Chevron Left
Retour à Writing and Editing: Word Choice and Word Order

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Writing and Editing: Word Choice and Word Order par Université du Michigan

4.7
étoiles
1,373 évaluations
333 avis

À propos du cours

This course will teach you how to use your written words to become more persuasive. You’ll learn creative ways to use syntax, effective techniques for telling stories, and a clever method for arranging a complex series of information. You’ll also get a chance to both professionalize your use of punctuation and add a bit of style and sophistication to how you craft everything from sentences to slogans. In addition, you’ll get access to a wide range of books and other resources you can use even after you finish the course. These include (1) the readings and exercises provided to the students who have taken the in-person version of this course at the University of Michigan and the University of Chicago; (2) two digital libraries of excellent writing from a diverse collection of journalists, scientists, novelists, poets, historians, and entrepreneurs; and (3) a monthly “Good Sentences” email. Social media has only accelerated the ways in which we all must learn to use our writing to connect, compete, and create—sometimes all at once. So join us for this first course in a four-part series and experience the many benefits, both personal and professional, of becoming “good with words.”...

Meilleurs avis

PD

7 déc. 2021

It is an excellent course that offers deep insights into the importance of words, it's usage in professional writing, and the impact it makes. I've learnt a lot from the course. Thank you Coursera.

SS

1 juil. 2020

Brilliant, brilliant, brilliant! Excellent teaching and excellent material. Everyone can improve their professionalism by taking Professor Barry's writing on course, it's not just for lawyers.

Filtrer par :

101 - 125 sur 342 Avis pour Writing and Editing: Word Choice and Word Order

par Caleb T A

26 mars 2022

This course exposed me to a lot of stuffs to improve my writing skill. I particularly like the "Notes on Nuance" segments of each week.

par Tatiana S

9 avr. 2021

Great course! as a philologist, I'm already familiar with most of the concepts, but I still found great food for thought in this course.

par Maria C

13 oct. 2020

Excelent structure of the course, nice readings, videos, quices. It has been very useful for me. I have applied it since the first week.

par Shreya N U

16 août 2020

It's absolutely perfect! This course is probably one of the few MOOCs I've come across that are so beautifully crafted for its audience!

par Gabriel P

22 janv. 2021

Professor Barry packs a lot of great writing concepts into this course. He is entertaining as well as insightful about good writing.

par RJ

29 oct. 2020

I learned a whole lot about legal writing. Prof. Barry taught a lot of tools and techniques that I will surely use as a legal writer.

par joyce n

12 févr. 2021

This was an exceptional course—content, structure, and delivery were all fantastic. I look forward to the next course in the series.

par Dan N

13 juil. 2021

An amazing one for non-native speakers like me. Really interesting. An amazing lecturer with his good teaching methods and books.

par Achuyat S J

20 juil. 2020

This course was nicely designed and I would like to thank the instructor for making it interesting, participating and motivating.

par Dr. S M

16 juin 2020

The course has been awesome; so well designed and conducted with good number of examples, references, and supplementary readings.

par Victor O

28 juin 2021

This course improved my editing skills massively. My favorite topic would be the rule of three. Thank you for this opportunity.

par Yaren G K

12 févr. 2021

Amazing instructor,great matierals,many opportunities to learn how to be a better writer.Very interesting and amazing course.

par Álvaro S

29 déc. 2020

thanks so much for this course. It was really instructive and Easy to follow, ALL the readings are interesting and engaging.

par MJ

6 avr. 2022

very informative and good material for students whose wanting to improve more on their writing or communication skills.

par Samuel H

28 mai 2020

Very hands-on lessons and great reading materials to learn not only wording skills but knowledge...even wisdom in life!

par Jacquelyn N E

15 avr. 2021

Not only was this course informative with tons of material and recourses, but it was also fun, peppy, and exciting!

par Rosedelle B

5 juil. 2020

It's a nice course especially for someone who is really into literature. I've learned a lot throughout this course.

par Danielle S

16 juin 2020

The professor is so engaging. He managed to take a dry subject (my opinion) and make it really enjoyable to learn.

par Samin Y A

18 sept. 2020

Found it extremely helpful. The instructor was really professional. This is an indispensable course for everyone.

par Jill L

19 juil. 2020

I learned a lot in a short amount of time, it was well worth it and will enhance my writing skills in the future.

par Zulfiqar A

13 févr. 2022

Professor Barry has a very unique way of teaching. Overall course is good and one needs to do a lot of readings.

par Kat Z

25 juin 2020

Professor Barry is amazing! I thoroughly enjoyed this course; it opened my eyes to writing, learning, and life.

par Sonia C G

30 janv. 2022

Everything was great in this course. The content and the way of teaching of the professor were just excellent!

par Priya P

10 mai 2021

This course is actually beneficial for the beginner writer's, everything is explained with suitable example.

par Neil W

20 févr. 2022

Outstanding Instructor and well put together course...the materials used were great examples of the subject.