

par Aaliya T

Nov 29, 2015

I am loving this course and it feels liberating to write again, after so many months of idleness.

par Ann K

Jul 14, 2017

I particularly enjoyed the writing prompts and Maria Gill's portions of the course.

par Mamotheba M

May 11, 2017

I am finding this course helpful. The presentations are simple and easy to follow

par Yan O L

Dec 24, 2019

The course materials are very informative and useful. Thanks for the good work.

par Phillip K

Aug 29, 2015

It's perfect for teach beginning Children's book writers how to start writing

par Hanaa A

Sep 13, 2015

I love this course. I learned a lot. It ignited my passion for writing again.

par Martin P

Sep 07, 2015

The general advice given is very good and useful, and the section

par David M

Sep 01, 2017

Añadiría textos en español o la opción de subtitular los textos.