Chevron Left
Retour à Introduction to Operations Management

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Introduction to Operations Management par Université de Pennsylvanie

4.5
étoiles
2,229 évaluations
495 avis

À propos du cours

Learn to analyze and improve business processes in services or in manufacturing by learning how to increase productivity and deliver higher quality standards. Key concepts include process analysis, bottlenecks, flows rates, and inventory levels, and more. After successfully completing this course, you can apply these skills to a real-world business challenge as part of the Wharton Business Foundations Specialization....

Meilleurs avis

KR
24 août 2020

Great Instruction by Prof Christian - very lucid and with real world examples. Learning a business skill is mostly learning observation.. Now I know what to observe when looking for productivity!

AJ
27 oct. 2018

This is an awesome comprehensive operations management course. Although, the course in an introductory course, it covers pretty much everything you need to know about operations management.

Filtrer par :

401 - 425 sur 479 Avis pour Introduction to Operations Management

par sujeet b

23 sept. 2019

Smartly covered all topics.

par Carola A Y C

8 juil. 2020

Is good , but so difficult

par 朱彦缙

12 avr. 2016

It's very useful for me.

par Vadim L

28 janv. 2017

English could be better

par Fatima E D

20 juin 2016

tough but good course!

par Aman

7 juin 2020

Volume too soft.

par Premchander S

8 avr. 2019

GOOD EXPERIENCE

par Ann J

3 oct. 2016

Good course :)

par kouassi k c a

28 mai 2020

riche et fun

par Prasad M

8 avr. 2018

Good Course

par Vikram S

30 mars 2018

Very good.

par Yangyang Q

24 août 2017

很有挑战的一门课程

par Ngawang P

27 mars 2019

nice

par Deleted A

6 avr. 2020

4.5

par Andrew F

9 févr. 2016

What I liked:

1. The scope of subject material covered was awesome and seems useful.

2. I L O V E D that there were practice videos where Mr. Terwiesch went over sample questions and let you try to work them out before he showed the solutions. This helped IMMENSELY. (saved the course in my opinion.)

What I didn't like:

1. Question ambiguity annoyed me more than anything else. Questions MUST be 100% clear on what is expected and how things are working. This was a huge piss off. Mr Terwiesch was pretty bad with not being detailed enough in his explanations, I'd find myself having to retake a quiz just to test whether he meant one way or another possible stance.

2. Sloppy hand writing was nearly impossible to read. Can Profs please take 30% extra time to write a little more clean? (Just a minor thing.)

3. There were many other pedagogical missteps. Which order you introduce concepts and how you explain them is just as important as what your course material is. Please pay more attention to this in the future. For example in Module 3 exam there was a question about a wind tunnel which seemed to be dealing with rework time, yet rework wasn't covered in detail until Module 4.

4. Adding a little humor here and there would've been nice, I've seen other profs do this and I love it. (This is more a personal taste kind of thing, and not a huge problem.)

par Hernando E

29 avr. 2020

The topic was very interesting, and I enjoyed the Professor's lecturing style.

The reason that I didn't give at least a 4-star rating is that as the course went on, I think the pace that the information was presented in became too rapid for an introductory course.

I don't recommend attempting the course unless you have some experience with statistics (particularly calculating probabilities).

Also, a few of the questions on the quizzes would be virtually impossible to answer unless you have (and are at least somewhat proficient with) Microsoft Excel.

I think more of a balance between testing for knowledge of theory and making calculations would be a little bit better for an introductory course.

Maybe this course's heavy emphasis on choosing the proper formulas and calculating them correctly would have been better placed in a course that isn't called introductory.

par Sarah E

14 juin 2017

I appreciated the extra problem sets included at the end of each week. The material was pretty interesting. However, quiz questions (especially quiz #2) could be vague and difficult to interpret, and they often take 3-5 times longer to complete than the time listed. Most everything is calculations (not multiple choice), and there are no hints after completing a quiz to help you find out what you did incorrectly. Thus, it can take numerous tries to pass a quiz if you are rounding something incorrectly or made a small calculation error. With respect to the lecture videos, the volume is very low, especially on the earlier videos in week 1. The slides have a lot of small text and are hard to read. The instructor's handwriting is difficult to read, which can make it tough to follow along as he solves problems.

par JENNIFER P

24 août 2020

The material was well presented, and examples close enough to real life to be useful were presented to better understand the material. The downfall is that no corrections are offered for quizes or exams. I am left not having a full grasp of 2 concepts/problems in particular because a) the discussion platform takes a decent amount of back and forth; and I would trust replies from a T.A. or professor, but not necessarily from other students in the class, and b) corrections and problem solving steps are not available on quiz/exam platform. Despite having reviewed material and test questions multiple times, getting full understanding of material is hard without more access to corrections.

par Alex K

9 févr. 2019

some of the language used in the quizzes and practice questions for the various modules is very unclear and does not interpret accurately. the course is stale at this point: there is no longer active discussion in the forums and no way to check for answers to exam questions that never ended up being clear (such as due to language interpretation issues). the explanations from the mentors are not very good from what I've read, since they are most concerned about giving away answers even to practice problems.

par michele b

3 janv. 2016

I found the course very useful: it was easy to see practical applications for many of the topics discussed, and hence to quickly put in action what I learned.

The course is well structured and has a good balance between the theory and the exercises, and part of the solutions are provided in step-by-step videos.

However, the quality of the slides is not always the best and the handwriting by Prof. Terwiesch does not help. Also, it was not easy to follow the parts of the lectures when excel was used.

par Caio A V

1 nov. 2016

Far from the best and below the average quality of Wharton's courses, has plenty of critical technical video issues that detract one's experience and easily misguide a good understanding.

Even though, if you compensate this by taking into account the extraordinary effort Wharton's teachers have been putting on their courses and accepting as a personal challenge, you certainly will learn admirable and fundamental efficient skills regarding the operational process and decision-making process.

par Andrew H

16 mars 2020

I would rate this higher than 3 stars because I learned quite a lot, if not for the wording and scant instructions as to rounding on some of the quizzes, in particular Week 3. I managed to pass most of the quizzes on the first attempt, but only after looking and getting tips in the forums on how many decimals to round to. In Week 3 Quiz, there is also a set of problems poorly worded which lead to two equally reasonable logical assumptions being possible- so that one should be fixed.

par J C

31 déc. 2017

Great information, but it is difficult to understand the professor and read his handwriting which makes the course difficult to follow. There are a number of discrepancies between the material shown in the video and the materials provided for download which can create some confusion. It would be helpful if the professor would clearly outline the various formula and calculations used and reference them consistently.

par Gabriel F

9 juil. 2016

OK, the course starts a bit confusing and boring, but it gets better after the second week. The last week is actually very, very interesting. Handwriting is perhaps not the best thing to offer in the presentations. But the main problem of the course are the tests, by far the most difficult I ever had in coursera. Time to devote per week is way over the estimated 4/5 hours.

par Daniel M

13 janv. 2018

I found the content to be very good. That said, I believe a few of the items on the exams provided enough deviation in scenario that the subject should be covered in more detail (example...processing demand flow) or the questions should be more specific so as not to have the tester assume or "read-in" to any variable. Again...enjoyed the learning experience.