Chevron Left
Retour à Writing for Young Readers: Opening the Treasure Chest

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Writing for Young Readers: Opening the Treasure Chest par Commonwealth Education Trust

4.7
étoiles
938 évaluations
368 avis

À propos du cours

This course is for curious students and aspiring authors with a passion for writing for young readers. Participate in a dynamic online community of writers as you experiment with your own writing and develop your voice. This course will guide you with a combination of video lectures, online readings, peer reviews, and guest appearances from world-renowned children’s authors. As you work through the writing exercises, you will give and receive feedback from your peers and gain tools and techniques for improving your writing. During this course you will identify stories that matter to you, explore cultural significance and boundaries, and shape your identity as a writer; become familiar with standard elements of narrative (character, setting, plot, theme, language, dialogue, point of view); reflect on your own work and practice essential self-editing skills; see the different ways in which words and art interact, and the possibilities of longer narrative forms; come away with practical insights into publishing options; and create a plan for pursuing your enthusiasm for writing. By the end of the course, you will have ten to twelve extracts of writing that you can develop into a portfolio. Join a dynamic community of many voices from around the world. Find inspiration in your own voice, heart, and place so that you can tell the stories for young readers you’ve always wanted to tell....

Meilleurs avis

DB

Feb 07, 2016

I am a beginner wantabee author and publisher, first steps are elementary, as I need. Self paced, life can get in the way. Instructors are wonderful, as are the guest speakers and interviewees Thanks.

FO

Jul 17, 2017

This course introduces writing in an easy to understand way. The interviews with published authors are very insightful as well. The exercises are a great avenue to practice what the Mooc instruct

Filtrer par :

76 - 100 sur 361 Avis pour Writing for Young Readers: Opening the Treasure Chest

par Sergio A L

May 27, 2016

what I loved better was the possibility of rescheduling the deadlines :-) I work in the peruvian rainforest and sometimes there is no access to internet for a good while

par Precious M

May 04, 2020

This was one of the most interesting course's I have ever taken. I have learnt a lot about writing for children and i'm most likely to write a book about children soon.

par Vidhisha K

Dec 02, 2016

It was a good learning experience. This course certainly helped me to know as to know to bring out creativity in a structured way. The guest lectures were very informa

par Neethika

Apr 28, 2020

The course curriculum served as an opportunity to identify the writer in me, especially the Peer-reviewed assignments that motivated me to do much better every time.

par Virginia C

Aug 22, 2015

This course is excellent, the content is rich, the videos are amusing and helpful, the interviews are just great. Thank you so much for such a high quality course!

par Biba O

Nov 21, 2016

Muy interesante y útil. Ameno y motivador. Los tutores y el equipo del curso siempre están disponibles para lo que haga falta. Mil gracias por esta oportunidad.<3

par Stephanie Y G

Jan 07, 2016

I really enjoy the course and appreciate the feedbacks of all peers. For a full-time employee and mum of a toddler, the flexibility of the course helps a lot.

par Richard V

Aug 22, 2015

Whether you are new to writing or looking for a new way to approach writing, take this course. The short writing exercises work so well with the video lectures.

par Howard D P

Jun 24, 2018

Had access to incredibly talented and experienced writing mentors. Loved the fun interaction with other new writers honing their writing skills. Learned a lot.

par Ravish

May 29, 2016

David Hill is simply superb with clarity and focus on small small things that matter for young writers and readers alike. Blessed to have attended this course.

par Steven V

Aug 28, 2015

I simply love this course! There should be more writing courses on Coursera because this one has been very helpful and insightful for aspiring writers like me!

par Shivalika

Dec 26, 2015

Very detailed, descriptive and knowledgeable videos. The two resource persons are excellent at their jobs. Thank you for improving my knowledge on writing.

par Harshita

Jan 22, 2018

The course was easy to follow and helped me apply what I learnt in each module. The videos were very informative and I would highly recommend this course.

par Juliana B

Sep 28, 2015

Very enriching. I learned very useful things about writing. I enjoyed the interviews as well! The thing I liked the most, that it made me write weekly!

par Luis R L

Sep 08, 2015

I learned and enjoyed this course, I feel confident in my future writing and with the knowledge on how to continue. I am thankful for this opportunity

par Laura T

Aug 24, 2015

Very good course I learned so many helpful things. The teachers did their best to make the course entertaining and helpful. Thank you Maria and David!

par Paula O P

Mar 27, 2017

I loved it. The best course I've done in Coursera so far. It gave me the energy, tools and encouragement to write again. Would totally recommend it!

par Zillah K

Aug 29, 2015

The most fun a MOOC could possibly be. In addition to getting motivated to write, I've also found stuff to read by authors previously unknown to me.

par Emma J G V

Nov 24, 2016

es una guía muy completa y de sencilla explicación para aquellos que amamos las letras y queremos sacarle a nuestra imaginación el máximo provecho.

par Mary B B

Sep 15, 2015

Fun course for folks just learning about the process, and a good review for others who wrote at one point in their lives and desire to return but d

par Danila G

Aug 29, 2015

I have really enjoyed this course. It is very informative and inspiring! Not to mention that David Hill and Maria Gill both do an excellent job!

par Keyome L S

Jan 28, 2018

Enjoying reading other writer's work and the established writers commentaries. This is my first week and already learned a lot about writing.

par Michelle W

Dec 17, 2019

This is a great introductory course that gives you an overview of important writing elements to consider writing short stories for children.

par Parth M

May 11, 2018

It was great overall. There were some minor difficulties in attending the course. The grading system could be better and costumer interface.

par Sheryl C R

Dec 01, 2015

I completed this course 100. I feel I never get publish with all the courses I taken every where. So I keep my treasure chest for later.