Chevron Left
Retour à The Unix Workbench

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour The Unix Workbench par Université Johns-Hopkins

4.8
étoiles
683 évaluations
202 avis

À propos du cours

Unix forms a foundation that is often very helpful for accomplishing other goals you might have for you and your computer, whether that goal is running a business, writing a book, curing disease, or creating the next great app. The means to these goals are sometimes carried out by writing software. Software can’t be mined out of the ground, nor can software seeds be planted in spring to harvest by autumn. Software isn’t produced in factories on an assembly line. Software is a hand-made, often bespoke good. If a software developer is an artisan, then Unix is their workbench. Unix provides an essential and simple set of tools in a distraction-free environment. Even if you’re not a software developer learning Unix can open you up to new methods of thinking and novel ways to scale your ideas. This course is intended for folks who are new to programming and new to Unix-like operating systems like macOS and Linux distributions like Ubuntu. Most of the technologies discussed in this course will be accessed via a command line interface. Command line interfaces can seem alien at first, so this course attempts to draw parallels between using the command line and actions that you would normally take while using your mouse and keyboard. You’ll also learn how to write little pieces of software in a programming language called Bash, which allows you to connect together the tools we’ll discuss. My hope is that by the end of this course you be able to use different Unix tools as if they’re interconnecting Lego bricks....

Meilleurs avis

KS

Jan 29, 2018

A wonderful course! Answered so many questions I had and gave me a solid background in Git, Bash, makefiles, and working from the cloud. I will definitely be using these skills in my job search!

SL

Sep 11, 2017

It is suitable for Unix/Linux beginners who are new to shell. It introduces popular code sharing and merging tool GitHub, which most programmers would find very useful in software development.

Filtrer par :

51 - 75 sur 198 Avis pour The Unix Workbench

par Davide B

Apr 12, 2018

Very useful course for anyone who wants to learn more about the bash shell and, of course, very well done and explained!

par Salik U

Nov 15, 2017

Its good for the beginners who wants to hand on UNIX. Provide all the basic fundamentals of shell and bash scripting.

par Arjun S

Nov 09, 2018

Really helpful and informative. Even for an absolute beginner! Thanks a lot for this awesome course. Cheers!

par Kacy C

Mar 10, 2019

It was great because it allowed me to go at my own pace rather than watching and listening to someone talk

par Daniel P

Jun 27, 2019

Great resources, book, plus module, and exercises were challenging but good learning experiences. Thanks!

par Éamonn Ó N

Aug 24, 2017

Very good course, especially for beginners to get relevant and broad overview of tools (bash/git/cloud).

par Ahmed E

Jun 28, 2018

It is concise and practical course for getting your hand a little dirty with linux..I enjoyed my time

par Anmol L P

Feb 19, 2018

Good course for all of us who want to explore unix and are new to it. The course design is wonderful.

par Juan S M F

Apr 01, 2018

Excelente curso para comenzar con Unix, los ejercicios me resultaron interesantes y muy desafiantes.

par sukrita p

Nov 06, 2019

Very concise course to get started with shell scripting. Well drafted and good exercise questions.

par Josué R G S M

Feb 01, 2018

If you want to learn the basis of Unix/GNU Linux, this course is for you. It won't dissapoint you!

par Adonis J C G

Aug 15, 2019

It's very intuitive, but you need some experience from another language or, at least, pseudocode.

par Matthew A

Apr 05, 2018

A great overview of the Unix command line. Including a glimpse of software development with Git.

par Yohannes d

Aug 26, 2019

it's a helpful course someone who really need to know about Linux, git, shell script and cloud.

par Kashish M

Jan 02, 2020

I really liked the course structure. It was a brief and practical course. I enjoyed doing it.

par Andreu C P

Oct 19, 2017

A well structured course that serves as a clear initiation to Unix. I will recommend it!

par Bruno A M

Oct 08, 2017

Great content with accessible language and good challenges. Will definitely recommend!

par Jörg S

Dec 31, 2017

You really learn something by doing. And the provided learning path really makes fun.

par Ben Z

Feb 25, 2018

Great way to get an overview of the fundamentals of working with Unix-like computers

par Abhishek k

Aug 29, 2019

I have learnt all the basics of linux and unix commands. Its helped me alot.

par Jose C

Apr 06, 2018

Pretty interesting approach and broad useful content course. I recommend it

par Fazeel G

May 08, 2018

It was a very educational course, and I would recommend it for beginners.

par Dubba N

Oct 10, 2019

Great experience through out the course and very good learning platform.

par Jose N d l R

Aug 17, 2017

Looking forward to learn regex, awk and/or perl. Excellent introduction.

par Afzalov V R

Dec 27, 2019

Очень интересный курс для новичков! Задания понятны и легки в освоении.