Chevron Left
Retour à The Unix Workbench

Avis et commentaires pour l'étudiant pour The Unix Workbench par Université Johns-Hopkins

4.7
615 notes
182 avis

À propos du cours

Unix forms a foundation that is often very helpful for accomplishing other goals you might have for you and your computer, whether that goal is running a business, writing a book, curing disease, or creating the next great app. The means to these goals are sometimes carried out by writing software. Software can’t be mined out of the ground, nor can software seeds be planted in spring to harvest by autumn. Software isn’t produced in factories on an assembly line. Software is a hand-made, often bespoke good. If a software developer is an artisan, then Unix is their workbench. Unix provides an essential and simple set of tools in a distraction-free environment. Even if you’re not a software developer learning Unix can open you up to new methods of thinking and novel ways to scale your ideas. This course is intended for folks who are new to programming and new to Unix-like operating systems like macOS and Linux distributions like Ubuntu. Most of the technologies discussed in this course will be accessed via a command line interface. Command line interfaces can seem alien at first, so this course attempts to draw parallels between using the command line and actions that you would normally take while using your mouse and keyboard. You’ll also learn how to write little pieces of software in a programming language called Bash, which allows you to connect together the tools we’ll discuss. My hope is that by the end of this course you be able to use different Unix tools as if they’re interconnecting Lego bricks....

Meilleurs avis

KS

Jan 29, 2018

A wonderful course! Answered so many questions I had and gave me a solid background in Git, Bash, makefiles, and working from the cloud. I will definitely be using these skills in my job search!

SL

Sep 11, 2017

It is suitable for Unix/Linux beginners who are new to shell. It introduces popular code sharing and merging tool GitHub, which most programmers would find very useful in software development.

Filtrer par :

151 - 175 sur 178 Examens pour The Unix Workbench

par Richard S

Oct 10, 2017

This course offers a wide range of topics for an entry-level course on UNIX/Linux. From user-type tasks (navigating the tree, manipulating files, etc), to programming-related ones (using make/makefiles, git, GitHub, etc), this course gives the learner enough knowledge to assess whether they want to continue with more advanced UNIX/Linux courses, or pursue some other area of knowledge.

par Miguel F

Sep 07, 2017

Very good introduction to the command line i wish that could have more demanding exercises.

par Edgardo S

Apr 22, 2018

I could not get the connection with digitalocean, becasue the page requested me to pay. I suggest to use a server propietary of coursera only for courses.

par Sharad K

Feb 25, 2018

It is the best online course with effective assignments !

par Jiazhi G

Sep 08, 2017

Simple and clear materials for self-learning basic Unix and Bash programming.

par Huajun Z

Jan 16, 2018

It's a very useful course, and helped me to code some simple bash programs, without which my current project would be very laborious. A small piece of suggestion is that content for each week can be further optimized, as the week3 and week4 contents are a bit too much, and week1 is a bit too little.

par peeyush s

Feb 11, 2018

A very nice and compact course.

par surinder

Dec 19, 2017

This is a good course for a level2 beginner

par Dharmesh S

Mar 03, 2018

The course is good for anyone trying to learn basics of UNIX and especially the GIT command

par Kirulkar R B

Feb 20, 2018

I learn so many new commands from this course.

and one more important thing is basic standard skeleton of bash programming as well as git-hub basic.

par Deleted A

May 21, 2018

All very good. Week 4 is too much work compared to other weeks

par Rob C

Sep 10, 2018

Really interesting course and a good introduction to shell programming. I did find the learning curve was a little uneven between weeks (1 and 2 were took almost no time, but some quirks in week 3 made it take much longer).

par Pratyush M

Sep 12, 2018

Its a fairly good course for introduction to the command line. In my opinion, it would benefit from using better formatting commands in text using in-line code snippets like markdown. Also more resources for referring(like cheat sheets) in the very last lesson would be helpful and it would have helped even more if all resources which were mentioned before in the preceding chapters would have been included in the last lesson as well. But yes, I would recommend this to new learners.

par Dmitry B

Nov 06, 2018

Good and well-paced course. I'd like to see more Unix and less clouds.

par M A B

Nov 26, 2018

Excellent.

par Sara A

Oct 11, 2018

A very good course!

Before taking this course, I was a little worried to work with Linux. But now I really feel more comfortable with it.

Thanks to the instructor for his efforts.

par Dhruvak

May 20, 2019

Material was great. However, last assignment instructions were not clear.

par Mohammed A A A M

Jun 04, 2019

Course is easy and straightforward, no excessive effort is needed to complete it.

par Michael J C

Jun 09, 2019

This is a good course, barely adapted from Sean Kross' UNIX workbench book. Much of the course material refers to chapter numbers but is easy enough to follow without the book. I found that some sections did make a few leaps between the written content and the exercises. For the most part this was OK but the exercises for the final section, "Nephology", were well beyond the written content ("now make a Twitter bot"). Also, the course required that we sign up to Digital Oceans (and gave us a credit)...be prepared for spam and officious disregard for customers.

par Devaashish S

Jul 20, 2019

Excellent book and exercises.

par Pratima S

Aug 19, 2019

like

par Thomas L

Jan 27, 2019

It's helpful if you want to know a thing or two about Bash.

par Anthony A

Mar 25, 2019

You need videos, not enough and all reading here, although it was the easiest course I've even started and completed. Took less than 1 day to complete and pass.

par Ahmed M A M M

Jan 14, 2019

The studying material demonstration is not fit for everyone and I see that it needs more explaining video from an instructor.

par 李锐

Aug 14, 2017

内容还行,就跟自己看书一样。作为一个中国人,还是有很多不方便的地方。

总的来说还可以吧