Chevron Left
Retour à Introduction to Operations Management

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Introduction to Operations Management par Université de Pennsylvanie

4.5
étoiles
2,249 évaluations
502 avis

À propos du cours

Learn to analyze and improve business processes in services or in manufacturing by learning how to increase productivity and deliver higher quality standards. Key concepts include process analysis, bottlenecks, flows rates, and inventory levels, and more. After successfully completing this course, you can apply these skills to a real-world business challenge as part of the Wharton Business Foundations Specialization....

Meilleurs avis

KR
24 août 2020

Great Instruction by Prof Christian - very lucid and with real world examples. Learning a business skill is mostly learning observation.. Now I know what to observe when looking for productivity!

RE
28 janv. 2021

I found this course to be very informational; the practice and homework were excellent to prepare for the exams, and the instructor covered all material in the lectures that was on the exams.

Filtrer par :

451 - 475 sur 486 Avis pour Introduction to Operations Management

par Duong B N

21 avr. 2016

Plz help to make knowledge as short and simple as they can be for the learner.

par Henry M

23 juin 2016

Goes through the material somewhat quickly. Could have done more with week 1

par Rajarajeshwari S M

28 juin 2016

Need more sample problems to understand the concepts better.

par ABHISEK D

26 mars 2016

This is not upto the standard of Wharton, I believe.

par Rean T

6 nov. 2017

Formatting of answers during quizzes wasn’t clear.

par Stephanie P

12 déc. 2020

Course material not user friendly.

par Lauren J

20 mai 2020

Prof is not good. Works out problems by just scribbling numbers that you can barely read with no explanation of how he got them. Which later in forums you might find out are wrong and he never redo and corrected the video. How he got the numbers and if they are correct is for you to figure out on your own making the whole "review" useless and not at all helpful to be able to complete the test or homework. Forums are somewhat more helpful as people actually explain how they solved the problems. The practice questions being solve is actually also useful as it is solved by someone other then the prof. The homework and finals should have instructions on how many decimal places it accepts as I would have 3 decimals on some answers and they would be right. Then on the next question I would solve it 6 times, look over all the examples and everything in the forum and final put the SAME ANSWER in again with two decimals not three (like the other correct questions) and then it's right. So why that would change part way through a test and not be noted is beyond me. Overall the prof made me hate the course and everything to do with Operation Management which I previously enjoyed. Would not recommend to a friend. Extremely frustrating course

par Pedro R

24 août 2020

The course content was good, however, the teacher has a lot of room for improvement to say the least. He seems to be an expert on the field but he was bad in transmitting knowledge. His language was confusing and not clear in both verbal and written explanations (terrible handwriting). I have no problem with the fact that he is not a native English speaker, but he could try to open his mouth a little bit more when talking so it is not so hard to understand him. Also, he throws a lot of statistical concepts into excel formulas without explaining where do they come from when doing the exercises which makes it very difficult to understand without having a background knowledge forcing the student to look for external resources and do a lot of investigation outside COURSERA. Finally, the exams were the worst part. They were poorly designed with unclear wording that can be misleading and cause the student to fail just to try it again assuming different meanings of the message. Also, the answers had to be manually inputted instead of multiple selection, which increases the possibility of format errors.

par Alex G

26 juin 2020

Incredibly difficult for an intro class, especially as the Prof makes a lot of assumptions in calculations that aren't clearly defined. The homework quizzes and exams involve problems and formulas that are a bit too complex for an intro course for the general public! A lot of careful interpretation of wording and multiple steps mean that this course is quite challenging and takes a lot of careful attention.

I'd give it 1 star, except that the more you take of the course, the more the concepts start to make sense and the formulas become the tiniest bit easier.

Far too complex and challenging to be necessary for the overall specialisation; I thought that being a qualitative oriented person (with a PhD from an elite, Top 20 university in Social Science) that Corporate Finance would have been the toughest course on the specialisation, but actually, I think this one is. (Corporate Finance is actually *incredibly* well taught, by the way, and I gave that course 5 stars!)

par Brian G

7 août 2020

Several problems were not explained well. The Quizzes (which do not count toward final grade) did not provide the solutions - which would have allowed me to try and work the problem backward to find the solution. I understand not providing the test/assessment answers for integrity reasons, but not providing the answers in the quizzes only perpetuates the ignorance. The instructor's accent and verbiage use cased confusion. When definitions are defined by the use of a single word or another this can lead to lots of lost time and frustration. This is understandably a by-product of English not being their first language, they must be more careful in their discussions to avoid this in the future.

par Shelby

18 août 2016

This course is designed much differently than the other Fundamental Courses. The content is clear in the lectures, however, the questions in the quizzes are not based on concepts learned in the lesson directly. The quiz and final exams are not multiple choice, but instead require you to enter you answer manually and it is graded. The two combined makes it difficult to know which answer the teacher is searching for and leads to a frustrating process while test taking.

par Sven B

5 juil. 2020

What I would argue as the deficiency of this course is the lack of deeper insight into the topics. The lectures themselves were very “dry,” but what disappointed me the most was the professor’s lack of deeper meaning in explaining the things he does and his approach to problem-solving. He should explain his reasoning in more detail when he is solving problems (giving more mathematical explanations and arguments etc.)

par Christian J K

2 oct. 2019

Great course content. However, the graded homework and final exams have several unclearly-written trick questions that ask for answers that are not covered anywhere in the lecture videos or handouts. It is my professional opinion, as an experienced course developer and assessor, that this subject's assessment tools and evidence guides need to moderated and validated to be reliable, fair, flexible and valid.

par 张旭

3 août 2020

it could be better if the teacher wanna make it better. Through the course, I can sense that how a business owner making the organization operation more efficient and more productive, but without any feeling that a teacher is trying to deliver knowledge to us. It is not that bad, while comparing to other courses I have attended, 2 stars.

par Colleen M

16 juin 2020

The questions in the homework and quizzes are much harder than what is given in the videos. There are not enough opportunities for practice problems for students to be successful. The instructor is difficult to understand, making this much more frustrating than it needs to be.

par Bhupendrasinh T

8 juil. 2017

Exam questions are very very delusional and no proper support is given to understand them. Course material is very good and can be very helpful for anyone but the way they managed to write question is out of this world and complete waste of time.

par Nicholas S

2 févr. 2021

Instructor understood the material and explained concepts well enough but the formulas and problem solving were painfully unclear. One of the tutors for this course is disrespectful to learners.

par Nuno F R F

16 nov. 2017

Not very clear explanations of theory and of the problems. Many times wasnt clear which units to use. Very boring classes presented in a monotonic way and with no enthusiasm by the teacher.

par Chloe F

19 mai 2020

Explanations were difficult to understand at times.

It would be best if test answers were explained

Video audio quality could be better

par Andy Z

6 juil. 2016

Does not explain quite so thoroughly. Some parts are hard to understand. And quizes are too hard. And 3 tries A WEEK?!?

par Samuel B

26 août 2020

Good content, but poor overall presentation and confusing HWs / tests. Would not recommend.

par Scott W

13 déc. 2019

Poorly filmed course, difficult to understand and folllow

par Brianna C

28 juin 2020

this was very difficult

par Arash A

8 févr. 2021

Very poor designed course. I believe there are a lot of refinement required. Also, the logistics are not clear: Homework + Final each week???? And as learner you must go and check every thing everywhere in the course. The course material are all over the place and even some of the problems in the homework and final don't have an example, so good luck on passing the quizzes in 2 attempts (yes! questions are very tricky). And I believe since 2012 the instructor could spend more time to refine the course to add value to the student ... It didn't occurred to me.

par Kimeco J F

30 oct. 2020

I hated this course, it had course information that didn't go with any of the videos'/readings that were presented! I had many thoughts of giving up, but pushed through!