Chevron Left
Retour à Design Thinking for Innovation

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Design Thinking for Innovation par Université de Virginie

4.7
étoiles
6,627 évaluations
2,066 avis

À propos du cours

Today innovation is everyone's business. Whether you are a manager in a global corporation, an entrepreneur starting up, in a government role, or a teacher in an elementary school, everyone is expected to get lean – to do better with less. And that is why we all need design thinking. At every level in every kind of organization, design thinking provides the tools you need to become an innovative thinker and uncover creative opportunities that are there – you're just not seeing them yet. In this course, developed at the Darden School of Business at the University of Virginia and taught by top-ranked faculty, we provide an overview of design thinking and work with a model containing four key questions and several tools to help you understand design thinking as a problem solving approach. We also look at several stories from different organizations that used design thinking to uncover compelling solutions....

Meilleurs avis

SS
30 août 2018

This is very good course for every body whatever your background, your education & your job role position. I highly recommend to get this training to change, gain & create your mindset for innovation.

SP
15 août 2020

Excellent program to learn lots of tools towards Design Thinking !! Thanks a lot! Very interactive and the last activity of completing the assignment was very thought provoking !! thanks to all pears!

Filtrer par :

1951 - 1975 sur 2,042 Avis pour Design Thinking for Innovation

par JIGNESHKUMAR P

25 sept. 2020

gd

par selvam

10 avr. 2019

ok

par Jason T

20 nov. 2020

.

par Elizabeth C

4 oct. 2020

.

par Amjad B M

19 août 2020

I

par Balázs J

3 janv. 2019

I think the course is nicely structured and in the given timeframe and for the price it gives a valuable overview on design thinking (DT). On the other hand it is too short to teach any skills or give a deep insight into any of the DT tools. Thus it is to me more a management awareness training and sadly this is not clear from the description. Additionally to complete the training one has to provide a short description of a case study with one of the DT tools. In 5 weeks I think it can only be done properly if the participant is already an active coach/facilitator or working in an innovation related position. This is also not clear from the description and somewhat contradictory to the scope of the course.

par Ashish M

30 nov. 2020

The concept 'Design Thinking' itself appears to be just a combination of various group activities and brainstorming techniques that anyone in any industry for a couple of decades has already participated in. The tools have been around for a while too.

I dropped out during the 4th week, when the trainer's description of the remaining steps/activities did not throw up anything new.

It may be a useful compilation for people 0-5 years in the workforce, but for those more experienced - you've probably already started down the path.

par Monika F

30 déc. 2020

Overall, this gives a good intro to design thinking and some of its methodologies, especially on why this is so beneficial to use. However, I think the course could be improved by 1) giving more "how to" methodologies and frameworks on how to really do it, 2) shortening the expert opinion's videos to something like 5 min (instead of 15, in which an expert is just going in a quite unstructured way about the importance of the topic) and 3) have exercise quizzes after every week.

par C. C

13 déc. 2015

I previously gave this course a 5-star review; however, upon realising that there is no way to access the classroom after receiving the final grade and certificate, I simply can't give it the same excellent review. I have no way of accessing discussions and my final assignment to see any feedback classmates have given. There is also no option to re-take the final assignment, which was peer-graded and I believe I was not properly evaluated by my peers.

par Antonia R

6 févr. 2018

Great videos and explanation of design thinking methods. The stories used as examples were illustrating the content, too. Unfortunately, I have the feeling that I do not have much written material or slides after finishing the course although I had taken notes during the videos. I guess there is no way around buying the book of the instructor! That is disappointing because I could have done that in the first place without taking this class.

par Klaas G

29 juin 2017

I really like the subject, but the content of this course could be more engaging. It is more or less 4 weeks/chapters of passively watching video. Of course there's a possibility to discuss things in the forum, but I prefer some kind of weekly assignments (chunking!) which let me reflect on the content learnt that week. There is also improvement possible in visualizing the key concepts/constructs/ideas of this course.

par Jared B

20 avr. 2020

It was very well presented and organized. My main issue with the course is that it seemed like it was meant for an extreme beginner since it seemed 80% of the course was getting buy-in. I'm already bought it, so much of the info was irrelevant. Also, there was a lot of repetition and videos that just reviewed information that we already covered. I was looking to hear more knowledge and more in-depth about tools.

par Thomas R

8 févr. 2018

The course is ok and gives a good first introduction to Design Thinking. The Videos are good and allow for easy understanding. However, the course material (hand outs) provided is relatively poor. There should be at least a good sized handout of the 4 questions which are so central to the lecture. At times the course feels like a bait to sign up to the more comprehensive sessions offered by the School.

par Laura P

5 janv. 2021

Independently from getting a official certificate or not, you can only fully finish the course if you pay the official certificate. Achieving a goal should not confront with paying any amount of money. It is somewhat disencouranging. The content course however, is interesting and provides you with certain tools to grasp a better understanding of what Design Thinking is.

par Rishabh J

3 mai 2020

I would insist that the course is amazing in the content, just the project and the system is too dumb to realize that people are trying to fake their way to the certificates and doesn't really care about the course content. Probably apply the same skills to the course that you teach and try to improve on the project part.

As for the content, still and amazing course.

par Tanuja P

19 avr. 2018

The subject is very useful. But the way it has been taught --- it felt that the instructors were reading from a book. I am specially surprised because these courses are meant to be for an international audience, many of whom do not have American-English as their primary language. There were so many references to America-specific phrases and cultural concepts!

par Cortlandt C

19 sept. 2016

I audited this course. The videos are in fact useful. However, it would appear that the real interaction is reserved for the later weeks of the course. Thus moving from theory to application can be a bit abstract. Of course I did purchase the book and workbook created by the author and have found them to have additional material to support application.

par Daniel H

16 avr. 2019

Very interesting course. I will apply it in my daily professional and personal life.

I would have loved to have some more material, but I totally understand that when talking about innovation it's not that easy to get materials and videos.

Very easy to follow and it totally catched my attention from the beginning. Many thanks.

par John R

3 août 2020

Well, structured course and by putting together all the tools that can be applied in the real world. Scored only 3 stars due to the Peer assignment, it is such a waste of time. I have to spend a lot of time reviewing the assignment, then it vanished and loaded an empty sheet. This needs to be fixed.

par Christopher K

20 mars 2018

I felt the course materials could be presented in a more easy-to-digest format, while the selected speakers could be more succinct in their presentations and less subjectively opinionated, especially Ed Hesse. I feel this destroys credibility when too much emotion and superlatives are invoked.

par Mohit A

30 avr. 2017

Appreciate this course a lot, it was crisp and to the point. Major focus was on using Design Thinking tool.

The only downside was the lack of reference material. Course should include the slides that were presented in the video as well as some additional reading material (available for free)

par Craig B

7 janv. 2021

This course taught me a lot about Design Thinking and how it can be applied. My only recommendation is to add more interactive content. The first 4 modules were nothing but videos. There was only one assignment in Module 5. It can be hard to stay engaged when it is video after video.

par S V R

28 juil. 2020

There was a lot of confusion in the course, almost at all stages of it. It is better to have a detailed flow chart from First to the Last stage rather than just a high-level diagram. Detailed flow chart can have the execution of various tools/techniques within it to avoid confusion.

par Marc M

7 mars 2017

Interesting course, but the evaluation process should be reworked with weekly quizz to ensure that the main concepts have been understood and a different final exam which does not assume that you already had the opportunity to apply and reflect upon what you have learned

par Tim K

4 août 2020

The assignment was a bit of a let down. The feedback provided by peers was not meaningful, often one word responses such as "good". I would have preferred to have more (and meaningful dialogue) around the application of design thinking tools.