Chevron Left
Retour à Story and Narrative Development for Video Games

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Story and Narrative Development for Video Games par California Institute of the Arts

4.7
étoiles
1,074 évaluations

À propos du cours

In this course, you will examine how storytelling acts as a vital mechanism for driving video gameplay forward. Looking at several historical and contemporary games, you will be asked to evaluate and interpret different story styles with the goal of identifying themes and procedures for your own game ideas. We'll examine traditional narrative story processes, such as three-act structure, and how they fit into game story flows and the strategic elements of gameplay. Ultimately, you will learn how to define character, setting, and structure to create a compelling game concept....

Meilleurs avis

DA

6 nov. 2017

This is so helpful. It covers all the essentials of developing a good story, applicable in any form of media, then it focuses on converting the story to a game by adding interactive gameplay elements.

CS

30 déc. 2015

This is my favorite course ever. Dariush teaches in such an engaging way and it shows you how to have a creative yet objective and analyzed mindset for creating a story and narrative for a Video Game.

Filtrer par :

251 - 261 sur 261 Avis pour Story and Narrative Development for Video Games

par Kristen F

16 août 2017

This was ok, but not really for me. I feel like this can be very helpful for some who struggle with story and narrative writing, but for those who have taken courses and studied this already, it was repetitive and tiresome.

par Татьяна Т

18 févr. 2022

I'm disapointed. Basic knowleges of drama structure, making characters. And 0 about narrative mecanics. If You are already screenwriter or writer You will find nothing new.

par M L W

16 oct. 2016

Concepts are interesting, the assignments are not. Writing and re-writing about the teacher's generic game example. Not much opportunity to work on your own content.

par Tatiana W

20 sept. 2018

Great course content but only 3 stars because after being finished for over a month I am still waiting for someone to review my final assignment.

par Juan C D M

24 déc. 2015

The course is ok, but it doesn't give any certificate of completition for free users (something that many other courses do give).

par Deborah M M

19 nov. 2015

Good overview of narrative and a breakdown of key story elements such as character and setting.

par レヷブレート サ

14 mai 2016

The material is OK, but it just felt so boring

par adrian s

16 août 2021

The contents is very good, but the time flow management is very poor. The whole point of taking an online course (at least for me) is to do things when I want to. I see grading really following the deadlines ... even when I submit the homework early. Now, if this is an "intelligent" way to make sure people are on the platform long enough to pay some minimum target fee, then charge more from the beginning, but don't waste my time.

Otherwise, maybe peer review is not that efficient. The two star rating is because time is the most valuable resource for any person.

par Francisco N

3 déc. 2015

The content is good but is too focus in the 3 act structure, and don't explain the narration techniques specifically to videogames genres. The assignments were too repetitives and don't add variety or feeling of progression through the course. I recommend the course for who don't know the basis of the narrative structure, but not for people like me who work in the audiovisual world.

par Davide

9 févr. 2016

Such a boring course. No challenge at all, no meaningful example, and in the end seems that everybody grade without any reason. I don't think I'll finish the specialization, it's too expensive for such a poor quality

par Viola B

27 sept. 2016

I don't feel like I learned a whole lot, there wasn't a lot of new information presented.