Chevron Left
Retour à Writing for Young Readers: Opening the Treasure Chest

Avis et commentaires pour l'étudiant pour Writing for Young Readers: Opening the Treasure Chest par Commonwealth Education Trust

4.7
866 notes
335 avis

À propos du cours

This course is for curious students and aspiring authors with a passion for writing for young readers. Participate in a dynamic online community of writers as you experiment with your own writing and develop your voice. This course will guide you with a combination of video lectures, online readings, peer reviews, and guest appearances from world-renowned children’s authors. As you work through the writing exercises, you will give and receive feedback from your peers and gain tools and techniques for improving your writing. During this course you will identify stories that matter to you, explore cultural significance and boundaries, and shape your identity as a writer; become familiar with standard elements of narrative (character, setting, plot, theme, language, dialogue, point of view); reflect on your own work and practice essential self-editing skills; see the different ways in which words and art interact, and the possibilities of longer narrative forms; come away with practical insights into publishing options; and create a plan for pursuing your enthusiasm for writing. By the end of the course, you will have ten to twelve extracts of writing that you can develop into a portfolio. Join a dynamic community of many voices from around the world. Find inspiration in your own voice, heart, and place so that you can tell the stories for young readers you’ve always wanted to tell....

Meilleurs avis

DB

Feb 07, 2016

I am a beginner wantabee author and publisher, first steps are elementary, as I need. Self paced, life can get in the way. Instructors are wonderful, as are the guest speakers and interviewees Thanks.

FO

Jul 17, 2017

This course introduces writing in an easy to understand way. The interviews with published authors are very insightful as well. The exercises are a great avenue to practice what the Mooc instruct

Filtrer par :

201 - 225 sur 327 Examens pour Writing for Young Readers: Opening the Treasure Chest

par Hiobi H

Nov 01, 2017

Excellent cours!

par Barbara G

Dec 31, 2015

This course has helped me to really tap into my creative side. Granted it is a course for learning to write for young readers, you can also learn how to write for an older audience as well. Thank you for offering this course.

par Shirlena R

Sep 11, 2015

I'm not even half way through it and I love it. Professor David Hill is enchanting.

par Nivedita N

Jan 06, 2016

It was a great course. I look forward to more courses.

par Shivalika

Dec 26, 2015

Very detailed, descriptive and knowledgeable videos. The two resource persons are excellent at their jobs. Thank you for improving my knowledge on writing.

par Saif A S A

Nov 26, 2016

it's a great course ;)

par Melinda M D

Nov 05, 2015

This course is jam packed full of helpful information. I like how the instructor sits and looks at us (the leaner) and talks. It helps feeling relaxed while learning. I feel I have learned more with this method.

par Kerryann C V V

May 27, 2016

just right tone, speed, ecouragement

par Ishan A S

Mar 06, 2016

very convincing and encouraging

par Boyan P

May 07, 2016

The course 'Writing for Young Readers: Opening the Treasure Chest' helped me advance in my writing and rethink my approach in way. It also put me in contact with other young authors and going along with them was both inspirational and rewarding.

The course lectures are very carefully curated and the two narrators, David Hill and Maria Gill, have made efforts to keep the participatns fascinated in many ways. The interviews with established authors from around the world are very insightful.

par Maricruz I

Mar 28, 2018

Me encantó el curso, porque pude aprender mucho de un tema que me interesa mucho, en tan solo cuatro semanas. Siento no haber pagado el curso para obtener el certificado. ¿Todavía podría hacerlo?. De ser así, me gustaría intentarlo.

Felicidades por tan buen curso y Gracias por la oportunidad.

par Savannah N

Sep 16, 2016

I love this course, It is really helping me improve my writing skills, and grow my love of writing. :)

par Emma J G V

Nov 24, 2016

es una guía muy completa y de sencilla explicación para aquellos que amamos las letras y queremos sacarle a nuestra imaginación el máximo provecho.

par Omar A

Feb 01, 2016

Well constructed course.

par Racha Z

Sep 02, 2015

Learnt a lot, lessons are on video and are extremely articulate so did not miss a word. Teachers are knowledgeable and down to the most important details, hence, the course is not too long, and doesn't take forever to complete. Amazing!

par Gil J

Sep 21, 2015

Excellent. Encouraging and informative. Interviews perhaps a little too long, could be edited down 25%, but not a big deal. Read some great stories as part of peer review.

par Claudia U R

Sep 30, 2017

It was a great decision to take this course. The instructors are wonderful and the information, immensely valuable. It pushed me to write stories and apply what I've learned. I will highly recommend it to anyone interested in writing for children. I'm thankful to everyone involved in the creation of this course and for making it available to all.

par Erin F

Nov 20, 2015

Very helpful and informative for aspiring writers!

par Julie B

Feb 22, 2016

I have learned so much from this course. Anyone that wants to write for young readers would do well to take this course. Thank you.

par Angel R

Oct 13, 2016

Me gusto el curso, me brindo herramientas útiles para estructurar las ideas para escribir historias y llevarlas de distintas maneras al papel, por así decirlo. Disfrute no sólo el curso, también las tareas por hacer.

par MaryamRaheel

Jul 16, 2016

May Allah gives you success.well do e Job

par Lakshmi g R

Aug 04, 2017

Very interesting

par Harshita

Jan 22, 2018

The course was easy to follow and helped me apply what I learnt in each module. The videos were very informative and I would highly recommend this course.

par María T F

Jul 13, 2017

Thank you so much for this wonderful course!!! It was a wonderful experience! The teachers and the writers are incredible!!!

par Rameeza N

Feb 02, 2016

This course is a complete package for those who aspire to be a fiction writer, it teaches all steps right from how to start writing to publishing. For me it was a dream course, really enjoyed it and I wish further course of such kind is available so I could join it . Instructors David Hill and Maria Gill were great and they taught in very effective manners and so were the guest speakers.