Chevron Left
Retour à Comprendre la violence

Avis et commentaires pour l'étudiant pour Comprendre la violence par Université Emory

4.5
119 notes
34 avis

À propos du cours

We are so pleased to have you join us as we investigate this crucial topic. Violence is a leading cause of death, disability and health care use worldwide. Violence is a complex problem and can only be understood and reduced though a multidisciplinary approach. This course introduces you to experts who study different forms of violence and we will discuss the various causes of violence. You will also learn about efforts to reduce violence and engage in a day of compassion. We are very fortunate that PRESIDENT JIMMY CARTER is participating in our course. He delivers a lecture on the efforts of the Carter Center to end violence around the world, and he engages in a discussion with us about his life and work in human rights. Do join us for short videos, readings and discussions. And also see our coffee chats, where we (Pamela and Deb) summarize and reflect on each module. And we want to hear from you! Feel free to reach out via Twitter or through the course, or through our Facebook Page: https://www.facebook.com/groups/understandingviolence01/....

Meilleurs avis

CB

Jul 15, 2019

This course is really helping me to understand what is violence and the different types of violence. It is inline with the research I am presently undertaking.

SP

Apr 09, 2018

Very much informative.. this course may help in understanding complex behavior n could help in various aspect relating violence.

Filtrer par :

1 - 25 sur 34 Examens pour Comprendre la violence

par Christopher Z

Jun 24, 2016

This course provides a very broad understanding of violence prevalent in the United States and globally. Statistics and critical self-reflection points are provided throughout the course. If you're looking for a course to challenge your views of violence or, simply, to enhance your knowledge of the subject matter, this course is for you.

par Simona M

Feb 05, 2019

The title of the course is misleading, focusing almost exclusively on GBV, gang violence and shooting incidents in the US and leaving out other important forms of violence, like war, terrorism and some general historical, statistical and global dynamics. Gang violence or shooting incidents are relevant in the US, but not in most other countries. While gender based violence is incredibly important, it is not the only type of violence and in this case the focus should be added in the title of the course. The title promises a global perspective on dynamics of violence, but the course adopts almost exclusively a public health approach, which is by far not sufficient for discussing such a broad phenomenon as is violence.

par Juan G F C

Jan 04, 2019

Excellent well prepared!

par Shampa I

Feb 12, 2019

This course is truly meant for me. I did enjoy every lesson I got here. All videos,lessons and assignments are so thoughtful . I am grateful for offering such dynamic that is helpful for future pursuit, too.

par Ashlee M (

Sep 20, 2017

Very informative and interesting. Learned some great new concepts and how different types of violence impact others.

par Alice H S

Feb 27, 2017

Excellent course!

par Christine D

May 28, 2017

I REALLY enjoyed this course. It contained a vast amount of information on a variety of topics. It was wonderful to have so many different speakers presenting information. The objectives and requirements were clear and reasonable. It would have been nice to have an alternate to completing a peer review for someone who was significantly ahead of schedule, but I understand the value of peer reviews and why they would be particularly beneficial to the learning goals of this course.

par Paco M

Apr 03, 2017

The course is very thorough. It covers so many different fields and gives you a good idea at how broad violence is. It's approach is different and effective. The course is something I'd highly recommend especially if you are someone who's profession deals with violence in some shape or form.

par POONAM B

Apr 29, 2017

very useful course

par TOGBOSSI M K

May 30, 2017

Parfait cours bien creusé, bien détaillé et bien dispensé par des Prof chevronnés! Tous les aspects y sont abordés. Chapeau tiré!

par Alican B

Sep 08, 2017

A brilliant beneficial course covering different aspects of violence and methods of both prevention and also possible ways to deal with after effects of violence. If you are interested in unsolved parts of human violence and why it emerges pervasively then you should take this course to gain enlightening perspectives about that topic. No matter what you do and what you study, this course is available for anyone who wants to know more about violence to the core. Good luck!

par Kimble P

Jun 05, 2017

I have trained and work in the branch of violence and its survivors. This is the first Coursera course I have taken and have been totally satisfied with both the presentation and the material. I did not do the paid version so I cannot comment on the peer review process. I hope the material will be updated with the new situation of a USA president disenfranchising many projects and fomenting much fear from the White House. I have already shared a few of the videos with colleagues and friends, which hopefully will make them curious enough to start. I appreciated the layout of the course and was happy that it ended on a positive note of inroads being made. I am particularly happy to know about "Men Stopping Violence" group. Emory University really looks like a forward thinking institution.

par Bob M

Aug 04, 2016

ready to get into the nitty gritty

par Stephanie J G

Feb 07, 2017

This is an important class for one and all.

par Ahmer J K

May 02, 2017

Excellent course! Great opportunity to express yourself with a video in the final peer reviewed assignment!

par Shobhraj S P

Apr 09, 2018

Very much informative.. this course may help in understanding complex behavior n could help in various aspect relating violence.

par Jenna-Lee

Apr 02, 2017

An excellent course!

par Eleazar B J

Aug 20, 2017

This is a very interesting course that allow us not only to understand the roots of violence, but also some situations and conditions violence occurs in other regions and within other cultures around the world.

par Karin C

Feb 17, 2018

This course gave me the tools for a better understanding of violence. Thank you for this opportunity!

par Ismael A N T

May 30, 2019

Excellent course!

par Candido B

Jul 15, 2019

This course is really helping me to understand what is violence and the different types of violence. It is inline with the research I am presently undertaking.

par MAMBA L M

Sep 27, 2017

This is a wornderful course as it teach what violance is and what can cause violance

par Sean b

Apr 24, 2018

A good basic course on the ideas and understanding of violence. Beginners in the study of violence can learn much from this course

par Kristin C

Apr 20, 2017

I very much enjoyed the course assignments.

par Marlen T

Jun 22, 2016

Excellent course. It makes you analyze yourself own thoughts and ideas about violence.