Chevron Left
Retour à Modeling Risk and Realities

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Modeling Risk and Realities par Université de Pennsylvanie

4.6
étoiles
1,979 évaluations
283 avis

À propos du cours

Useful quantitative models help you to make informed decisions both in situations in which the factors affecting your decision are clear, as well as in situations in which some important factors are not clear at all. In this course, you can learn how to create quantitative models to reflect complex realities, and how to include in your model elements of risk and uncertainty. You’ll also learn the methods for creating predictive models for identifying optimal choices; and how those choices change in response to changes in the model’s assumptions. You’ll also learn the basics of the measurement and management of risk. By the end of this course, you’ll be able to build your own models with your own data, so that you can begin making data-informed decisions. You’ll also be prepared for the next course in the Specialization....

Meilleurs avis

JN

Apr 13, 2018

covers good amount of material and exactly what is in the outline, presented with enough detail to follow. Good walk-through of the spreadsheets helps understanding, easy to follow along and practice.

LC

Dec 19, 2016

Material was very well presented. Week 3 was challenging, but taking time to print out the slides, work through them rigorously proved very helpful. I found all sections very, very informative.

Filtrer par :

1 - 25 sur 276 Avis pour Modeling Risk and Realities

par Xiaoyu L

Apr 28, 2020

This course is not really about Modelling Risk. To be honest, it is just about basic statistics and probabilities. For a learner who has 4-year degree in Statistics, this definitely is not for you if you are going to pursue the area of risk management or statistical modelling in risk.

par Crystal N

Dec 11, 2016

WEEKS 1, 2, and 4 were AWESOME and had great information. Weeks 1,2, and 4 were very detailed and successfully communicated in a manner where an audience with or without a specialty in statistics can easily follow the logic, understand the purpose and think of how these tools/lessons can be applied in the varying worlds of risk, compliance, algorithms, and finance.

I cannot say the same for week 3. Sadly, out of the whole certificate program it was this was the week I was most interested in (e.g. Goodness of Fit and identifying the Distribution of one's data) but, felt the week was poorly communicated, not supplemented with sufficient (if any) examples that one could tie into the real world, did not provide sufficient excel formulas, explanations, visuals or examples.

par John F

Nov 28, 2019

Tough course but challenging in a good way. This course challenges you to think differently and will improve your skillset in many areas including analysis, critical thinking, and numbers.

par Siddhi S

Apr 18, 2018

The expllanation for Week 3 is very poor. The professor fails to go into details and leaves much to assumption. A better understanding of reading the statistical tables and more detailed explanation of the pdf and CDF functions are required.

par Sebastiao S

Jun 15, 2020

Both Lecturers(professor), were very Professional, Yet I have to Admit the Excel skills that are required in these Modules, its still make me learn even further. I have worked for many years with Big Companies, we never Used Data Analyses like this, its a very comprehensive, easy Understanding Modules, all You need is Persistency and attention. Thanks Once again Coursera for the Platform, and the University of Pennsylvania for this Course specialization.

par Sheraz K

Mar 26, 2019

I must say this is a very good course for business modeling. I have learned linear programming, simulation and decision-making in the course. Both professors have done fantastic job while explaining complex terms. Also, the course contents are aligned with the quizzes at the end of each week. I will definitely applying these skills in my job that I have learned. Thank you Wharton Online and Coursera for making this wonderful specialization.

par Aryan S

May 20, 2020

The overall experience is amazing. I am actually more of a science student but I have always been interested in trying out Business and I hoped that I would get an opportunity in college. However, I came across this course and it has encouraged me to take business. At the very least, I was addicted to the whole concept of stocks and shares because of this course. Highly recommended.

par Emem M

Oct 26, 2018

My only concern is that the assessments had very short mathematical exercises. I would have loved to dive deeper into the different types of distributions, and experimented with how different assumptions about the initial data would lead to different simulations. This WAS a part of the course, but maybe there will be a more advanced course that dives even deeper into that subject.

par Nicholas J C

Feb 26, 2019

Wow! I was worried after the previous course in the certificate series, and frankly it could be skipped! This course does everything the last course should have done. I loved the way you could work along with the instructors and do the work yourself in excel instead of simply watching. The quizzes were directed and used the classwork, not just random nonsense! Much better!

par Olesia A

Mar 31, 2019

This is one of the best course I have taken on Coursera. The frameworks and tools that are covered in the course are essential for any person involved in planning, budgeting, or financial modeling. The professors give very straightforward and clear instructions so that students can easily implement them into their own projects. Thank you!

par Shivam c

Aug 23, 2018

Course with full of knowledge regarding Financial modelling and how to tackle with uncertainty by generating several scenarios. Ultimate teaching pedagogy with perfect excel examples.

Can Improved up to a better level by introducing some more real life examples to model Sensitivity and uncertainty.

par Tatsiana M

Jun 08, 2018

I absolutely loved this course. Both professors are very methodical and clear. They covered material in an amazing way. I learned many new things by taking this course.P.S. I think that the second course in this track needs to be deleted. It makes the whole track worse and not better.

par Siddharth B

Jun 04, 2018

Through this course I learned how to ascertain the riskiness and returns of the project through statistics and financially. The Statistics portion was bit harder but the course structure was very easy and understandable. The course is truly good.

par Fernando N

Apr 22, 2019

As the specialization continues, the content covered in each course continues to accelerate my understanding of financial/quant modeling. The videos, examples and spreadsheets in this course of Modeling Risk and Reality were of great help.

par Jafed E G

Jul 06, 2019

I enjoy the lectures. The professor has a good speaking and teaching style which keeps me interested. Lots of concrete math examples which make it easier to understand. Very good slides which are well formulated and easy to understand

par ARVIND K S

Jun 06, 2018

It was a typical high standard course from Wharton. It helped us to learn to fit different samples of data to particular probability distributions and to model problems. Simulation tools were also very useful in uncertain situations

par Moinul A

Mar 30, 2020

The course was very informative and illustrative. the instructors were articulate and precise while explaining difficult topics. I am confident i will have practical implication of the knowledge in my current job role.

par Nguyen T T

Sep 22, 2018

This is a very helpful course for a lot of fields in managing risks and realities by using numerical analysis. Thank you for incredible lessons. Hope the website have more students and more useful courses like this.

par Jens N

Apr 13, 2018

covers good amount of material and exactly what is in the outline, presented with enough detail to follow. Good walk-through of the spreadsheets helps understanding, easy to follow along and practice.

par Louis C

Dec 19, 2016

Material was very well presented. Week 3 was challenging, but taking time to print out the slides, work through them rigorously proved very helpful. I found all sections very, very informative.

par Shreshth V

Apr 05, 2020

Through this course, I could learn to connect data and decisions using spreadsheets. I built models and used them to make decisions in uncertain business settings. The course was good.

par Yashowardhan

Sep 23, 2020

The course content was really good and rightly paced. The quizzes were really good and were designed to actually help participant understand the theoretical concepts in a better way.

par Ashwin C

Sep 29, 2020

One of the most useful courses I've taken to date. This course is what the Spreadsheets and Models course should have been. Only complaint was week 3 was unnecessarily lengthy.

par Federico V

Nov 18, 2017

Super clear and super helpful. Nothing otherworldly however I learned new ways of doing data analysis, and it made me dig more into the potential of Excel for scenario analysis.

par Rujuta K

Apr 09, 2018

Really great course! Learnt a lot, more than promised by the course description. The course instructors are really good and very articulate. Thoroughly pleased with the course!