Chevron Left
Retour à The Unix Workbench

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour The Unix Workbench par Université Johns-Hopkins

4.7
étoiles
929 évaluations
290 avis

À propos du cours

Unix forms a foundation that is often very helpful for accomplishing other goals you might have for you and your computer, whether that goal is running a business, writing a book, curing disease, or creating the next great app. The means to these goals are sometimes carried out by writing software. Software can’t be mined out of the ground, nor can software seeds be planted in spring to harvest by autumn. Software isn’t produced in factories on an assembly line. Software is a hand-made, often bespoke good. If a software developer is an artisan, then Unix is their workbench. Unix provides an essential and simple set of tools in a distraction-free environment. Even if you’re not a software developer learning Unix can open you up to new methods of thinking and novel ways to scale your ideas. This course is intended for folks who are new to programming and new to Unix-like operating systems like macOS and Linux distributions like Ubuntu. Most of the technologies discussed in this course will be accessed via a command line interface. Command line interfaces can seem alien at first, so this course attempts to draw parallels between using the command line and actions that you would normally take while using your mouse and keyboard. You’ll also learn how to write little pieces of software in a programming language called Bash, which allows you to connect together the tools we’ll discuss. My hope is that by the end of this course you be able to use different Unix tools as if they’re interconnecting Lego bricks....

Meilleurs avis

RW

Apr 30, 2020

This is a very friendly step-by-step guide to Unix for beginners, it helps to build a solid foundation, and the exercises are designed to explore more about what has been introduced in the course.

KS

Jan 29, 2018

A wonderful course! Answered so many questions I had and gave me a solid background in Git, Bash, makefiles, and working from the cloud. I will definitely be using these skills in my job search!

Filtrer par :

26 - 50 sur 285 Avis pour The Unix Workbench

par Bruno C

Sep 03, 2018

It was a great introductory course, which has helped me in my current work environment. That being said i felt that the last part regarding cloud computing was a bit rushed (from learning to sue a API to suddenly being asked to create a bot)

Overall i recommend the course to any colleague

par Manuel X D

Jan 20, 2020

The title and syllabus of this course reflect accurately its content. The progression from week 1 to 4 is steady and allows one to gain the skill set required to complete the project. Highly recommended to anyone interested in pursuing the study of any branch of data science.

par NB

May 02, 2020

I thought the course was very well organized and easy to follow with lots of good resources provided as an external link. I especially liked that it was divided into short-enough sections that I could squeeze in one section here and there when I found time to sit down.

par Miguel M G

Jan 05, 2019

This is a very good course. The contents are very organised and understandable. It would have been great some more videos and a little less text; the course is mostly based on reading materials. However, the quality of the text is quite good so I could not complaint.

par Tracy N

Sep 28, 2017

Excellent introduction to Unix shell programming. The coverage of regular expressions, git, and remote server access was better than I expected from an introductory class. Highly recommended, and I also recommend the companion book as a reference and learning aid.

par Luis F T R

Feb 06, 2020

El curso es excelente, sin duda alguna, aprendes lo básico sobre los comandos de consola, git, github, un poco de como funciona la nube, los ejemplos son buenos, pero podrían ser más profundos al igual que los ejercicios. Excelente curso para iniciar en Unix.

par Miguel R

Nov 12, 2019

Very useful, practical, motivational and inspiring course. It is notorious Mr. Sean Kross make the book with all the intention to share knowledge with people in a wonderful way. I feel impressed. Thank you to the team, to Coursera and to Mr. Sean Kross.

par Zhengguan L

Nov 20, 2018

Very good overall, I will give it 5 starts!!!

But small advice, since it is written in markdown, I hope we can use code blocks to make the keywords like unix command stand out which can help us easier to find it and give more clear context structure.

par Rodrigo

Nov 21, 2019

Very straight forward course that teaches you the basics of Linux, Git and Cloud. After this course Linux becomes easy to use and you can start learning more advance commands. I would recommend this course for those that want to start using Linux.

par Vipul G

Jan 27, 2018

Not only the course covered the Linux from basic to advanced but also gave a brief insight on cloud computing as well as GitHub which proved essentially useful and practical giving it an edge industrially over other courses. Thanks Sean Kross! :)

par Darshankumar H

May 31, 2020

Very good course to learn all major topics of UNIX. This also focuses on GitHub and Cloud, which are really important for any developers. I really liked the given peer graded assignment, If possible please consider to add it in every week.

par widraugr

Jun 10, 2020

Давно хотел более подробно изучить Bash, и в этом достаточно не плохо помог этот курс. Очень понравилась последовательность подачи материала, темы связаны между собой. Единственное, хотелось бы видеть больше видео материала с примерами.

par Benjamin B

May 27, 2019

Excellent! Peer review was a great first experience, but very worthwhile to look at other's work after thinking hard about the problem myself. Very well structured - and I now feel confident on cloud computers, bash, and UNIX/GitHub.

par Steven B C

Apr 10, 2020

I am a retired broadcast engineer. I never worked in IT or programming, but I have used Linux at home for many years. This is a great course for Linux users that want to know more about Linux, Github and the cloud. Great course!

par Sunil S

Apr 24, 2019

Overall, the course was well structured and easy to understand. The mentors reply regularly to any questions posted in the discussion forums. A wonderful learning experience that introduces you to the command-line interface.

par Vladimir O

Oct 12, 2017

Thanks you for your curse, it was very helpful for me.

Plus: Classes about GitHub

Minus: Overview does not contain check that the script is working fine, I mean some scripts failed if a user tries to enter invalid information.

par Keenal S

May 12, 2020

I like how the discussion forum was so helpful and I was getting my questions answered within a day. The content is great, informative and to the point. The exercises and projects are great as well. Loved the course!

par Nikolay M

May 16, 2018

Great introduction to get to speed fast. I didn't know anything about command prompt, terminal, bash and Git before starting the course, and I have mastered it after completing the course. Highly recommended.

par Marshall

Jan 09, 2020

My only complaint is that there are a few typos in the course instructions that are not in the e-book. Other than that, this is a great course for beginners that offers many suggestions for further learning.

par Jerome C

Nov 08, 2017

Very good class! I learned so much stuff about how to manipulate files, write scripts to automate actions on my "file explorer", and some basics about using a remote server. The course is very entertaining.

par Carlos A

Jan 02, 2018

Nice course to get started. Most of the time when you might think "hmm, but what if..." you just keep reading and you will get the answer. I liked the course format and the selected examples. Thank you :)

par Vũ Q H

May 20, 2019

I really want to learn Unix and Git for a long time but I was struggled with finding a good resource to learn. Thanks to Coursera and John Hopkins University, this course gives me what i really expect to

par Ruiping W

Apr 30, 2020

This is a very friendly step-by-step guide to Unix for beginners, it helps to build a solid foundation, and the exercises are designed to explore more about what has been introduced in the course.

par Pieter F P

Jun 07, 2018

Very good course. I had a fair working knowledge to begin with, but the course expanded my understanding and skills to where I can actively apply them in my work. It comes highly recommended.

par Dejan M

May 10, 2020

Even though I had some Unix background before, the course helped me to significantly improve my understanding of Unix. Thanks to whole team for providing this beautiful learning material.