Chevron Left
Retour à Visual Elements of User Interface Design

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Visual Elements of User Interface Design par California Institute of the Arts

4.7
étoiles
4,661 évaluations
1,144 avis

À propos du cours

This design-centric course examines the broad question of what an interface is and what role a designer plays in creating a user interface. Learning how to design and articulate meaning using color, type, and imagery is essential to making interfaces function clearly and seamlessly. Through a series of lectures and visual exercises, you will focus on the many individual elements and components that make up the skillset of an interface designer. By the end of this course, you will be able to describe the key formal elements of clear, consistent, and intuitive UI design, and apply your learned skills to the design of a static screen-based interface. This is the first course in the UI/UX Design Specialization, which brings a design-centric approach to user interface (UI) and user experience (UX) design, and offers practical, skill-based instruction centered around a visual communications perspective, rather than on one focused on marketing or programming alone. These courses are ideal for anyone with some experience in graphic or visual design and who would like to build their skill set in UI or UX for app and web design. It would also be ideal for anyone with experience in front- or back-end web development or human-computer interaction and want to sharpen their visual design and analysis skills for UI or UX....

Meilleurs avis

BB
31 mars 2020

This course is very useful for a beginner who is looking for the basics of UI/UX course.\n\nThis course will give you the basic idea of interface design which very important for its advanced studies.

JN
20 nov. 2018

I never thought this is possible. I am very grateful to Coursera and Calarts. This is a starting milestone to changing my career life for better. I am ready to pursue more and more with your support.

Filtrer par :

1126 - 1150 sur 1,156 Avis pour Visual Elements of User Interface Design

par molavi y

24 déc. 2021

it was really good I enjoyed

par Siddhesh H

1 août 2020

Good, but not up to the mark

par Maria A

23 févr. 2019

excelente

par Federica N

24 août 2021

nice

par Yash R S

29 mai 2021

good

par Madhu S

5 juin 2021

Lectures covered just the basics of UI design. Instructor did not put in any effort to grade or even view the students' projects. You *can* audit the course without paying, but then your project will not be reviewed by your peers. I made the mistake of paying for the course, and in return got completely worthless peer review.

All assignments (except an initial quiz) of this course are graded by peer review - and it is pretty much the luck of the draw who reviews your work, how much they care and know about the subject. I would not sign up for a peer graded course on Coursera again.

par Kaniesha W

21 janv. 2021

I honestly didn't enjoy this course at all. I found the videos to not be organized well; they were repetitive and speculative. One video trying to teach you one thing could be 10 minutes long just because of the slow, agonizing pace and unnecessary and often unrelated examples. I also believe the peer review system is flawed and not very helpful, especially for a course-long project. If we're all trying to learn something, why are we grading someone else's work? It doesn't make sense. As much as I want to continue with web design, I won't be doing it with this specialization.

par Jacques L C

22 avr. 2020

Not impressed with course content after reading books like "Don't make me think!" by Steve Krug. I think it misses the point of design patterns implemented in UI libraries like Bootstrap or Material. Peer reviews do not work well on these projects. There is apparently a high degree a subjectivity that influences notation. As other courses on Coursera, I suggest you require 5 reviews and discard the lowest and highest.

par Cullyn N

13 juil. 2020

Pretty bad, almost dated. Some general information relevant but I've seen much better youtube videos.

Awful and pointless assignments really made this course not enjoyable. I'm not interested in learning applications in order to complete it. I was just after the learning concepts in order to apply them to build sites with frameworks like angular.

par Jessica C

20 sept. 2021

This course started out good by when I had to redo and assignment for a class I failed it still has not been graded and I asked serveral times over the last two weeks. I feel like I am being ignored so that I will pay for another subscription. If this continued I will not continue with any further certifications.

par Adit G

7 juin 2020

Do not buy this course/ specialization. The only person grading your work is some random peer who most likely doesn't care about your assignment and will give you zero for everything. Read the 3 star reviews before you buy.

par Vinit P

23 mai 2020

the course is well structured but no matter, if you submit before deadline lack of reviews, might slow down your progress

par Pavel G K

21 août 2021

A lot of water. The only plus is the ability to come up with your own application

par ARJUN R

13 avr. 2020

Peer grading is inconsistent and time consuming.

par Mouhamd a

11 oct. 2020

Very easy course

par Stephon W

7 août 2020

This course needs a lot of work. It's a good run down of UI/UX but it needs more parameters letting everyone work on various different platforms is dumb. You'll have people completing work on Figma and some in illustrator at various skill levels making peer reviewing pointless. There should be requirement that you have to use illustrator and photoshop no exepction and give a discount code to people without it. There should be a level of standard to get this certification that doesn't seem so .. easy. I think creating a barrier of entry of completing other certificates of design could change the distance learning landscape forever but also allow people to really develop. Also the curriculum is also terribly lazy. Just my opinion though.

par Harsh S

26 août 2020

The course mentions that this is an introductory course with no prerequisites, however, if you do not know how to use designing tools such as InDesign on Sketch, it's tough to complete the course. The course also relies on peer-reviewing assignments that I feel are the worst. The graders don't do their job properly and reduce points for no reason. When the TAs are asked about it, they have a standard response to these problems but no solution. Absolutely not worth the time and effort.

par Melissa Q

20 juin 2020

This course's lessons emphasize very abstract notions, without much specific guidance. I grew tired of hearing the instructor's videos rambling on and on without much substance. Instead, you get a lot of vague, entry-level ponderings, phrases such as "what you've got to think about is..." or "you have to make decisions about..." As much as this course likes to bill itself as "hands on" or project-based learning, you aren't going to get there through the instructional content.

par Ann N

13 avr. 2021

The course description should be updated to include the software requirements.

I enrolled in this course so that I could make better screen mockups using the tool that I currently use. I didn't know from the course description that it requires the use of specific software, which is too expensive for someone not pursuing a full time career in UX design. I had no choice but to abandon the course without learning anything.

par Cande. F

22 févr. 2021

The teachers do not correct your assignments at any time, they do not verify the comments of other students about you project and perhaps there are not even constructive comments of your work.

I feel very disappointed.

par Rae L

1 mars 2021

I was hoping to learn stronger foundational skills as a UI/UX designer that was not classically trained in this discipline, but I feel as though this course is almost *too* surface level.

par Gonzalo S F C

3 mai 2021

The course is great, but the students do not follow the criteria in order to put you a grade in your task. This was not only my problem but others too.

par Przemek S

24 sept. 2021

Some asian guys that even doesnt know english just smash "No" and type "Ok" under your peer review assignments and support doesnt care bout it

par Mefaret A

21 sept. 2020

this was one of the worst and the most inefficient courses I have taken.

par Deleted A

19 août 2020

Borring way to present the course, i cannot continue with this.