Chevron Left
Retour à Fundamentals of Quantitative Modeling

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Fundamentals of Quantitative Modeling par Université de Pennsylvanie

4.6
étoiles
8,053 évaluations

À propos du cours

How can you put data to work for you? Specifically, how can numbers in a spreadsheet tell us about present and past business activities, and how can we use them to forecast the future? The answer is in building quantitative models, and this course is designed to help you understand the fundamentals of this critical, foundational, business skill. Through a series of short lectures, demonstrations, and assignments, you’ll learn the key ideas and process of quantitative modeling so that you can begin to create your own models for your own business or enterprise. By the end of this course, you will have seen a variety of practical commonly used quantitative models as well as the building blocks that will allow you to start structuring your own models. These building blocks will be put to use in the other courses in this Specialization....

Meilleurs avis

AP

15 juin 2019

Very clear and articulate explanation of the concepts. He doesn't skip a step in the sequencing ideas, drawing comparisons and differences, and illustrating both visually and story-telling. Excellent.

NC

30 juil. 2019

Very nice course for beginner, the mathematic level is not high (around french baccalaureat) so available to everyone. I enjoyed a lot this course that show how simple math can be used in real life.

Filtrer par :

76 - 100 sur 1,538 Avis pour Fundamentals of Quantitative Modeling

par Marika B

23 mars 2020

Very Informative and organised course for those who are beginners in Model building. I have been introduced not only techniques but the idea of interpretation data analysis and usage of models to represent underlined story in a most realistic and reliable form. Thanks to Coursera and Wharton Online for great opportunity and funding!

par Rajat A

2 avr. 2018

The instructor was a bit robotic and boring in his delivery and it was a bit too technical. I would have appreciated if the instructor would have explained the concepts more clearly and given a couple more practical examples. Overall, it's a very good course, worth the money and time and I will highly recommend people to take it.

par Janice N C W

20 janv. 2019

A very good introductory course to Fundamentals of Quantitative Modelling. Professor Richard Waterman's explanations are clear and concise. Definitive examples makes it so much easier for students without mathematical backgrounds to grasp the concept and encourages us to think of applying these theories to real life problems.

par Sinduja

13 févr. 2019

I really enjoyed learning with examples. There were certain aspects of basic modelling which I was unaware of but the specific illustrations and characteristics of the basic modelling techniques really helped me enrich my knowledge.

One thing that stayed with me "All models are wrong but some are useful".

Loved the teaching!!

par Godwin S C

8 juil. 2018

Very insightful course. Will recommend this for any student. One will need to read the recommended book earlier on in the course the appreciate and understand the course more, especially if your stats and probability is a bit rusty or absent.I enjoyed the examples in the course as well. Very practical and I can relate to them

par Federico L

25 nov. 2020

The course manages to explain complex functions in very straight-forward terms. It is easy to follow and presents the information in such a way that it is rememberable. Personally, I would include more "real-life" examples within the Modules' Questionnaires, as there is very few of them and a lot of theoretical questions.

par Ronan H

16 juil. 2020

This really is the first course I have seen which truly deals with understanding the intuition behind the fundamentals of quantitative modelling, rather than just giving the math. For someone comfortable with the topics, you may find it's a slow pace. But for someone looking for the core understandings, I would recommend.

par Fernando N

13 déc. 2018

As the name of the course states, we went through the fundamentals of quantitative modeling. I come from an Economics background, so the course was not very challenging but the quality of the course is very high and I do see how other people with no background in business/finance/economics could immensely benefit from it.

par Nihal D

31 mars 2018

A great course conducted by a great professor! I would recommend this course to anyone who has an interest in learning about Statistics and the fundamentals of how it's used in modelling. If you have a perpetual fear of math, don't worry, this course is made super simple by the professor and even a Math novice can ace it.

par Ritesh G

26 avr. 2021

Introducing the students to statistical analysis, the course Fundamentals of Quantitative Modeling sets a benchmark for quality coursework. I praise the instructor, Richard Waterman, for focusing not only on the mathematical modeling practices but also on the interpretation of business jargon from the real world.

par Christopher D

18 nov. 2018

I would say that this course requires a good understanding of mathematics. This course deals with numerous concepts related to statistics. The teacher does an excellent job of explicating these concepts, yet students may need external resources (i.e., Wikipedia, Youtube, etc.) to aid in the understanding.

par Ivan D A G

20 déc. 2018

Gracias por permitirme tomar este curso, ha sido de gran ayuda para complementar mis conocimientos financieros y en especial conocer como se estructuran los modelos financieros desde identificar la data hasta optimizar el modelo/función. Me servirá para trabajar en optimizaciones de procesos de negocio.

par Yeyuxi Y

4 oct. 2021

It is a great course for me. As a freshman in college who has very limited knowledge about Modeling and Statistics, I find no challenge to follow the course. The professor explained the concept really well and used very good examples to show the application of different models that in a way shrills me.

par Evette T

5 oct. 2018

It was challenging but the tutor's pace of speech was measured (and you can always rewind) and the examples were practical. I can't say I completely understand but I'm definitely starting to think more logically and have more of an understanding of what models to use for different scenarios. Thank you.

par Zoe S

13 nov. 2020

Overall, great course. Love the brief overview of some of the beginner concepts that allow for the development of the more complex. The one negative I found was that I struggled with a few of the math concepts since there was no practice space or example math questions before the quiz.

par Xuan W

17 sept. 2018

It is a very helpful class to introduce the basic quantitative theories and terminologies required. The difficulty of the class if perfect for the people who doesn't have any financial background but having some mathematical background will certainly help in understanding this course.

par Enrique D

27 déc. 2019

It will be great if there are more examples of applications and a feedback about the resolution of the problems and explanations once you have the certificate and you solve all the doubts and the failed ones. Thanks, it was excellent in general and pretty clear for foreign speakers!

par Shubham D

25 oct. 2018

Though elementary , the instructor explains the topics amazingly well.The amount of clarity i gained on taking this course cannot be understated and I would recommend it to everyone even if they know most (if not all) of the base concepts.Also this course works great as a refresher.

par Xueyao J

11 avr. 2016

Very informational Course! As it slowly progresses from the easier and more basic concepts, the instructor has help us to build a strong foundation of the topic. Recommended for those who want to review statistics, maths and economics, and very look forward to the further courses!

par vidya i

13 janv. 2019

This was a very good learning experience for me, I was able to visualise the need for modeling, linear regression, univariate and multi variate. My only feedback is if the course could more numerical problems or how to arrive at R2/RSME numerically. But otherwise, a great course!

par Patrick K M

17 févr. 2018

Many thanks for an impressive course delivery! Great use of graphics, examples and spot--on explanations. Dr Waterman breaks down the concepts (which have a rather discouraging sound to them) into little bits which a rookie in maths and statistics like myself can chew and digest.

par Sahil K

6 mai 2020

The course was really good. One thing that I would like to highlight is that professor does not interact much on the screen. Could have been a better course had the professor highlighted the graphs through some pointers on the screen as done in other courses provided by Wharton.

par Hina M

24 mai 2020

Seriously one of the best courses i have taken online. I had nearly forgotten the least squares method and i finally recalled it. The explanation is amazing, the applications are simple but in-depth conceptual. I wish our Statistics professor in our university taught like this.

par Prashant C

26 mars 2022

The course proved to be really helpful in gaining additional insights about regression analysis, various types of distributions (Poisson, Bernoulli,Binomial). It covered most of the things falling under the particular category. Looking forward to enroll in more such courses.

par Vishnu S K

29 avr. 2020

As a total newbie to modeling, this course has tremendously helped in setting the base for further learning. The syllabus is basic and needs no background, except some very basic calculus to understand the mathematical functions.

I found the course very engaging and helpful.