Chevron Left
Retour à Introduction to Corporate Finance

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Introduction to Corporate Finance par Université de Pennsylvanie

4.6
étoiles
5,422 évaluations

À propos du cours

This course provides a brief introduction to the fundamentals of finance, emphasizing their application to a wide variety of real-world situations spanning personal finance, corporate decision-making, and financial intermediation. Key concepts and applications include: time value of money, risk-return tradeoff, cost of capital, interest rates, retirement savings, mortgage financing, auto leasing, capital budgeting, asset valuation, discounted cash flow (DCF) analysis, net present value, internal rate of return, hurdle rate, payback period....

Meilleurs avis

ZZ

26 sept. 2021

An excellent course overall. I really enjoyed the learning experience and look forward to more courses from Wharton. Special thanks to professor Michael Roberts for providing great value in 1 course.

LL

21 oct. 2016

The professor is very patient, he spends a lot of time making sense of the equations and the calculation process, which helps me comprehend the concepts and their application really a lot. Thank you!

Filtrer par :

926 - 950 sur 1,082 Avis pour Introduction to Corporate Finance

par Nhi Đ H

1 août 2021

the lectures and prof are so great but quizzes are very bad. There are tons of questions that have wrong answers( sometimes I think that they just give me a random number). Fortunately, I picked random choice for those and I got right answers while I didn't know why =)).

So disappointed with staffs of the course. They do not fix these wrong quizzes and do not reply any questions in discussion forum for a long time.

I hope you all think careful before enroll to this course if you want to earn a certificate.

par Ritesh G

4 mars 2022

The Introduction to Corporate Finance course explains the financial notions well and their applied scope cautiously. Prof Michael R Roberts clearly states the underlying assumptions of the forecast drivers during valuation. He intensively ascribes the calculations and formulae. Moreover, the comprehensive discussion forums bridged the gap between the course concepts and the shortcomings of the quizzes. Overall, the stipulated syllabus is delivered with patience to introduce one to finance.

par Dylan F

18 févr. 2016

Overall the course was well taught and the content was interesting. However, it would have been valuable to see the correct answers for quiz questions that were not answered correctly. If correct answers are not provided because of a concern that people would write them down and then retake the quiz, I understand, but I think this could be mitigated by only showing the correct answers after you have passed the quiz. I think I could have learned a bit more if this were the case.

par Jo E

7 mars 2022

I​ really appreciate Professor Roberts' style and practical use cases. However, the unit quiz has several errors in it (Questions 3 & 8 - I also thought there was an error in question 2 although fewer students have raised that one in the forum) and despite responding to complaints in the comments months ago, Coursera has yet to resolve the issue. For that reason, proceed with caution. The content is solid, but you'll spin your wheels a bit trying to learn via the quiz.

par David B

27 mai 2018

informative, ground-level education in basic finance theorem. however, be aware that this is a rush-through synopsis of some very basic ideas with minimal feedback from very busy faculty staff from one of the most prestigious educational facilities in the world. i.e. don't expect a thorough explanation of these concepts, and don't expect ANY support. With that said, i have enjoyed myself immensely. Wish i could afford to get myself over to U Penn!

par Antonio V

11 sept. 2016

Nice Course, however i did the same one last year and tests now are much easier, also the load work did reduce dramatically.

The previous version of the course was hard work ,but definitely you could learn more. A university like Wharford should not lower the standard of their exams or of their courses to accomodate larger audience, or make more money. If people do a Whatford course, even if it's an online one they need to accept the challenge.

par Jingxia P

9 janv. 2016

After completing accountingI just jump into Finance course. Compared to accounting session, this course session does not pause to the places where students might have confusions, which might be a disadvantage. The professor illustrate most of concepts clearly, though.

As for the exam questions, seems to simplified and only cover, I guess, 30% of the course content. There are a lot of concepts can be given as harder questions for exam, imo.

par 20-UMT-330 A P

26 mars 2022

While the teaching was very compact and top-notch, the quizzes and the assignments were very basic and not even challenging. There were MANY errors in the entire module of quizzes and sometimes it's just frustrating. The assignments, the discussion forum and the staff service were really basic. It also seemed that the course was of something else and they just copied and pasted the lectures here. Overall, very average experience.

par Dakota F

25 mars 2021

The course material doesn't seem to match the quizzes. Would be helpful to review how to solve each equation rather than assuming that we remember each method for solving these problems. It would also be helpful to show how to solve the quiz questions. There were problems that I got wrong because the answer I found was not an option but I am not sure which is the correct answer... and I may never know...

par Jon T

8 nov. 2020

Some of the questions on quiz did not have correct answers to choose from. This was disappointing because it led to wasted time and uncertainty on equations. I would not recommend this course for others because of this reason. However, the instructor seemed knowledgeable and moved through course materials fluidly. In summary, lectures are good but testing experience and quality is lacking.

par Shalon F

10 déc. 2017

Overall the class was very informative. Sometimes the quizzes were frustrating because of the input method for answers. For example, if you have a question dealing with millions of dollars the answer will say express it in millions of dollars but it's not clear if you should write it out numerically (5000000 or simply 5) It can cause you to miss questions that you have the correct answer to.

par Alec W

4 déc. 2020

Solid, informative course on Corporate Finance and Capital Budgeting decisions. The spreadsheet provided in Week 3 is (in my opinion) the single most useful example provided across the 4 courses. The end of module quizzes, however, were riddled with errors and extremely oversimplified and repetitive questions. Overall, course felt lackluster when compared to others in the specialization.

par Hiranya K

25 juil. 2016

Very passionate instructor with clear teaching, but the course lacked depth. Quizzes were too easy and could have been completed without viewing the lectures. Seems that the original course was longer and had more content but was trimmed down. The tablet case felt very rushed, and no content covered in it was necessary for the quizzes. However, it still should have been explained better.

par Vishal M

23 mai 2016

Course was good. Overall Lectures were good and easy to understand. However i feel coures needs to improve on following points:

1) Course was shallow and lacked depth. Industry wide examples on ROI, Decision criteria would have been interesting

2) Assignments / Quizzes were very easy and hence less challenging

3) No additional reading material such as good books, extracts, etc

par Danielle J

4 mai 2021

I really enjoyed the material of this course, and how the instructor briefly goes over the use of Excel in the field. A BIG HOWEVER, though, is that the quizzes are terrible. All of them have multiple incorrect answers or wrong information. This makes it hard to know if I've actually learned the material or not, and wastes a huge amount of time.

par Gretchen R

15 nov. 2020

The course is a great overview but there are significant errors in the quizzes and no substantial input from the forum monitors. Also, the professor mentions problem sets that would provide great practical experience before the quizzes but the assignments do not exist. Very disappointing to have so many errors in the videos and quizzes.

par Jean-Laurent P

6 janv. 2016

Great teacher, engaging and interesting. Course clear and well structured.

But the course content is far too limited, and toward the end of the course, the most interesting topics discussed in the videos are not evaluated through quiz / exam. I don't think many student can claim that they have a good understanding of those topics.

par Miguel Z

8 juil. 2021

It was relatively difficult but having background on the subject matter made it a lot easier. Also, I personally am just good in with mathematical analysis so the calculations in this course weren't anything out of this universe for me. There was some poor organization with the quizzes but eventually I was able to figure it out.

par Ariel N

10 mars 2021

Information is good, as well as the teacher. However, the quizzes are atrocious. Too many incorrect answers. Th worst part is that teachers/staff aren't doing anything about it when so many people are complaining. Whats the point of the discussion forum if we aren't getting the answers from the people who created the questions .

par Colleen M

11 juin 2020

The quizzes were way too difficult! I had no problem following along and getting the correct answers during the lectures, but when it came to the quizzes I kept getting the wrong answer. Perhaps an issue with rounding? It would be helpful to have more opportunities to practice before going straight into quizzes.

par Adrian C F

26 oct. 2020

Quite a few issues with: a) some of the test results being genuinely wrong; b) no practice questions despite references to them from the professor: c) a distinct feeling some videos have been rearranged - especially between Week 3 and Week 4 - as some topics are skipped, the most obvious being debt and equity.

par Paola F R B

13 janv. 2019

Me gusto mucho el curso, esta bien explicado, pero me gustaria que tuviera mas ejemplos dentro de la leccion porque a la hora de hacer el examen no tenia nada que ver y fue donde tuve muchas dificultades, ademas en los examenes no podias ver las respuestas correctas entonces no sabes ni en que te equivocaste.

par Ivo R

10 févr. 2021

lectures were not very well structured and lecturer explanations didnt not make sense sometimes. plus it was assumed that we knew what he was talking about a lot of times and things were not explained properly. on top of that there were some basic mistakes in some quizes that meant I had to guess the answers

par Sundaram R

8 mars 2020

I think the Week 3 portion was not effective. It could have been more clear like Week 2 & 1

Since it covered some major concepts, I found it difficult in following week 4 as well. Which basically affected by quiz scores. It would be great if we could get final answers alone, if not for complete solution.

par Nicholas K E

22 mai 2020

Overall I would say I didn't learn much from this course. I found Week 1 most interesting and helpful. After Week 2, I found it difficult to understand the content being taught and to be engaged.

However, the formulas I learnt will definitely help me in the future personally as well as professionally.