Chevron Left
Retour à Fundamentals of Quantitative Modeling

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Fundamentals of Quantitative Modeling par Université de Pennsylvanie

4.6
étoiles
8,043 évaluations
1,558 avis

À propos du cours

How can you put data to work for you? Specifically, how can numbers in a spreadsheet tell us about present and past business activities, and how can we use them to forecast the future? The answer is in building quantitative models, and this course is designed to help you understand the fundamentals of this critical, foundational, business skill. Through a series of short lectures, demonstrations, and assignments, you’ll learn the key ideas and process of quantitative modeling so that you can begin to create your own models for your own business or enterprise. By the end of this course, you will have seen a variety of practical commonly used quantitative models as well as the building blocks that will allow you to start structuring your own models. These building blocks will be put to use in the other courses in this Specialization....

Meilleurs avis

AP

15 juin 2019

Very clear and articulate explanation of the concepts. He doesn't skip a step in the sequencing ideas, drawing comparisons and differences, and illustrating both visually and story-telling. Excellent.

NC

30 juil. 2019

Very nice course for beginner, the mathematic level is not high (around french baccalaureat) so available to everyone. I enjoyed a lot this course that show how simple math can be used in real life.

Filtrer par :

26 - 50 sur 1,536 Avis pour Fundamentals of Quantitative Modeling

par 许坤荣

17 juil. 2019

The teacher has clear logic in class and can explain quantitative modeling systematically

par Arvin M

18 juil. 2019

Very easy to follow, and a very suitable introductory class.

par Stephane F

4 août 2019

Fantastic course. Easy to pick and a great teacher.

par Palash D

12 juil. 2019

It's very easy to understand.

par Francis D

7 août 2019

Very engaging class. Thanks

par Sandeep C

6 juil. 2019

easy to learn

par Yuxinyi L

20 juil. 2019

Good fundamental lessons!

par Sanjoy S

23 mai 2020

Course is very boring. No instruction regarding how to use the spreed-sheet or R to calculate those linear regression results. The results are just there. In some other fundamental that I took on coursera, those instructor gave some basic idea about how to use the tools/software. I was hoping for some very basic instruction about how to use R or excel at the very minimum.

par Farouk G

21 juil. 2019

Fairly straightforward and provided good content, but intros and summaries were often unnecessary and it seemed that a low percentage of the content was new material being learned. Still enjoyed it and learned useful terminology

par Dayna R

31 mai 2020

Felt like it could have been a little more plain....less theory, more application.

par Paul E

23 juin 2020

Needs more interaction from the teacher. Use animations to make the math more understandable or dynamic. Consider adding practice problems as a check to see if students are understanding the concepts.

par takkallapalli n

12 juin 2020

Content is good. But the overall course could have been designed better with some hands on exercises.

par Sachi F

13 mars 2018

This course was wonderfully thought out and very well organized. The professor did an amazing job introducing modeling concepts and then breaking them down in very clear, concise points so you also can understand the underlying purpose of those concepts. The examples are all very well laid out to help you further understand this course. The quizzes were simple, but they did help reinforce the information taught in each module. Some questions weren't technically covered in the module, but you could easily extrapolate from the information given to come to the correct conclusion. I would definitely recommend this course to anyone who had an interest in forming a foundational understanding of basic financial models.

par Pallavi P

16 août 2020

I'm an economics grad who passed out a few years ago and was looking to learn quant modelling. I learnt these concepts in school but the way it was taught in this course was precise and better because of the examples. The course does make more sense if you have learnt calculus in school but now you have softwares to do that. Each module has an introduction which articulates very clearly what you can expect to learn and the summary beautifully wraps up what you learnt to give you a quick overview just before the quiz. I thoroughly enjoyed this course more than I did in school. Would recommend to econ students who want to get a refresher course in econometrics!

par sayandeep k

11 avr. 2020

An excellent course: it provides learners with the concepts and skills necessary for Modelling a Quantitative model for a Business. The lectures are clear and well organized. There are Quizzes for Learners that helped them to check the main concepts. The course is very objective and direct. I'm sure it will be very useful in my life as a student and as a professional. Thank You, Coursera & the faculty Richard Waterman, Professor of Statistics of the University of Pennsylvania who for providing online courses & guidance for international students. I have really enjoyed the learnings inside the course of Academic Information Seeking.

par Hristo D

29 févr. 2016

The course was very useful in introducing me to the basic concepts of modelling. I am now familiar with the necessary vocabulary to participate in conversations about modelling. It also refreshed my intuition on the basic mathematical functions. Most interesting part was the steps I have to follow when I want to construct a particular model in order to help me in answering questions about a business process.I also found out that this is a continuous process and usually I might not construct good one from the first time. I am looking forward to the next stages and so far I would definitely recommend it to my friends!

par Colin E

3 mars 2016

I think this was a very good course. Level of instruction and pace were appropriate for someone with 2 hours/week to spend and who wanted to improve their knowledge of these topics. Its probably more useful for someone with some previous experience, limited time and some problems they want to solve, rather than a student. It had a good balance between a lot of breadth for time invested. If you approach this as a high-level overview that will help you efficiently focus your own search for knowledge it's extremely well done; I thought knowledge communicated for the amount of time spent was quite high.

par Rajat M R

3 oct. 2018

I would like to thank coursera and university of pennsilvaniya for providing me an opportunity to be a part of this course. Language used by prof. waterman was so comprehensible that even a layman could make a note of what is being taught. Knowing the fundamentals is the foremost task before advancing into anything, with the help this course I gained a brief idea of modelling in business and how these models are instruments in growth of a business .I would like to gain a more in depth knowledge of modelling and would love to enroll in all courses related to financial modelling

par Shru

4 févr. 2022

A great course on data modelling, this course was structured in a way that even someone with no prior statistical knowledge would be able to understand and relate to the topics. It was paced in an even, easy manner for understanding the various methods of using statistical data modelling for forecasting purposes that we come across in various situations in our lives. It was fun and highly informative and I would definitely recommend this course to people who want to further their skills in data modelling using statiscal methods.

par Alessandro I

22 mars 2017

The concepts are really well explained and the video lectures are engaging (not boring). The tone of the professor is appropriate and I really appreciated his way to explain economics modeling.

I already knew part of the topics and treat them in my university career, but it was helpful to give my memory a little boost and explore them in a different way that I'm used to.

The difficulty is less than average; I would say that is appropriate for an undergraduate course and proportional for the effort required (2-3 hours par week).

par Jamal S

23 nov. 2016

In a word. Excellent!

I have learnt a lot during this course.

Even though there are no direct interactions during the videos, Professor Richard Waterman still manages to keep it very engaging including excellent dry wit.

I found the course quite challenging seeing as I have very little background in Finance/Business modelling, although I have sufficient work experience to help me through.

The modules content was explained with clarity.

Thank You, Coursera, Thank You, Professor Richard Waterman!

par Luxi

8 févr. 2016

I have been in IT and business areas for so many years and I need a very concise and very pragmatic way of forming useful models. I only viewed week one materials. I have to admit that the professor, the materials and the course design have been extremely impressive. I would highly recommend, to anyone, IT or business managers, professionals in all areas to take this course. Because Modeling and Data Analytics will facilitate much better business decisions and make us better thinkers.

par Yashowardhan

29 juin 2020

The course was well designed for its content and flow of revelation of contents. The course progressed in the manner it should be, from basic to intermediate level. Professor Richard Waterman was polite, calm, composed and thorough in his approach. The best part was, I was able to immediately go into discussion with one of my friends who is into modeling (some specific) from few years, and he told me that I was sounding theoretically well versed. Thanks & Regards Yashowardhan.

par Vikrant R W

19 sept. 2019

This course is very extensive on the use of quantitative models. The 4 quantitative models are explained with simple practical examples which enables the learner put his knowledge in practical situations. The skills learned in this course are very essential to a maker of Financial Model where one has to use historical data and build forecast.

My personal advise to fellow learners, please do attempt the calculations on your own to make your knowledge more precise. Happy Learning

par Peter M

13 avr. 2020

This was a detailed and thorough introduction to modelling fundamentals. Key takeaways that I will be able to directly incorporate into my role as a consultant:

-Discrete and Continuous regression

-Attributing different models as a solution to different business problems e.g. gap analysis, correlation, go/no go decision making

-Normal distribution values, and identifying mean/standard deviations

-Incorporating random variables; often requested by clients or external events