Chevron Left
Retour à Introduction to Corporate Finance

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Introduction to Corporate Finance par Université de Pennsylvanie

4.6
étoiles
5,136 évaluations
1,030 avis

À propos du cours

This course provides a brief introduction to the fundamentals of finance, emphasizing their application to a wide variety of real-world situations spanning personal finance, corporate decision-making, and financial intermediation. Key concepts and applications include: time value of money, risk-return tradeoff, cost of capital, interest rates, retirement savings, mortgage financing, auto leasing, capital budgeting, asset valuation, discounted cash flow (DCF) analysis, net present value, internal rate of return, hurdle rate, payback period....

Meilleurs avis

ZZ
26 sept. 2021

An excellent course overall. I really enjoyed the learning experience and look forward to more courses from Wharton. Special thanks to professor Michael Roberts for providing great value in 1 course.

LL
21 oct. 2016

The professor is very patient, he spends a lot of time making sense of the equations and the calculation process, which helps me comprehend the concepts and their application really a lot. Thank you!

Filtrer par :

26 - 50 sur 1,018 Avis pour Introduction to Corporate Finance

par Samantha B

30 juin 2020

Overall I liked this course and thought the professor did a great job explaining things. I got a little lost on 3rd/4th week (felt like the pace changed quite a bit) but appreciated that the quizzes reflected the true basics of the content covered (no tricks that discouraged you!).

par Hannah S

9 mai 2020

Although I thoroughly enjoyed this course, there is a lot of content in here that is assumed knowledge (i.e. types of corporate finance) and a lot of the explanations in this are given in terms of the mathematical equation and not in terms of its general context. For example, I learnt a lot more researching NPV and IRR independently on Google than what I did in this course. This is not to say the course isn't good - it provides an apt outline of what corporate finance can involve, however I think it would be more beneficial if the course was spread out over more weeks and with more detail (you can tell this is a condensed version from the fact that some quiz sets are missing).

par Inés K

30 août 2020

This is simply too frustrating. I'm not a mathematician, and in this course you get formulas thrown at you that are not for the willing, for the motivated, but only for the guys with a serious talent for maths. Plus I'm not getting the impression that this is about general questions about corporate finance, but more about how to calculate the exact FV, PV, EAR, APR, NCF and so on. I also think there are too many abbreviations here. I decided to drop out of this course and to forget about finishing the Business Specialization, which is a shame, but this is really too demotivating.

par Sharyn I

9 oct. 2019

I thought the lecturer was very clear and concise and the presented content was useful and easy to digest. The problem sets provided great practice in applying the concepts. What's covered here is well worth learning. But I was disappointed to find that the course content was incomplete and did not cover many of the key concepts as outlined in the course description.

par William M

20 janv. 2021

Very informative, but considering this is an introductory course, I felt it lacked some simplified explanations.

par Shashank R D

14 mai 2020

A bit short in my opinion but good depth, needs more practical excercise

par Jasper S

6 sept. 2020

Pretty dry. Errors with Quiz for week 4.

par John D

1 avr. 2021

The professor was excellent and knowledgable. However, the lack of continuity and shallow depth required me to look elsewhere to learn what the course said it would cover. My guess is that the course was altered at some point and the changes were not carried over comprehensively into all areas of the curriculum. It was especially frustrating that we were asked to work on the practice problems but there were no practice problems.

par gregoire c

16 déc. 2020

This course cannot be serious

I mean quizz week 2, 2 mistakes on 10 questions is not to my quality standards.

They have an error on formula questions 3 , parenthesis in the wrong place.

Question 6, I did the math 10 times and found none of the responses matched.

Then the forum said that the problems are pervasive, with multiple people complaining.

That cant be serious.

par Terry W

29 nov. 2020

The content was OK and Prof. fine - but quiz examples were flat out wrong in a few cases and the instructor referred to "problem sets" that didn't exist. Not worth the $$ or time due to errors in quiz. Frustrating. Would be more like a 4 start if these errors didn't exist.

par Tobias W

30 sept. 2020

The final exam has questions which are wrong (none of the selected answers are correct). The lecturers were notified in the forums but no action is taken (for a month). This is unacceptable for a paid course.

The course itself is interesting and well structured.

par Elizabeth B

26 avr. 2021

Terrible course. Half of the materials are missing and he doesn't explain how he does half of the things that he does. Some of the quiz answers are wrong and you have to chose an incorrect answer for it to be counted as correct. A total sh*t show of a course.

par Sohail M

30 oct. 2020

The course content and lecturer are actually very good. But the exams have lots of mistakes, which means passing an exam is based on pure luck. The "Correct" answers determined by the course are not even close to being correct.

par Kristopher S

27 oct. 2020

Surface level content. Multiple incorrect answers in multiple quizzes along the way. Some of the issues were highlighted in the course Discussion Forums and were never addressed by the professor.

par Mícheál

9 févr. 2021

The problem sets are missing and this small issue has seemingly not been rectified even though it was flagged 5 months ago on the forum. What is the point of this course?

par Laura F

25 mars 2021

The quizzes have many errors in them (that many users have reported going back several months and they have yet to be fixed).

par Aaron P K

6 juin 2017

Far too brief.

par Sandra P

28 mars 2020

A really good course for non-financial background students. The contents are easy to understand. And what I like the most about the course is that the teacher gives a pretty good explanation of not only the conceptions of financial terms but also the situation to which these terms should be applied as well as the interpretation/conclusions we can draw from the numbers. These processes help me learn what should I do or think about for the next step based on the outcome.

It would be great if the course can be extended to a 5-to-6-week one that emcompasses more detailed information and more excercise. Look forward to other courses of corporate finance offered by Wharton.

P.S. The teacher is really cute and nice,hahahaha~

par Ishraf H

31 déc. 2015

Very useful course, if you're interested in finance, modelling, decision making through NPV, IRR, Break Even Analysis, Elasticity, then this is the course to take. Prof. Roberts is very eloquent and drives home the key points very well.

You'll also be able to get an understanding of how financial analysts need to work with other business departments (marketing, operations, strategy team etc), in order to arrive at accurate project analysis and evaluation (including identifying key value drivers in any project).

I highly encourage anyone interested in finance to take this course from Wharton. Also, don't forget to tinker around with the provided spreadsheet - it will really hammer home many key financial concepts!

par Paul M

27 févr. 2016

Many thanks to Professor Michael Roberts and the course team for their excellent work and effort into developing this course. I am a retired director of corporate finance and accounting. I enrolled in this course with the goal of mastering the fundamentals of corporate finance. I have also successfully completed the Coursera Fundamentals of Finance Course from the University of Michigan, and I'm happy to report that both courses are excellent. Professor Robert's examples, illustrations, concept development and demonstrations were outstanding. Both courses use a different approach in teaching the finance fundamentals so it did not feel like a lot of duplication for me. Thanks again.

par Thinh P

18 janv. 2016

This is a very basic introduction to corporate finance. The instructor's explanation is to the point and very easy to understand. The material is quite thin, however, but I guess since it's just an introduction, so the team want to make it accessible for everybody. I personally would like to have more exercises and quizzes to enhance the understanding of the subject (especially the material in week 3 and 4). I think there should be more emphasis on week 3 about free cash flow since I believe it is the highlight of the whole course.

I look forward for a more advanced version of corporate finance from Wharton.

Thank you all for providing this high-quality MOOC.

par Patrick P

3 juil. 2020

This course is a great resource for anyone looking for a refresher on corporate investment opportunities or for professionals working outside of finance to get a better understanding of the most common ways to measure potential opportunities. Professor Roberts does a great job describing the concepts, but what stood out to me was the examples he uses that are applicable to real world experiences. For example, he mentions the necessity to collaborate with different functional areas (marketing, strategy, product, etc) to build proper assumptions when forecasting free cash flow. Overall, time well spent and a great intro to corporate finance.

par Daniel K

1 juin 2020

I took this course in preparation for a job as a refresher of what I learned during my Bachelor's degree about 7 years ago. The course was relatively easy to follow for me as a product manager with a business education, but practically 0 finance related work. I did have to look up a few of the concepcts in more detail (especially the impact of NWC on the FCF), but other than that it went very smoothly.

The course could have gone into more detail or at least laid out a way how to dive a bit deeper, as it's really an introduction. Overall, I really enjoyed the course.

par Rony H

25 nov. 2018

It's a great introduction course! I finally learned the practicalities of different terms I have been encountering daily in my field of work. However, it would've been much more informative had their been more real-life practical exercises to solve! Also, I found the second part a bit confusing especially that I have limited knowledge in accounting terminologies. So, the student would find that part more relevant if they had some background knowledge in accounting.

But all in all, it was good course. Looking forward to advance my knowledge in finance in the future:)

par Kristen L

19 août 2017

This course is absolutely fantastic. I enrolled a week ago and have been so engrossed in the content that I am already almost finished with my week 4 lectures. The professor, Michael R. Roberts, is phenomenal at making complex topics relatable and easy to understand. I consider myself decent at general math and critical thinking, but came in with very little corporate finance knowledge. As a result of taking this course, I already feel more confident speaking to a new side of the business in my current role as a L&D program manager.