Chevron Left
Retour à Writing for Young Readers: Opening the Treasure Chest

Avis et commentaires pour l'étudiant pour Writing for Young Readers: Opening the Treasure Chest par Commonwealth Education Trust

4.7
869 notes
335 avis

À propos du cours

This course is for curious students and aspiring authors with a passion for writing for young readers. Participate in a dynamic online community of writers as you experiment with your own writing and develop your voice. This course will guide you with a combination of video lectures, online readings, peer reviews, and guest appearances from world-renowned children’s authors. As you work through the writing exercises, you will give and receive feedback from your peers and gain tools and techniques for improving your writing. During this course you will identify stories that matter to you, explore cultural significance and boundaries, and shape your identity as a writer; become familiar with standard elements of narrative (character, setting, plot, theme, language, dialogue, point of view); reflect on your own work and practice essential self-editing skills; see the different ways in which words and art interact, and the possibilities of longer narrative forms; come away with practical insights into publishing options; and create a plan for pursuing your enthusiasm for writing. By the end of the course, you will have ten to twelve extracts of writing that you can develop into a portfolio. Join a dynamic community of many voices from around the world. Find inspiration in your own voice, heart, and place so that you can tell the stories for young readers you’ve always wanted to tell....

Meilleurs avis

DB

Feb 07, 2016

I am a beginner wantabee author and publisher, first steps are elementary, as I need. Self paced, life can get in the way. Instructors are wonderful, as are the guest speakers and interviewees Thanks.

FO

Jul 17, 2017

This course introduces writing in an easy to understand way. The interviews with published authors are very insightful as well. The exercises are a great avenue to practice what the Mooc instruct

Filtrer par :

126 - 150 sur 327 Examens pour Writing for Young Readers: Opening the Treasure Chest

par Tony H

Jan 03, 2017

A really enjoyable course that was helpful and enlightening. It got my creative juices flowing and gave me some tips and tools to help me along the way. Recommended to anyone interested in writing anything.

par Kate Y

Aug 23, 2015

This is a fantastic course, it covers a lot of ground, it takes you through the entire process from generating story ideas to submitting your work to publishers. I gained a lot from doing it. The peer feedback system is effective and useful. Thank you for giving us the opportunity to take this course!

par Betina J C

Mar 01, 2017

Excelente oportunidad para el que recién empieza a escribir!

par Frederick H

Jan 24, 2016

Very good course. Many valuable information and advice about writing in general not just aimed at young readers. Would recommand.

par Afraz G

Sep 19, 2016

Perfect

par Beatriz d S L

Jan 03, 2017

I enjoyed a lot! Congratulations!

par Telen G

Feb 17, 2016

I really liked this course it was fun and it taught me a lot about the course of writing and publishing.

par Dorothy B

Feb 07, 2016

I am a beginner wantabee author and publisher, first steps are elementary, as I need. Self paced, life can get in the way. Instructors are wonderful, as are the guest speakers and interviewees Thanks.

par Hector C

Aug 25, 2017

excelent i really enjoyed

par Candace B

Feb 25, 2017

This was a great class! I learned a lot and had a wonderful time with the course.

par Karoline v d B

Mar 22, 2016

Great course to actually get started writing, instead of just having the idea! I got some great tips and a bunch of first drafts that I'll come back to. Thank you so much!

par History Y

Jan 27, 2016

This course help me in my writing carrer

par Amy G

Sep 01, 2015

Provides excellent information and encourages new writers to pursue their goals.

par Rameeza N

Feb 02, 2016

This course is a complete package for those who aspire to be a fiction writer, it teaches all steps right from how to start writing to publishing. For me it was a dream course, really enjoyed it and I wish further course of such kind is available so I could join it . Instructors David Hill and Maria Gill were great and they taught in very effective manners and so were the guest speakers.

par sandra

Sep 27, 2015

:D

par Lizeth M

Jan 08, 2016

Excellent! It has interviews from different writers - different cultures, too - and also has basic concepts to start writing. I loved it, it really felt like opening a treasure chest, literally!

par Purnima L

Jan 28, 2018

Very salient points presented throughtout. Clear and concise advice. Liked the instructors and very helpful author video interviews.

par Virginia V

May 14, 2016

This course is fantastic, it show me lots of things that end up help me with my work!

par Stephanie M

Aug 14, 2015

Great class!!!!

par Colleen P

Feb 15, 2018

The class was very interesting and I learned a lot and helped to start writing again.

par Tricia C J

Mar 18, 2016

This is such an amazing course! It really opened my eyes to the fact that writing isn't just putting your ideas in words, it's much more than that, and it's really enlightening and helpful! Thank you so much for all the work that you've put into this course!

par Jennifer A O

Sep 08, 2015

Seemingly straightforward, but packed with information. Sometimes it takes two listens to the videos to realize how much is being taught. Valuable information that moved me forward on my quest to be a published children's author.

par Suzana J

Nov 09, 2015

Loved every minute of it.

par vmphuongg

Feb 16, 2016

really amazing :> thank you for this course :>

par Sherri P

Feb 19, 2016

I LOVED these instructors! I wish I could take an entire year of classes with them. I felt like they really want the students to succeed. Great course for learning the basics of writing for young readers. They gave us plenty to think about and whetted my desire to write even more! Thanks so much!