Chevron Left
Retour à Wine Tasting: Sensory Techniques for Wine Analysis

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Wine Tasting: Sensory Techniques for Wine Analysis par Université de Californie à Davis

4.7
étoiles
333 évaluations
107 avis

À propos du cours

With its roots in ancient cultures as early as 6,000 BC, wine has long been part of the human experience. Today, increasing worldwide interest in wine and its complexities and varieties has created an international market valued at $304 billion annually. For the learner who is just getting started in the study of wine, this course will help you take the first steps toward understanding the physiological process of wine tasting. The first module will explore types of wine and help you set up your own tasting. You’ll also begin to build a sensory vocabulary. In module 2 you will review classic wine types of the world and set up flights of specific wines. Later we’ll examine the various faults and defects that can appear in wine as well as techniques for spotting problems. In week 4 we’ll delve into the complex world of wine and food pairings, and its “seven deadly sins.” The course will culminate in a peer review project in which you will apply the knowledge and sensory techniques you have developed throughout the course to assess a specific wine....

Meilleurs avis

AG

May 07, 2019

This is a great source of information about wine and of course wine tasting. The work to do home is very learning focus and this type of practice helps you grab the information and retain it.

TW

Oct 07, 2020

Awesome course. After this course I feel confident speaking to my guests about wine choices and can guide them towards a great food pairing. Thanks John, you are a great professor!

Filtrer par :

1 - 25 sur 107 Avis pour Wine Tasting: Sensory Techniques for Wine Analysis

par Kevin S

May 05, 2020

This course is not for free! You have to purchase the certificate if you want to watch course videos of the entire module 2 of week 2 and be able to continue further until week 5. This is especially disappointing since the videos you can watch for free stop right after the teacher encouraged you to make a big purchase of wine that will be needed for the module of week 2. It should be clear from the beginning that purchasing the certificate is compulsory in order to view course content beyond week 1 and half of week 2.

par Fantasoh

Aug 24, 2019

A bit boring and I thought coursera courses should be free but this one starts charging. Down vote

par Juliane K

May 16, 2020

It said free but it isn't free. I feel cheated and I wasted my time

par gabbi

Aug 06, 2020

I really appreciate online learning like this. However, this isn't a free class at all. If one wants to go past module one, you have to buy the course. On top on this, one needs to spend money on sixteen bottles of wine, estimated at $150-200. I understand that to taste wine means one must buy wine, but the added cost of the course makes this too expensive for me to even look into.

par Roger M

Mar 25, 2018

Great information ! the more I learned from this class the more I realized how little I knew.

Thank you for offering this class at an affordable price. I hope that you will send more info about your future classes. The instructor is amazing. That you for taking the time to put together this great material. Special thanks to the application developers, amazing work on this app no issues not so ever and very easy to use.

par Viktoria T

Nov 13, 2017

Teacher is so amazing! It's a pleasure to listen and so easy to understand (I'm saying as a not native speaker). Presentations are beautiful, clear, minimalist and accurate. You did such a great job, thank you a lot! I'm still studying, but this course made my life easier by giving all of information that I was searching for.

par Sophia G

Nov 21, 2017

I personally view this course as concise and clear. I feel I achieved enough knowledge on the subject and see myself ready to use in my day to day life. It was never boring! Thank you for this great learning experience !

par AMIN G

May 07, 2019

This is a great source of information about wine and of course wine tasting. The work to do home is very learning focus and this type of practice helps you grab the information and retain it.

par Athanasios N

Dec 23, 2017

A very well developed course that makes so easy to learn about wine tasting without physical presence. Above all you learn techniques so you can continue experimentiting by yourself.

par Lindsay N

Aug 27, 2018

Excellent course. I tell everyone I know about it. It was was very informative, but also interactive, fun, with real-world applicability. Do yourself a favor and sign up!

par Sergio B

Aug 29, 2018

Un excelente curso, muy bien impartido por el instructor y muy bien preparado. Técnicas que se pueden aplicar excelentemente en el mundo de los vinos.

par Daniel H

Sep 16, 2017

Excellent course! Easily approachable through the style of John Buechsenstein. A must for any wine drinker end enjoyer!

par Rosa M G

Jan 08, 2019

I find this course most helpful. Great communication, great professor. Thanks so much for this opportuny.

par Catherine S

Jul 06, 2017

I really enjoyed this course, however, I didn't like how you had to fully buy the course in order to get all the content.

par Dimitris T

Feb 07, 2018

Major defect, no contact with the teacher. Never participated in discussions, never answered to our questions. Absent. main reason why I would not recommend it to others, even though it was pleasant.

par Vincent L

Feb 19, 2018

It is difficult getting your hands on the wine and equipment.

par Tjark v d S

Jun 12, 2020

Rather disappointing that I have to enroll fully to be able to take the tests and continue after the first weeks training.

Would be good if that would have been clear from the start - unlike giving the impression I can just follow the course but not able to get the certificate

par Jose a c

May 08, 2018

I would like to say THANK YOU to UC Davis and in particular to professor Buechsenstein. The course was fascinating. I have already earned this year my WSET 1 certification and I was looking to further expand my knowledge about analyizing wines and their aromas/flavors like professional reviewers do. This course was a great way to start; I learned so much in terms of information and how to have a professional framework to analyze wines from a sensory perspective. The combination of theory and practice was perfect and it really helped me to understand (and make mistakes) about the concepts that were discussed. Now, there is now so much more that I want to learn. Overall, excellent course, Cheers, Jose Cubillos.

par Glen M

Jun 15, 2020

Very well conceived, organized and executed. The video instructions were excellent - clear and easy to follow. Having assignments to purchase, taste and describes wines as well as their pairing with food enhanced greatly the learning experience. I recommend this course highly to those looking for a solid framework for understanding the wonders of the world of wine.

par Elizabeth M

Apr 07, 2019

A really great overview and introduction to wine analysis. I thought the tutor was great and easy to learn from. Class Video's are all engaging and I feel I've managed to learn a lot through self taught study. I would recommend this course to anyone wanting a manageable work load and to learn about wine!

par Pablo O

Aug 27, 2017

Muy buen curso, con buenos contenidos, bien realizadas las clases y muy bien cumplidos los objetivos del mismo.

Creo que en algún momento debería haber una evaluación del profesor y que no recaiga la mayor parte del ramo en la responsabilidad de los compañeros (por la ponderación de la última actividad)

par Bruno M H

Sep 30, 2020

Amazing course! Complete, very open for students to understand and go after things! I always wanted to learn more about wines and even though I actually worked in a wineyard for a couple months, all I wanted was here! I never Imagined I would've learned all this during a quarantine.

par kathleen j

Oct 15, 2020

I loved this course! I've learned so much and have a passion to continue learning about wine! I really enjoyed the professor and the content as well as the hands-on experiences and the final project! I have already recommended the course to friends!

par Laura M

Sep 27, 2020

This was a great class. I learned technical terms, how to create aroma standards and how to pair wine with foods. I will definitely use what I have learned in this class. I really enjoyed this class it was a lot fun.