Chevron Left
Retour à Story and Narrative Development for Video Games

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Story and Narrative Development for Video Games par California Institute of the Arts

4.7
étoiles
1,053 évaluations
261 avis

À propos du cours

In this course, you will examine how storytelling acts as a vital mechanism for driving video gameplay forward. Looking at several historical and contemporary games, you will be asked to evaluate and interpret different story styles with the goal of identifying themes and procedures for your own game ideas. We'll examine traditional narrative story processes, such as three-act structure, and how they fit into game story flows and the strategic elements of gameplay. Ultimately, you will learn how to define character, setting, and structure to create a compelling game concept....

Meilleurs avis

DA

6 nov. 2017

This is so helpful. It covers all the essentials of developing a good story, applicable in any form of media, then it focuses on converting the story to a game by adding interactive gameplay elements.

CS

30 déc. 2015

This is my favorite course ever. Dariush teaches in such an engaging way and it shows you how to have a creative yet objective and analyzed mindset for creating a story and narrative for a Video Game.

Filtrer par :

51 - 75 sur 256 Avis pour Story and Narrative Development for Video Games

par Piotr K

8 mars 2021

It is an interesting course for someone who loves writing as there is a lot to write, If you like creative writing or storytelling you should for sure do this course.

par Denis P

5 avr. 2020

This is an absolutely stunning course, I feel like I've learnt a huge amount about narrative architecture, pacing, character development and gamification. Thank you!

par Devin C

14 déc. 2015

Big fan of the last two assignments. Re-writing the game was fun, and made it more interactive with the rest of the class, seeing how others would change the story.

par Prakarsh D

7 sept. 2020

Helped me a lot in building story for my game. A great short course for understanding narrative development in video games. Highly recommended for game designers.

par Xavier E

22 avr. 2020

Great great great great course ! Dariush is very passionate about giving it, and the whole structure of his teaching is absolutely brilliant !!! MILLION THANKS !

par Guo T

3 sept. 2017

Love how you dedicate yourself in the course making, great interpretation over the making of a story, and how they can developed into a game. Most grateful!

par Andrew T

6 déc. 2015

This course is pretty cool. I actually learned a lot about analyzing narratives and writing that I hadn't really considered before... It's totally worth it.

par Sohaila A

11 mars 2019

i really loved every single bit of it. i loved the topics discussed, the way i was taught to think and get the ideas out so thanks alot. you are great.

par Wallace N O

22 févr. 2016

It was not easy, I admit... but it was an awesome course, after this one i finished the four courses and I'm totally happy with everything I learned!!!

par Ekaterina S

28 févr. 2018

Loved the coarse and especially the teacher! Was a real pleasure to listen to such a well constructed lectures. And the assignments very interesting.

par Sofiya

16 mars 2021

this was my first course experience in the coursea. I am delighted. thanks to the whole team and the instructor. I really like this training format

par Nitzan Z

11 janv. 2021

Fantastic course, really helpful. I just wished there was a summary of the course and the tips that were given throughout at the end of the course.

par Денис

21 janv. 2017

This is a great course! Very strong teacher and useful material. It's cool that you used in course for cases blizzard game Starcraft 2. I like it.

par Philipp v S

30 mars 2017

The course was very interesting and helpful! I learned a lot and the presented techniques are very helpful in all kinds of different projects!

par Reznikov F V

23 déc. 2020

I recommend this course, it gives a very great idea, as well as the skills of writing a game design document, and writing history in general.

par Filip R

1 mars 2016

The mentor is really good, he is great at explaining what he means and gives you a few great methods for writing. The peers were also great.

par Dimitar V

24 janv. 2016

I enjoyed the peer reviews and how the lecturer conveyed clearly how to express our thoughts to paper, or should i say screen. Great work !

par Rodrigo G d C

28 janv. 2016

Very good method of passing the knoledge and valuable material and tecnics to start or develop your writing skills, great course, love it!

par Abhishek M

14 nov. 2016

This course helped me a lot in polishing my plot for the game. It is must course. Enjoyed ever lessen and enjoyed doing the assignments.

par Paulina M D M

27 déc. 2015

Very easy to follow and quite useful, not only for games but for designing user experiences because it focuses on how to engage people.

par Aron A

22 sept. 2016

Awesome experience, and really useful, well-packed, and valuable insight into story and narrative development for video games. Thanks!

par Aliaksandr Z

1 nov. 2021

I loved this course. Although I knew a lot, it was very helpful to repeat and do the exercises at the end of the modules. Thank you!

par Andres M

26 oct. 2015

The course topic are well explain and easy to understand, the videos are well directed, and the creative exercises are pretty cool.

par Gab A

10 mars 2018

A great course full of ideas to be inspired and craft a well designed story. Very well taught as bonus and engaging, thanks !

par Jacobo O A

28 oct. 2020

I found the course very educational and interesting, the lessons are clear, and the assignments helped me grow in many ways.