Chevron Left
Retour à Improving Communication Skills

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Improving Communication Skills par Université de Pennsylvanie

4.7
étoiles
1,155 évaluations
294 avis

À propos du cours

Learn how to communicate more effectively at work and achieve your goals. Taught by award-winning Wharton professor and best-selling author Maurice Schweitzer, Improving Communications Skills is an essential course designed to give you both the tools you need to improve your communication skills, and the most successful strategies for using them to your advantage. You'll learn how to discover if someone is lying (and how to react if they are), how to develop trust, the best method of communication for negotiation, and how to apologize. You'll also learn when to cooperate and when to compete, how to create persuasive messages, ask thoughtful questions, engage in active listening, and choose the right medium (face-to-face conversation, video conference, phone call, or email) for your messages. By the end of the course, you'll be able to understand what others want, respond strategically to their wants and needs, craft convincing and clear messages, and develop the critical communication skills you need to get ahead in business and in life....

Meilleurs avis

MG

Mar 12, 2020

This course surpassed my expectation. I can not only apply what I have learned in my professional life but also can help me to improve some personal aspects, like communication with my family members.

DJ

Feb 29, 2020

I loved the course, its is simple clear and share a critical view on how we can communicate.\n\nThe examples and teaching helped in understanding and diagnosis of each problem in communication.

Filtrer par :

26 - 50 sur 292 Avis pour Improving Communication Skills

par Marcin K

Jan 23, 2020

The course goes quite unexpected ways. I was not expecting what I got and I must admit I really liked it. The approach taken is very human-centric with lots of references to psychology and the way people work. It is less about structure and red tape. Perfect mix of skills for a XXI-century leader.

par Chin L Y

Oct 17, 2019

Great knowledge that I can use in advertisement, networking, buying process, team management, sales/ profit motivation ( what not to do), interview, making friends feel important, portraying oneself as the more honest and approachable person, reducing rivalry and in turn becoming happier.

par Gabriela A

Mar 23, 2020

A very good certification for people that are looking to enhance strategic managing skills. With good examples and very straight to the point information the professor is able to reflect the importance of each skill and the possibilities this knowledge can add to your experience.

par Jhemmylrut T

Mar 25, 2020

This course is very strategic in term of personal communication, particularly in a professional setting. Basically, it makes you think first before opening your mouth. Read verbal and non-verbal communication. It is very useful for personal and professional growth.

par Gilbert C

Jan 25, 2020

Overall, the lectures were good but I could not see how this would assist me in my career. 'Communication' seemed to be limited to a rather combative understanding around competition and ldeception, and consequently how to build trust or detect lying in such circumstances, while 'effective communication' was limited to how to apologise. While these are useful lessons for circumstances that are combative, I don't think these reflect the day-to-day communication I have in my current job and the presumption of bad faith in communication can lead to a self-fulfilling prophecy that can be detrimental to one's career. Also, the assessments don't get the students to reflect and implement the ideas. The questionnaire questions call upon students to memorise irrelevant bits of information that test whether students were 'paying attention' rather than whether students understood the core concepts.

par Malak A

Apr 15, 2017

It was a good course but kind of vague. Lectures were too long and full of talking instead of pause questions to keep the learner involved rather than just listening. I hoped if there were assignments and games to keep us more engaged and to assure that we fully understand the content. Otherwise, Professor Maurice Schweitzer did a great job with providing engaging examples in each video and I got to know a lot of new stories worldwide.

par Runa S

Nov 08, 2019

too condensed and the irony that it is a communication course yet too vague. The instructor condensed a probably one semester course in three or four hours course. He might want to focus more on verbal non verbal communication with some listening skills. But a whole module on deception and lying in a four module course, really. As for quizzes were horrible as they focused more on memorizing rather than understanding.

par Khangeldy K

Apr 13, 2020

In my opinion, the course gets better and more interesting as you go through it. So if the first week does not really seem like fun or useful, stick with the course and you will not regret. The name of the course may well be changed to "strategic communication", and that's what I liked about it — the focus of the course was not so much on the methods, but on the general thinking that helps us (hopefully) become better communicators, negotiators, and, in general, effective managers. The instructor's ideas are easy to follow and the flow of video lectures really keeps you motivated and interested in the material. Overall, I very much enjoyed the course.

par Tashini L S

Apr 19, 2020

I am glad that I took this course, it is challenging and insightful. I hope I am able to apply what I've learned in real life. I enjoyed week 3: Deception and Week 4: Effective Communication the most! I am very happy for an opportunity to participate in this course, and look forward to joining more of them. Thank you Prof. Schweitzer for your knowledge!

par Lucy L

Apr 14, 2020

I finished this course in two days. The information is applicable to every area of life. Super accessible and instructor conveyed information in a pleasant and mild manner. I highly recommend this course to everyone. It will definitely enrich and open up your engagement with the world.

par Sharad A

Nov 10, 2019

Excellent material on important topics that are usually taken for granted or dealt with intuitively, and often incorrectly. A highly recommended course to better understand the way of the world, and equip oneself to deal with it, and transform it to a global good.

par Gary S

Apr 28, 2020

Excellent. This is definitely less about actual communication and more about the strategy of what, when, how, and why to communicate. You won't learn to write better or make flashier presentations but you will learn how to have more impact through communication.

par Michele C

Oct 08, 2017

I really enjoyed the course.

I have learn smooch about communication by considering my counterpart first and also by considering her/his implicit communication.

Most of the topics touched in the course are very helpful in my daily working life.

Thank you for that.

par Shapkina E

Mar 24, 2019

That was a challenging course. A lot of new vocabulary and course by itself took a lot attention and time from me. I am happy I completed it and I wish now to read all notes and start applying knowledge in practice. Thanks for this course. Regards, Elizaveta.

par Hrishikesh

Oct 10, 2017

Brilliant course. Coming from the field of design, these communication skills are extremely important when dealing with clients and with users. The instructor provided plenty of examples to explain the concepts he was teaching. The load was not heavy either!

par Kristine B

Apr 16, 2020

This is the most engaging online course I've taken. For me it was like reading a good book. I couldn’t put it down. The real-life stories and examples were fascinating and provided a way for me to remember what I learned. I highly recommend!

par Ravi V B

May 20, 2020

Many many thanks to the professor for this excellent training. After working in the industry so many years, i could learn a lot on this course. I am grateful to this training and the professor. The program was well structured and easy to learn.

par Nicholas J S

Apr 09, 2020

Very informative. Explained in a way that is practical and used in every day communications. I found examples to be very interesting and related. Very interested to think about these situations listening to our leader at staff meetings!

par Anthony M

Mar 03, 2018

I enjoyed taking this course. It is a good survey/overview of the topic. You'll probably be looking for more detailed courses or references after this one. The instructor speaks clearly, is entertaining, and is easy to understand.

par Muhammad F F

Aug 13, 2017

It was very interesting and very informative Course, normally we do these thing is our daily personal and professional life but this course let me understand to do it in proper way and order to achieve success and credibility.

par Zen M

Dec 21, 2018

Wonderful course material! Videos and lecture slides offered excellent insights into human behavior, particularly deception and apologies. This class is a must for anyone looking to communicate with large groups at scale!

par Arif M

Apr 04, 2018

Very good learning... I think there are lots of story in a single lesson which makes me confused some situations and points. May be its happen only to me but i think you should construct the course layout more simply

par Leona C C Y

Nov 25, 2017

I love the systematic and organized structure, content and context, the knowledge of communication skills are useful and practical, I will make the best use of them into my daily life. Thank you Professor Maurice!

par Isabelle W

Mar 03, 2019

I think the content of the course will probably be different to what you thought it would, but it's definitely worthy of trying. Really useful and easy to comprehend, especially with proper amounts of examples.

par Olesia A

Mar 03, 2018

The crucial concepts of social interactions are covered and some applications are discussed. I like the fact that professors draws upon examples from politics, criminal justice, international relations.