Chevron Left
Retour à Wonders of Ancient Egypt

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Wonders of Ancient Egypt par Université de Pennsylvanie

4.8
étoiles
921 évaluations

À propos du cours

Colossal pyramids, imposing temples, golden treasures, enigmatic hieroglyphs, powerful pharaohs, strange gods, and mysterious mummies are features of Ancient Egyptian culture that have fascinated people over the millennia. The Bible refers to its gods, rulers, and pyramids. Neighboring cultures in the ancient Near East and Mediterranean wrote about its god-like kings and its seemingly endless supply of gold. The Greeks and Romans describe aspects of Egypt's culture and history. As the 19th century began, the Napoleonic campaign in Egypt highlighted the wonders of this ancient land, and public interest soared. Not long after, Champollion deciphered Egypt's hieroglyphs and paved the way for other scholars to reveal that Egyptian texts dealt with medicine, dentistry, veterinary practices, mathematics, literature, and accounting, and many other topics. Then, early in the 20th century, Howard Carter discovered the tomb of Tutankhamun and its fabulous contents. Exhibitions of this treasure a few decades later resulted in the world's first blockbuster, and its revival in the 21st century has kept interest alive. Join Dr. David Silverman, Professor of Egyptology at Penn, Curator in Charge of the Egyptian Section of the Penn Museum, and curator of the Tutankhamun exhibitions on a guided tour of the mysteries and wonders of this ancient land. He has developed this online course and set it in the galleries of the world famous Penn Museum. He uses many original Egyptian artifacts to illustrate his lectures as he guides students as they make their own discovery of this fascinating culture. This course focused on five key areas in the study of Ancient Egypt: 1) Principles of Egyptian Art, 2) The Basics of the Language of Ancient Egypt: Hieroglyphs, 3) Egyptian Magic, 4) Akhenaten, Tutankhamun, and the Religion of the Aten, and 5) The Burial of Tutankhamun and the Search for his Tomb. This course is intended to accompany, and ideally to follow, Introduction to Ancient Egypt (also available on Coursera)....

Meilleurs avis

VE

10 juil. 2020

This was an incredibly detailed course that provided an in-depth and interesting view of ancient Egypt. I would highly recommend this as an essential course for those interested in Egypt's history.

SJ

13 avr. 2022

It is a great second part of the series of courses about Egypt from Prof. David. Silverman. Highly recommend the course to all those who found value in the first course from the same professor.

Filtrer par :

76 - 100 sur 304 Avis pour Wonders of Ancient Egypt

par Robin S

14 déc. 2020

This course has so much information. Dr. Silverman intersperses his lectures with lots of pictures and just the right amount of detail. Highly recommend.

par Jessica G

23 mai 2020

This course was fascinating, intriguing and full of amazing information and history. I look forward to furthering my knowledge in Ancient Egyptian History

par Leonard S

2 janv. 2018

Very interesting course and stimulates me to learn more about this subject. This course will enhance the experience of my next visit to the Penn Museum.

par Jeffrey G P

7 févr. 2018

This was a good course. It partners very well with the earlier Egypt course. I recommend these two courses to anyone with an interest in Ancient Egypt.

par Rebecca H

29 mai 2020

Much better then the introduction course (still suggest taking that before this one). Good pace and a good depth of individual subjects. Very fun.

par Olga

14 janv. 2021

Thank you very much! This course is my absolute favorite. It was a pleasure for me to find out all this interesting details about Ancient Egypt.

par Cheri F

18 mai 2020

I loved this class, it was very informative and easily understood. The Professor could do with a little more enthusiasm, but he did a great job.

par Elizabeth G

8 mai 2020

Very interesting course which is well -presented by Dr Silverman. He presents material in a way that is easy for the viewer to understand.

par Julia J L

7 déc. 2020

The course is very interesting and a pleasure to see. I learned some things that I did not remember from visiting the tomb many years ago.

par Fernanda A

20 janv. 2022

It was a beautiful and interesting course to learn about the wonders of ancient Egypt, magic, rulers, discovery of king Tuthakamon tomb...

par Karen S

12 sept. 2022

I took the two Ancient Egypt courses and learned so much! Thank you, University of Pennsylvania for offering such interesting subjects!

par Christina B

8 déc. 2019

Wonderful course which took me back in time. I've learned so much! And week 6 was the most exciting learning of Tutankhamun's discovery.

par Mary P

14 avr. 2018

Very Interesting course about Ancient Egyptian life. Lectures were easy to follow and it isn't too time consuming. Thoroughly enjoyable!

par Lucy I D L R T

12 nov. 2017

Disfrute y aprendí mucho, me encantaron las imágenes proporcionadas y conocer los jeroglificos de esa manera tan didáctica y sencilla.

par Sue C

6 juil. 2022

Admired the way the instructor showed the art involved with ancient Egypt which was a different perspective from my previous studies.

par Julio R

13 janv. 2018

I want to thank professor David fo such a wonderfull explanations in all of the aspects of the course I really learn and enjoy it ¡¡¡

par Eylem A

30 oct. 2020

It was a wonderful experience to learn about ancient Egypt. Phrase of Prof. Silverman's is fantastic. Thank you all for this chance.

par AMAL P R

8 oct. 2022

This course is fabulous, It offered me much more than what I was expecting. Thank you Mr Davis and coursera for your hard work.

par Juan B L T

15 nov. 2020

I have loved this course, I never believed that the knowledge of ancient Egypt was so enjoyable and so productive ... Thank you

par Charlene B

13 févr. 2019

Very Well done Course. Dr Silverman knows his history and how it plays a role in the development of the story that is Egypt.

par Debra V

25 févr. 2018

I thoroughly enjoyed this course and learned more about Egyptian civilization than from any documentary or travelogue.

par Fatima F

24 mai 2018

I really enjoyed the course. This was the second from Penn University I attended to. High quality, meaningful course.

par Christianna H

11 juin 2020

This was a really fun course to take over the summer and I can't wait to show my students everything that I learned.

par Shalini N

6 juin 2021

It was very detailed and insightful! Definitely satisfied my curiosity to learn more about Ancient Egyptian history

par Hugh B

22 août 2020

Very informative and enjoyable. May have inspired me to look into careers in egyptology. Just all around very good.