Chevron Left
Retour à The Unix Workbench

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour The Unix Workbench par Université Johns-Hopkins

4.7
étoiles
1,305 évaluations

À propos du cours

Unix forms a foundation that is often very helpful for accomplishing other goals you might have for you and your computer, whether that goal is running a business, writing a book, curing disease, or creating the next great app. The means to these goals are sometimes carried out by writing software. Software can’t be mined out of the ground, nor can software seeds be planted in spring to harvest by autumn. Software isn’t produced in factories on an assembly line. Software is a hand-made, often bespoke good. If a software developer is an artisan, then Unix is their workbench. Unix provides an essential and simple set of tools in a distraction-free environment. Even if you’re not a software developer learning Unix can open you up to new methods of thinking and novel ways to scale your ideas. This course is intended for folks who are new to programming and new to Unix-like operating systems like macOS and Linux distributions like Ubuntu. Most of the technologies discussed in this course will be accessed via a command line interface. Command line interfaces can seem alien at first, so this course attempts to draw parallels between using the command line and actions that you would normally take while using your mouse and keyboard. You’ll also learn how to write little pieces of software in a programming language called Bash, which allows you to connect together the tools we’ll discuss. My hope is that by the end of this course you be able to use different Unix tools as if they’re interconnecting Lego bricks....

Meilleurs avis

SM

24 mai 2022

This course is extremly helpful and well designed for beginnner and working professionals with neat info. I strongly recomended this course. Thanks for mentors/authors with real time example commands.

RW

29 avr. 2020

This is a very friendly step-by-step guide to Unix for beginners, it helps to build a solid foundation, and the exercises are designed to explore more about what has been introduced in the course.

Filtrer par :

126 - 150 sur 394 Avis pour The Unix Workbench

par Éamonn Ó N

24 août 2017

Very good course, especially for beginners to get relevant and broad overview of tools (bash/git/cloud).

par ahmad a

28 juin 2018

It is concise and practical course for getting your hand a little dirty with linux..I enjoyed my time

par Anmol L P

18 févr. 2018

Good course for all of us who want to explore unix and are new to it. The course design is wonderful.

par Rocky T

1 sept. 2022

Taken me some time to understand it but adfter a few trys very good.

I have lrean alot about Linux.

par Juan S M F

1 avr. 2018

Excelente curso para comenzar con Unix, los ejercicios me resultaron interesantes y muy desafiantes.

par Alejandro

14 juil. 2021

Me parece un gran curso y he aprendido muchísimo, pero no en cuatro semanas sino en cuatro meses.

par Alejandro F

23 juin 2020

A very good and very useful course. Congratulations and thanks to its developers for sharing this.

par sukrita p

6 nov. 2019

Very concise course to get started with shell scripting. Well drafted and good exercise questions.

par Josué R G S M

31 janv. 2018

If you want to learn the basis of Unix/GNU Linux, this course is for you. It won't dissapoint you!

par Adonis C

15 août 2019

It's very intuitive, but you need some experience from another language or, at least, pseudocode.

par Алексей П

2 mars 2021

A very useful, well-written course!

Considered a wide range of possible uses of UNIX.

Thank you.

par Matthew A

5 avr. 2018

A great overview of the Unix command line. Including a glimpse of software development with Git.

par Brian D G

22 juin 2020

This is a great course! I learned alot!! Thank you very much for making it available to me!!!

par Yohannes d

26 août 2019

it's a helpful course someone who really need to know about Linux, git, shell script and cloud.

par Odette S Y D

12 avr. 2022

The course was a very nice Introduction to Unix and Bash programming. I can only recommend!!!

par Arun V

26 août 2020

Very good contents to learn the fundamentals of Unix along with Hands-on experience on Git Hub

par Abraham M L

13 mars 2021

Even if you are use programming this is a good recap and gives a nice idea about programming.

par Mrinmay B

29 mai 2020

It was a good course , helped me build confidence on UNIX and got familiarised with terminal.

par kashish m

2 janv. 2020

I really liked the course structure. It was a brief and practical course. I enjoyed doing it.

par Tushar A

12 mai 2020

This course is very helpful for the begginers and will teach you everything from the scrach.

par Sebastian P

14 sept. 2020

Excelente Curso, la verdad super util y con mucha practica para reforzar los conocimientos.

par Vanessa C

29 mars 2021

I really enjoyed taking this course! I had no experience using Unix and I learned a lot!

par Andreu C P

19 oct. 2017

A well structured course that serves as a clear initiation to Unix. I will recommend it!

par Joel J

5 mai 2021

Very valuable course if you wish to learn the basics about command line tools on Linux

par Bruno A M

8 oct. 2017

Great content with accessible language and good challenges. Will definitely recommend!