Chevron Left
Retour à World Design for Video Games

Avis et commentaires pour l'étudiant pour World Design for Video Games par California Institute of the Arts

4.4
532 notes
134 avis

À propos du cours

Start creating your world. A game world is not just a backdrop for your game—be it minimal or detailed, contained or part of a much bigger universe, it provides the context for your player. Ultimately, a game world should feel alive and wholly unique to any player who will experience it. In this course, we will explore game worlds in existing games and study the art and influences that inform their themes and styles. We will also investigate key components of environment and level design as well as strategies designers use to define gameplay or advance it. We’ll also look at navigation and the elements that make your world as real (or unreal) as you want it to be. A weekly challenge will prompt you to explore styles and inspirations for possible game worlds, and you’ll learn effective ways to communicate your ideas from concepts to presentation-worthy proofs of concept....

Meilleurs avis

RC

Jan 23, 2019

I'm not a effective learner so I can't get much from it, but I certainly learn some rules for building world, I would review these contents some days, thank you so much for your teaching!

TT

Feb 07, 2018

The videos are nice and clear, and I love seeing examples for the homework, it really helped. I also loved reviewing my peers and having them review me, they had awesome ideas!

Filtrer par :

1 - 25 sur 126 Examens pour World Design for Video Games

par Ran C

Jan 23, 2019

I'm not a effective learner so I can't get much from it, but I certainly learn some rules for building world, I would review these contents some days, thank you so much for your teaching!

par 刘树宇

Oct 03, 2016

This course is very good and you can learn a lot of knowledge.Then you can design a better game.

par Eduardo G L L

Oct 02, 2016

Amazing course to get ideas for your world designs

par Jessica H

Jun 23, 2017

Great course to think of the world you want to create and its limitations.

The plus? You don't have to know how to code or to draw well! (I did all my assignments on Paint and my characters were basically stick figures)

The most important is to think of your world, its structure, its boundaries, and the way your characters interact within it.

par Aron A

Oct 18, 2016

Great course! A lot of new and useful stuff. I really enjoyed another part of Game Design: Art and Concepts Specialization. Keep up the great work, guys!

par Jahleel K B

Aug 21, 2017

The best!

par Dustin C

Dec 05, 2015

Great class! Eye opening.

par whipexx

Mar 07, 2016

I loved this course.

par Rodrigo E

May 26, 2016

it's Fun and worth the time

par Valery

Nov 09, 2017

Very informative

par Sarah-Louise H

Mar 26, 2017

Great course!

par Quinn W

Jun 23, 2017

Wonderful course! Not a lot of theoretical information, but many, many great practical ideas to get a great world started.

Thank you so much for your willingness to do this MOOC. What an enlightening experience!

par 梁爽

Jan 19, 2018

So nice.

par Umair R

Aug 08, 2016

I m loving it

par José D A

Jan 27, 2016

I learned a lot in this course, it was very helpful. World design is key to defining your game.

par Yassine R E F

Jan 13, 2016

Learnt a lot. Thanks

par Jessica W

Dec 15, 2016

Definitely a challenging course but I enjoyed it very much and learned a lot!

par Tatum T

Feb 07, 2018

The videos are nice and clear, and I love seeing examples for the homework, it really helped. I also loved reviewing my peers and having them review me, they had awesome ideas!

par Lin J

Jun 05, 2016

The course material provide good reference and study for world design.

par 受 常

Aug 02, 2017

太棒拉

par Sergey K

Jan 18, 2016

Interesting and easily understandable! Thank you!

par Álvaro B F

Aug 30, 2016

A totally great course that makes clear the concepts we should be careful with when developing video games.

par Licinio S

Mar 19, 2018

great!

par Mufizul I

Jan 29, 2017

Great courses

par Nadya S

Dec 18, 2016

Before enrolling this course, I expected to obtain some technical skills for creating game environments by different software products, etc. I was surprised: this course teaches the future professionals to THINK ! One can't produce anything without know what he would make. This course will give you clear direction of your ideas about YOUR GAME environement. Like in the drawing: you should know what you would draw. Having the "color palette" is nothing without structuring in your mind your ideas, planning what you would do. Similarly is in my profession - architecture - there are some already graduated students who can only to draft what somebody else tells them to draft. This course will teach you how to create.