Chevron Left
Retour à The Unix Workbench

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour The Unix Workbench par Université Johns-Hopkins

4.7
étoiles
933 évaluations
290 avis

À propos du cours

Unix forms a foundation that is often very helpful for accomplishing other goals you might have for you and your computer, whether that goal is running a business, writing a book, curing disease, or creating the next great app. The means to these goals are sometimes carried out by writing software. Software can’t be mined out of the ground, nor can software seeds be planted in spring to harvest by autumn. Software isn’t produced in factories on an assembly line. Software is a hand-made, often bespoke good. If a software developer is an artisan, then Unix is their workbench. Unix provides an essential and simple set of tools in a distraction-free environment. Even if you’re not a software developer learning Unix can open you up to new methods of thinking and novel ways to scale your ideas. This course is intended for folks who are new to programming and new to Unix-like operating systems like macOS and Linux distributions like Ubuntu. Most of the technologies discussed in this course will be accessed via a command line interface. Command line interfaces can seem alien at first, so this course attempts to draw parallels between using the command line and actions that you would normally take while using your mouse and keyboard. You’ll also learn how to write little pieces of software in a programming language called Bash, which allows you to connect together the tools we’ll discuss. My hope is that by the end of this course you be able to use different Unix tools as if they’re interconnecting Lego bricks....

Meilleurs avis

RW

Apr 30, 2020

This is a very friendly step-by-step guide to Unix for beginners, it helps to build a solid foundation, and the exercises are designed to explore more about what has been introduced in the course.

KS

Jan 29, 2018

A wonderful course! Answered so many questions I had and gave me a solid background in Git, Bash, makefiles, and working from the cloud. I will definitely be using these skills in my job search!

Filtrer par :

76 - 100 sur 286 Avis pour The Unix Workbench

par Patrick S

Apr 30, 2020

New to UNIX, so it was a great general overview. Learning about details of Github and git file management was especially useful.

par Danilo S O

May 19, 2020

Si recién comienzas a trabajar con los SO basados en Unix, este curso es realmente una excelente opción para un buen inicio.

par Ajay G

Jul 04, 2019

Quite good in what this course plans to teach you. Lightweight and a very good starters package to get started with linux.

par Davide B

Apr 12, 2018

Very useful course for anyone who wants to learn more about the bash shell and, of course, very well done and explained!

par Salik U

Nov 15, 2017

Its good for the beginners who wants to hand on UNIX. Provide all the basic fundamentals of shell and bash scripting.

par Tom M

May 15, 2020

Highly recommend it for those starting to learning programming and those who want to brush up on shell scripting!

par David M

May 04, 2020

Concise presentation with hands on reinforcement of useful concepts. Great course to improve or practice skills.

par Karthikrajasekar G

May 11, 2020

This course concepts were conveyed in a simple and good way. easy to understanding the concepts.

Thanks Coursera

par Arjun S

Nov 09, 2018

Really helpful and informative. Even for an absolute beginner! Thanks a lot for this awesome course. Cheers!

par Kacy C

Mar 10, 2019

It was great because it allowed me to go at my own pace rather than watching and listening to someone talk

par Daniel P

Jun 27, 2019

Great resources, book, plus module, and exercises were challenging but good learning experiences. Thanks!

par Éamonn Ó N

Aug 24, 2017

Very good course, especially for beginners to get relevant and broad overview of tools (bash/git/cloud).

par Ahmed E

Jun 28, 2018

It is concise and practical course for getting your hand a little dirty with linux..I enjoyed my time

par Anmol L P

Feb 19, 2018

Good course for all of us who want to explore unix and are new to it. The course design is wonderful.

par Juan S M F

Apr 01, 2018

Excelente curso para comenzar con Unix, los ejercicios me resultaron interesantes y muy desafiantes.

par Alejandro F

Jun 24, 2020

A very good and very useful course. Congratulations and thanks to its developers for sharing this.

par sukrita p

Nov 06, 2019

Very concise course to get started with shell scripting. Well drafted and good exercise questions.

par Josué R G S M

Feb 01, 2018

If you want to learn the basis of Unix/GNU Linux, this course is for you. It won't dissapoint you!

par Adonis J C G

Aug 15, 2019

It's very intuitive, but you need some experience from another language or, at least, pseudocode.

par Matthew A

Apr 05, 2018

A great overview of the Unix command line. Including a glimpse of software development with Git.

par Brian D G

Jun 22, 2020

This is a great course! I learned alot!! Thank you very much for making it available to me!!!

par Yohannes d

Aug 26, 2019

it's a helpful course someone who really need to know about Linux, git, shell script and cloud.

par Mrinmay B

May 29, 2020

It was a good course , helped me build confidence on UNIX and got familiarised with terminal.

par Kashish M

Jan 02, 2020

I really liked the course structure. It was a brief and practical course. I enjoyed doing it.

par Tushar A

May 12, 2020

This course is very helpful for the begginers and will teach you everything from the scrach.