Chevron Left
Retour à Design Thinking for Innovation

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Design Thinking for Innovation par Université de Virginie

4.6
étoiles
4,195 évaluations
1,293 avis

À propos du cours

Today innovation is everyone's business. Whether you are a manager in a global corporation, an entrepreneur starting up, in a government role, or a teacher in an elementary school, everyone is expected to get lean – to do better with less. And that is why we all need design thinking. At every level in every kind of organization, design thinking provides the tools you need to become an innovative thinker and uncover creative opportunities that are there – you're just not seeing them yet. In this course, we provide an overview of design thinking and work with a model containing four key questions and several tools to help you understand design thinking as a problem solving approach. We also look at several stories from different organizations that used design thinking to uncover compelling solutions....

Meilleurs avis

LM

Sep 23, 2019

I really liked the peer reviews at the end. It was a great way to view other examples of how different projects, industries, and teams have used design thinking. The course was easy to follow as well.

MV

Dec 01, 2016

As a design manager I should say this course actually opened my eyes to a new world. I hope be able to make good changes in my world by using this knowledge more and more in my life. Thanks to All :)

Filtrer par :

951 - 975 sur 1,271 Avis pour Design Thinking for Innovation

par Askar

Oct 11, 2018

The information and skills this course teaches are very useful and valuable. What I like the most, that the course shows how different companies and managers actually used these skills with careful and precise explanation.

I wish there were exercises where you can also try to use skills and knowledge you have gained throughout the course.

Also I find it very distracting that Jeanne Liedtka makes those creepy sounds with her lips and tongue between her lines. To be honest, it was quite a challenge to finish the course for me, because it made very uncomfortable. Of course maybe it's just me.

Thank you, team Coursera and team Darden for bringing this here!

par Mahshid Z

Sep 19, 2019

Almost anyone is sure to benefit from adopting a design thinking mindset and this course illustrates the discipline and how it works beautifully. I'd say if the concept sounds new to you, definitely enroll. However, take into consideration that it is mostly theoretical and there's only one assignment at the end of the course, which is also pear-reviewed. This means you're going to have little chance of practicing what you've learned and receiving enough and legit feedback. Having said that, the assignment and reviewing others' works was a challenging thought experiment and learning opportunity.

par Rob K

Jul 01, 2019

It was a nice overview to Design Thinking, with 3 or 4 practical and diverse examples of application. The course used a consistent framework for reference throughout. I also enjoyed the different options for learning - from video lectures, different lecturers, reading materials and final assignment. To improve, the course could have been more challenging by asking more specific questions (in the assignment) that require deeper research and critical thinking (i'm not sure I deserve a certificate at the end, but will take it!). Overall positive experience.

par FRANCISCO J C B

May 01, 2020

Es bueno. Tiene información y experiencias de profesionales que realmente son valiosas.

Ofrece un acercamiento al Design Thinking un tanto diferente al conocido actualmente, pero no es malo, al contrario, te da otra perspectiva para reflexionar y verlo de otra manera.

El único inconveniente que podría mencionar es la cantidad de información, es decir, es buena, pero a la vez poca, quizá podría ofrecer un poco mas o ahondar a detalle en las herramientas enseñadas, o actividades para consolidar estos conocimientos.

par Bianca M

Feb 26, 2018

I really liked the course, I just think it could dive deeper into other design tools that are used during the Design Thinking Process, instead of making use of a lot of videos explaining why Design Thinking is important. If you're watching the course is because you already consider this relevant. Show us how to work better with the whole process - a role play video would be awesome. Also, sometimes seemed that Jeanne was repeating herself too much. Other than that, great course for beginners. :)

par Ritika S

Feb 13, 2019

I think it's a good theoretical course. What would help is if one review of our work can be done by Professor herself instead of peers. I would like to get an expert feedback on my work and I am sure many think that way too. Also, that brings more credibility to course. I have taken multiple Coursera courses and this is one big flaw I found. The feedback loop between student and instructor is not being closed. I do believe this course has lot of potential and was really helpful.

Thank You!

par Robert D

Oct 25, 2017

I value the teachings in this course, not just for the introduction of some tools (e.g. visualization, mind-mapping, story telling, learning launch) but the contrast outlined between challenges that are puzzles and those that are mysteries. The differences between the approaches of George and Geoff for a mystery-type problem were illuminating, especially for a Six Sigma Black Belt. I appreciated the lesson reinforcement done in the way you structured the final quiz and its assessment.

par Caroline

Feb 22, 2016

Great course! It gave me some great new viewpoints from which to problem solve. The case studies were relevant and interesting, and the guest speakers were good as well. I wish discussions had been a little more structured - it was kind of a free-for-all which led to a lot of off-topic nonsense to weed through. After the second week, I really stopped checking in because it was too time consuming and that's a little sad. But that would be my only suggestion for improvement.

par Alamgir K

Aug 23, 2017

It would be great if participants who had completed their course content would at least get a certificate of participation or completions, as one cannot present the proof of him having gone through all the course content, and hence cannot claim having learned this amazing course.

Course was brilliant, but should focus on hands on experience, as while giving a lecture on HCD, i started to realize the intricate details which i wasn't aware of during the course.

par Thomas S J W

Sep 16, 2017

Wonderful videos and explanations from the guest field experts/consultants and examples of real life case studies, I really enjoyed the reflection assignment as it made me have to organise the creative process that I used to overcome a specific challenge on a project and get into the motions of the 4 W's in a way that I hadn't realised is natural. In a way, the information in this course is a cheat sheet into the creative process and how people do things.

par Juancho M

Jun 01, 2017

Excellent material as a started. Would be great to be able to count more on suggested articles and readings. As of the multimedia content itself, the videos could be a little bit more interactive. At various points it would be the instructor talking over a static slide, did not find it very pedagogic. Other than that, thumbs up for putting up one of the few courses available on Design Thinking out there on this platform. Cheers!

par Nikki K

Jul 31, 2016

I love the way the course was structured and how Professor Liedtka taught the class. She has a lot of knowledge to pass which is so invaluable to today's organizations. This class provided a great intro to design thinking and how we need creativity and a more human centered approach in today's organizations. The only thing I wish we had was supplemental material to download to help enhance the learning experience.

par Adam W

Feb 23, 2017

This course was incredibly interesting and opened my mind to thinking about life and problems differently! But the lectures were very conceptual and I felt myself waiting for the professor to go deeper into detail on the tools themselves and applying them to real world applications. A class that I can point to as a great example of this is the "Agile Meets Design Thinking" course from Darden.

par Andrr R S

Feb 28, 2020

I believe this is a great entry tool for design thinking. As a project manager, I believe this course helped me to understand better what design thinking is and also offered some knowledge of tools, that can be applied inmediately.

The course encouraged me to read other sources which at the end made my value well worth.

Thanks for everyone involved in the course and evaluation.

par Iha P

Apr 06, 2018

Wow facotors:

1) Explains concepts in fair detail along with a lot of real-life examples

2) It's a great course for anyone who wants to understand the basics of Design Thinking

3) The facilitator is great at communicating the concepts.

Scope for improvement:

1) The pace of the course can be improved.

2) It can be more comprehensive in covering the tools of Design Thinking.

par Paul C

Dec 29, 2016

A great beginner course in the world of design thinking. One note of caution is that it underplays the concept of "wicked problems" and newly minted students are in for a rude shock if they tried these techniques in such situations. Consider this course your first guitar lesson, and like learning to play guitar, you will need a lot more practice to be proficient...

par Dr. S B (

May 01, 2020

Through this course I have understood the basic meaning of design thinking and its tools. But It would be even better if more concrete theories, models and applications of design thinking were imparted. As an educator that would benefit me a lot.

In fact the course is very relevant to the teachers and educators in improvising their effectiveness in the class.

par Paul R

Feb 07, 2016

There should have been more knowledge testing as the course progressed. The first week and last week model didn't help me to incorporate the progress, and I grew disillusioned just listening to the video. I even had purchased the professor's book, but found the course differing significantly from the book. Lost interest is it progressed, but completed it.

par Nishant J

Nov 13, 2016

Short and crisp course on design thinking - a good crash course and introduction to a few design thinking innovation tools that can be applied in practice almost immediately after the course is completed. practical but it can do with some more case studies and deliberate discussion questions every week to keep the discussion board focused and engaged

par Alberto G G

Jul 05, 2019

I enjoy the course. Not the final asignment, I would prefer a test of concepts, since I am not using design thinking jet and I dont have the political power in my organization to make a proposal and use it, so there is no challange I can adress jet to complete the course. However the explications of Liedtka were clear and well organized. Thanks!

par Nita L

May 05, 2017

Great and practical introduction to design thinking principles! Videos are short and evaluation method is simple and interesting, especially when you have a chance to review your peers' work. I would recommend this course to anyone with an interest in design thinking and its application in the workplace, no matter what industry.

par Venkata S P N

Dec 09, 2019

The instructor was brilliant. She explained the nuances of Design Thinking in a clear and coherent manner. The only issue that I can point out is that there are less case studies than I originally thought. It'd be better if we are provided with links of free case studies instead of online materials which require purchasing.

par Liz P

Dec 29, 2017

I'd like to see all the tools applied in an end-to-end example. I recently went to a debate whether design thinking is already dead. I would like to hear some more conceptual conversation about why Design Thinking is alive in business and will not "die" - it's not only about a customer want, but about business viability.

par Olga E

May 02, 2020

Good course. BUT: The MeYouHealth example (2 videos) should be perhaps removed. It sounds very outdated (I am in the sports industry) and the owner has since long distanced himself from the business. Not sure if this business still exists - the website is dead. These 2 videos made the course less "credible" to me.

par Anand J

May 30, 2018

Well organised, properly structured, meaningfully delivered and Over all and excellent course for all sets of working professionals. Especially people who believes that design thinking is something like only genius people can work or come up with. Looking forward for much more courses similar to this. Thank you !