Chevron Left
Retour à Story and Narrative Development for Video Games

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Story and Narrative Development for Video Games par California Institute of the Arts

4.7
étoiles
1,074 évaluations

À propos du cours

In this course, you will examine how storytelling acts as a vital mechanism for driving video gameplay forward. Looking at several historical and contemporary games, you will be asked to evaluate and interpret different story styles with the goal of identifying themes and procedures for your own game ideas. We'll examine traditional narrative story processes, such as three-act structure, and how they fit into game story flows and the strategic elements of gameplay. Ultimately, you will learn how to define character, setting, and structure to create a compelling game concept....

Meilleurs avis

DA

6 nov. 2017

This is so helpful. It covers all the essentials of developing a good story, applicable in any form of media, then it focuses on converting the story to a game by adding interactive gameplay elements.

CS

30 déc. 2015

This is my favorite course ever. Dariush teaches in such an engaging way and it shows you how to have a creative yet objective and analyzed mindset for creating a story and narrative for a Video Game.

Filtrer par :

201 - 225 sur 261 Avis pour Story and Narrative Development for Video Games

par Nadezhda B

13 mai 2020

Super!

par Licínio S

19 mars 2018

great!

par Xavior T

18 nov. 2015

good

par Abdulaziz A A

13 déc. 2020

Ok

par Santiago D

19 janv. 2021

The information in the course and the presentations were interesting and well-explained. I wish we had more of an opportunity to get more educated feedback from people involved in the making of the course. While peer feedback can be useful, it's not nearly as in-depth and peers don't have the same context for the goals of the course (and what constitutes a complete/effective turn-in) than the professors. At least one final instance of that kind of feedback would be appreciated. If not, then asking more detailed questions about the work might help make peer feedback better. Perhaps give an opportunity to incentivize interaction rather than giving feedback to complete the task? Something like incorporating a response feature for the feedback or an option to chat with the person who gave it. I don't know, but I wish I could've gotten a bit more out of that.

par Jenny F

23 sept. 2016

I feel that the course was great but I felt confused on the last assignment, we covered a lot of things during the last week but then I was unsure if I should've applied that on our assignment... Also I'm not sure if it is possible but if we could have a chance to ask the teacher questions would be great. I know that there is a lot of people going this courses and maybe it is not possible but still there are things that I feel only the teacher could answer. Overall the course was good :)

par Kilian S

30 juin 2020

The course material was fine, I just imagined a bigger focus on narrative development *in videogames* not narrative development in general, which is like 70% of the course. I woudlve been interested in studying, how narrative design and mechanical design need to come together in video games.

I like the tasks that you get at the end of each week. They are fun and modular, allowing for little work, or quite the deep dive into the task, depending on what you want.

par Tsur D

3 oct. 2020

3 first weeks were pretty good, I oonly felt like there was not enough examples and reading materials, I also felt that the 4th week was too condense and unclear i went throguh the 4th week materials twice and didn't get a good sense of what are is expected of us in the last submission.. i improvised as best as i can but i belive the outcome was not good enough, we were suppossed to gamify the story but the instructions were not clear enogh on the how.

par Paul R

22 mai 2016

Enjoyable content and presentation but the coarse seemed very short compared to others I've taken. Not a criticism but rather and observation. If it was short on purpose that is one thing but I believe there is more to be said on this topic fundamentally and hope to see this course expanded or a second one produced.

I would like to that those involved int its creation.

par Julian A

29 oct. 2018

I love the material on this course, it really helps to improve. However, the peer evaluation system is the worse option for this course, only one person evaluates your work, and sometimes you must ask for help for the evaluation because no one will do it for default as its supposed to happen. Coursera needs to find a solution for this.

par sean o

15 juil. 2017

At the end of the course I'm happy with it. I learnt about structure of stories and how they can be implemented in games, how to help people connect emotionally with a story and characters. I think the beginning was a little weak. I didn't like any of the example stories and I know there are a lot of great stories out there.

par Marcus J

7 juil. 2020

This course taught me a lot of important story-writing essentials and brainstorming techniques. However, it didn't really shift into video game storytelling and what makes that medium different until the very last project. I feel like the course could have gone more in depth about writing techniques specific to video games.

par Tania A

22 nov. 2015

The contents were comprehensive, and the assignments helped reinforce the theory. By using pre-existing references to other works, they were tighter, which I think is useful to focus on the objectives set for a particular week. Some additional creative freedom would also have been interesting.

par Deleted A

25 nov. 2015

Assignments are good-intended, but I am not sure how helpful they are, as they are really boring and unnecessarily time-consuming. I do not know how could one make them better. In contrast, the videos are really good, they are worth your time even if you know your way around these things.

par Sarah P

19 nov. 2015

I really enjoyed this course, The only thing I would have liked to have learned more about was how to do Game Design Documents and how they are made. I would have liked to have seen more examples as well as how to do these examples as well.

Thank you, I learned a lot.

Sarah Prewitt

par Juan U G C

11 août 2021

it was good but i think more visual elements would have been pretty cool. Also more examples of official documents that they use in big studios, those are pretty cool but i would like some more.

par VANSH P

12 juil. 2020

The course is really good and really educational and i would recommend people about it. Though the thing that i didn't like was that i wanted some more examples for different types of games.

par Alexey Z

14 mars 2018

A very good course to a beginner with no education in script-writing. A good relation to game industry. Interesting methods of organizing your work. Good cooperation with classmates

par Ramon M L

9 mars 2016

I learned good stuff. i gave four star because there could be more content some parts were written instead of a lecture. But i will recommend this course.

par Büşra T

14 nov. 2021

It was an enjoyable course. maybe better ideas could be given on how to start writing the story because sometimes you don't know where to start.

par W B

28 mars 2019

I really enjoyed this course and the instructors materials, I just wish we were given the chance to work on our own games in the assignments.

par Mateus F

2 avr. 2016

Makes you think. Interesting for any developer or anyone intested in narratives as a whole. Really nice exercises and lists too!

par John L N d S

28 oct. 2016

It was a great course and I`ve learned a lot with him!

I recommend for all student who want to get start on game design area.

par Marina Z

1 août 2016

Course materials are a little bit obvious, but I really like the original version of The Shooter and Jane's personality

par Jorge T

16 mai 2016

The course is fun, but as the previous part of the specialization a bit simple for what it charges for the certificate.