Chevron Left
Retour à Story and Narrative Development for Video Games

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Story and Narrative Development for Video Games par California Institute of the Arts

4.7
étoiles
779 évaluations
187 avis

À propos du cours

In this course, you will examine how storytelling acts as a vital mechanism for driving video gameplay forward. Looking at several historical and contemporary games, you will be asked to evaluate and interpret different story styles with the goal of identifying themes and procedures for your own game ideas. We'll examine traditional narrative story processes, such as three-act structure, and how they fit into game story flows and the strategic elements of gameplay. Ultimately, you will learn how to define character, setting, and structure to create a compelling game concept....

Meilleurs avis

CS

Dec 31, 2015

This is my favorite course ever. Dariush teaches in such an engaging way and it shows you how to have a creative yet objective and analyzed mindset for creating a story and narrative for a Video Game.

DA

Nov 07, 2017

This is so helpful. It covers all the essentials of developing a good story, applicable in any form of media, then it focuses on converting the story to a game by adding interactive gameplay elements.

Filtrer par :

1 - 25 sur 178 Avis pour Story and Narrative Development for Video Games

par Breanne C

Sep 07, 2018

My problems are moreso regarding my peers, as the course itself is fantastic, and this presenter is by far the most enjoyable to listen to and therefore easiest to absorb information from.

The bulk of the assignments being submitted by my peers shows little to no effort at all (a shocking quantity of which being directly copy-pasted from Wikipedia or outright blank fields), and yet my own assignments are being nit-picked to a disheartening degree. Enthusiasm and attempting to go above and beyond the requirements is frequently punished, and if I'm busy due to work or focusing on other courses and end up needing to submit later, I've had assignments reviewed by a single person; since there are no additional opinions to provide an average, my entire grade hinges on the opinions of a sole peer. I feel that assignments shouldn't be allowed to be counted as graded until they receive a set amount of reviews to allow for a peer average. We're students, so no single one of us is qualified to be a end-all-be-all judge of one another.

I feel that I must scrutinize Coursera itself in that this is a poorly-balanced system of grading, which should in all honesty be done by faculty. Seeing as how we're not paying for staff to perform the grading, I fail to see how this merits an ongoing subscription when the experience is equitable to purchasing a DVD set and book on a DIY course which one could share with a friend and turn to one another for peer review, without the looming stressor of arbitrary deadlines.

This is very disappointing.

par Vincent d P

Mar 07, 2016

I found that the portion of the class that taught story-telling was painfully over simplified. I learned nothing and felt no challenge whatsoever, in fact, I felt as though I was rehashing information from a 9th grade English class (no hyperbole). The other component of this class was learning how to create documents that you could use to pitch your game to developers. I found this component to be useful, but it could have easily been compressed into a single week if not a single lecture. There is no real accountability when it comes to grading work, as work is peer graded and students grade capriciously without regard for the criteria laid out in the lecture. In other words, most students responded to how cool or interesting they found my assignments, without regard for the weekly lecture or the grading criteria. It often felt as though the lectures didn't matter at all. Right when the class begins to introduce a more robust tour of laying out a game story, it suddenly ends. This class is only useful to students who are interested in an area of game design besides writing and who are taking the whole series anyway. If you are seriously interested in writing, this class will have little value for you and I would recommend skipping it.

par Dolapo A

Nov 07, 2017

This is so helpful. It covers all the essentials of developing a good story, applicable in any form of media, then it focuses on converting the story to a game by adding interactive gameplay elements.

par Rodolfo E S

Feb 20, 2016

The course develops skills in communicating video game narratives and weaving these into the overall structure of the game. The strategy hinges on a series of outlines--taught with examples and exercises--that eventually fit together in a comprehensive design document, which allows a designer/writer to organize ideas and make them comprehensible and engaging for potential readers. The examples used are great, covering games both simple and complex; and the exercises grow gradually less structured, ensuring that the skills necessary to develop an idea from scratch are gained along the way.

par Diego

Nov 22, 2016

Well the course helped me to learn and practice how to develop a couple of characters briefly in order to start writting a story. It teaches a good scheme to follow and a method to achieve it succesfully.

What I lack most from this courses in Coursera is to receive more feedback, specially feedback from people who has some advanced knowledge in the field, like the teacher. I wouldn't mind to pay the course if I would have this kind of speciallized feedback, but so far I am happy with the free version of the course.

par Garrett R W

Apr 25, 2019

I really enjoyed this course, and I felt that it helped me see video games from a story-first perspective. I especially liked the concept of "idea sheets" and feel I will apply that to many areas of my creative life. While this class may focus on the foundations of creating stories for games, the structure and guidelines that it provides the writer are invaluable. It is a lot easier to start writing when you break things up as this course shows. Really great experience!

par Juan P R R

Apr 10, 2018

The assignments were a bit repetitive, and a little too demanding in my opinion (maybe because I'm not a native english speaker)

But mainly: it was a big turn off to not be able to work with the actual idea I had in mind and be forced to work with the shooter game, I understand its purpose but I would have really liked to work on my own concept and receive feedback.

Other than that, the course was very rich, and the lectures easy and solid!

par Ankush S

Apr 28, 2020

There was a lot that I was not aware of before starting this course. I didn't know how to get a story become a part of the game, I didn't know how to start/end writing enough content to depict my characters well enough. The assignments included were sure long, but gave me a good practice to understand and learn at the same time, "what makes your game compelling" and definitely, one part of it is the game story!!

par Cathe B

Oct 20, 2016

Once upon a time, Calarts was my grad school, and I got the MFA gladly. Years later, I needed to up my skills, and I discovered Coursera had many of the classes I wanted to take-- and now I feel like my MFA is an MFA+. This course is very good for both the writer and the game maker- and more to the point- it is a great breakdown of what is a good storytelling device. Highly recommended.

par Gianmarco D

Oct 28, 2017

Dariush really nails all the explanations for putting creative ideas into process. I personally love storytelling and I'd like to enter the industry doing this, specifically, I found a lot of material to think about and reflect on the tasks at hand, all wrapped up by an instructor that clearly put passion and effort in conveying this course to us learners. Very happy with this

par Luis A

Feb 02, 2019

Una buena introducción a la narrativa aplicada a los videojuegos. Muy práctica. No es excesivamente profunda, pero muy recomendable precisamente porque admite a alumnos de casi todos los niveles.

A good introduction to the narrative applied to video games. Very practical. It is not excessively deep, but I highly recommend it precisely because it admits students of all levels.

par Melody Z

Sep 03, 2019

This course is very well designed and presented with a balanced amount of video and reading. Weekly assignment is a great way to put what I learned into practice. Without assignment, the whole experience wouldn't be consolidated, so I really appreciate the opportunity to do assignment and receive peer feedback from coursera.

par Denisse M L M

Nov 06, 2017

Great course with good information and tips on how to develop the story for your game. I would have preferred if the last two assignments were open on the theme of the game as I don't like shooting games that much, but I had the chance to practice the techniques explained in the course and enjoyed reviewing my peer's work.

par Benjamin B H

Jan 31, 2016

This was an excellent course, and gives a lot of insight and techniques to develop a good and intriguing story. What I liked the most was how the story would be implemented with the gameplay. I recommend this course to anyone that doesn't know how exactly to develop a good story, or is starting with VG design.

par Mitchell B

May 12, 2020

This course was a much-improved step up from the first course. The information felt instantly translatable to the type of work I want to do. Designing character backstories, synopsis, and gameplay overview was fascinating and something that I'll reference frequently in my own work.

par Niam I

Mar 06, 2016

I am enjoying this course a lot. As a storyteller with screenwriting experience, it is interesting to learn of how the story dynamics work in the world of Game Design. Dariush is an engaging teacher and he provides a lot of good material to work with, as well as references.

par Fernando S M

Nov 25, 2015

This is a good course for both who is starting as for those who already have a knowledge and seek advice and new ideas to develop stories for games.

However, I think that is ideal for everyone who wanted to learn how to communicate for team the idea of the game.

par 高飞

Apr 25, 2018

这个课程非常有趣,而且能够扩展你的写作技巧。不仅仅是制作游戏,有志于成为专业作家的学生也可以尝试学习一下。注意:有少量课程的视频没有中文字幕,中国学生可能会有一些理解困难。

This course is very interesting and can expand your writing skills. Not just making games, students who are interested in becoming professional writers can also try to learn.

par Oleg P

Nov 07, 2015

It is more interesting course that I thought it to be, and the teacher, Dariush Derakhshani, is a very clever and charismatic person. He makes the student thinks for themselves, and the interesting assignments help them to foster their creative abilities.

par Farnoud F

Jan 30, 2016

This Course helped me a whole lot in process of writing and how to break down the process for better performance. I really liked how easy and well sorted were the Content of the course and how the assignment was purposely designed for that week.

par Joshua v d V

Oct 22, 2018

This course helped me learn the basics of storytelling, and I felt that with only 20 hours spent on this course I have grown a lot in this department. I would recommend this course to anyone who's into storytelling for video games.

par Laurene S

Feb 14, 2017

This is a very interesting course to learn the essentials of creating characters and stories that are captivating for the players, and how to ensure that your story works as a game. I really liked the assignement marked by peers.

par Jhon S R M

May 25, 2020

I really like the course, the feedback with other people really help, and although its a problem when there isn't sufficient people, in general i think that the course is good.

PS: the teacher is really good, I learnt a lot!

par Bojan P

Jan 27, 2016

This course is amazing for everyone who wants to learn more about story writing and presenting it, which than can be used for video games, but also for anything else as well.

Great course, my best recommendations.

par Alexandra

Oct 21, 2015

I was pretty upset by finding out there will be no Fran at this course, but Dariush is an amazing teacher too! I love how the material presents and exercises and examples are very interesting! 5 stars, no doubts!