Chevron Left
Retour à Writing for Young Readers: Opening the Treasure Chest

Avis et commentaires pour l'étudiant pour Writing for Young Readers: Opening the Treasure Chest par Commonwealth Education Trust

4.7
869 notes
335 avis

À propos du cours

This course is for curious students and aspiring authors with a passion for writing for young readers. Participate in a dynamic online community of writers as you experiment with your own writing and develop your voice. This course will guide you with a combination of video lectures, online readings, peer reviews, and guest appearances from world-renowned children’s authors. As you work through the writing exercises, you will give and receive feedback from your peers and gain tools and techniques for improving your writing. During this course you will identify stories that matter to you, explore cultural significance and boundaries, and shape your identity as a writer; become familiar with standard elements of narrative (character, setting, plot, theme, language, dialogue, point of view); reflect on your own work and practice essential self-editing skills; see the different ways in which words and art interact, and the possibilities of longer narrative forms; come away with practical insights into publishing options; and create a plan for pursuing your enthusiasm for writing. By the end of the course, you will have ten to twelve extracts of writing that you can develop into a portfolio. Join a dynamic community of many voices from around the world. Find inspiration in your own voice, heart, and place so that you can tell the stories for young readers you’ve always wanted to tell....

Meilleurs avis

DB

Feb 07, 2016

I am a beginner wantabee author and publisher, first steps are elementary, as I need. Self paced, life can get in the way. Instructors are wonderful, as are the guest speakers and interviewees Thanks.

FO

Jul 17, 2017

This course introduces writing in an easy to understand way. The interviews with published authors are very insightful as well. The exercises are a great avenue to practice what the Mooc instruct

Filtrer par :

76 - 100 sur 327 Examens pour Writing for Young Readers: Opening the Treasure Chest

par Laura T

Aug 24, 2015

Very good course I learned so many helpful things. The teachers did their best to make the course entertaining and helpful. Thank you Maria and David!

par Swathy

Aug 15, 2015

This is just what I looking for. It is very insightful and encouraging.

par Luis R L

Sep 08, 2015

I learned and enjoyed this course, I feel confident in my future writing and with the knowledge on how to continue. I am thankful for this opportunity

par Danila G

Aug 29, 2015

I have really enjoyed this course. It is very informative and inspiring! Not to mention that David Hill and Maria Gill both do an excellent job!

par Rodrigo R M

Jan 02, 2016

Thank you all so much for having this course. It helped me a lot in starting my writing process.

par Freda

Mar 14, 2016

I really appreciate being able to do this course for free. It is by far the best course I have done in Coursera yet. The content is great and very well planned. So much to get your inspiration from and qualified to teachers to guide you along the way. What more can one ask for?

par Frances O

Aug 14, 2015

I had fun and learnt alot!

par Siddhesh P

Sep 29, 2015

Awesome! I have no words to say. I really learnt a lot things being a aspiring writer.

par Kateryna K

Aug 27, 2015

I learned a lot of interesting things. Both Maria and David were great teachers: they spoke clearly, making examples and trying to speak as slowly as possible (which is good for a not native english speaker as myself). The interviews were another interesting addition to the course, as the peer reviews: they were not created or structured to lead to failure but to selfimprovement an improvement trough other's advices. It was great. I hope they'll make another course like this in the future, it would totally have my enrollment.

Thank you, to the both of you, for the things you taught me!

par Betina J C

Mar 01, 2017

Excelente oportunidad para el que recién empieza a escribir!

par Kate Y

Aug 23, 2015

This is a fantastic course, it covers a lot of ground, it takes you through the entire process from generating story ideas to submitting your work to publishers. I gained a lot from doing it. The peer feedback system is effective and useful. Thank you for giving us the opportunity to take this course!

par Frederick H

Jan 24, 2016

Very good course. Many valuable information and advice about writing in general not just aimed at young readers. Would recommand.

par Anthony K

Sep 08, 2015

A very well structured and engaging course which provides thoughtful suggestions for being a successful writer for young readers.

par Andika P

Sep 26, 2015

The first Coursera course that makes me want to be a better parent for my son!

par Stacy M

Aug 09, 2016

Wonderful course! Thank you!

par Sintija V

Jul 09, 2017

Really great course with highly valuable practice opportunities! I really enjoyed doing all the tasks! Thank you very much! :)

par Kathlyn T

Apr 28, 2017

Fantastic practice for creative writing. Informative and fun. I recommend!

par Ricardo P

Aug 22, 2015

Inspiring!

par Mohsin R

Oct 04, 2015

Learning a lot in a simplified way. Well done!!

par Mary J M

Sep 25, 2016

This course was very helpful and contained valuable information for a beginning writ

par Lidiia V

Nov 26, 2015

It's just beautiful!

par Hawra

Sep 07, 2017

Amazing course, gave me practical tips on how to get going and keep going:)

par Madeline B

Jan 07, 2016

Well paced. Assignments are very doable and the lectures are well focused.

par Yevgeniya B

May 03, 2017

I love this course! It is very inspiring and full of great ideas!

par Zhengyan W

Aug 03, 2016

Really