Chevron Left
Retour à The Unix Workbench

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour The Unix Workbench par Université Johns-Hopkins

4.7
étoiles
1,115 évaluations
342 avis

À propos du cours

Unix forms a foundation that is often very helpful for accomplishing other goals you might have for you and your computer, whether that goal is running a business, writing a book, curing disease, or creating the next great app. The means to these goals are sometimes carried out by writing software. Software can’t be mined out of the ground, nor can software seeds be planted in spring to harvest by autumn. Software isn’t produced in factories on an assembly line. Software is a hand-made, often bespoke good. If a software developer is an artisan, then Unix is their workbench. Unix provides an essential and simple set of tools in a distraction-free environment. Even if you’re not a software developer learning Unix can open you up to new methods of thinking and novel ways to scale your ideas. This course is intended for folks who are new to programming and new to Unix-like operating systems like macOS and Linux distributions like Ubuntu. Most of the technologies discussed in this course will be accessed via a command line interface. Command line interfaces can seem alien at first, so this course attempts to draw parallels between using the command line and actions that you would normally take while using your mouse and keyboard. You’ll also learn how to write little pieces of software in a programming language called Bash, which allows you to connect together the tools we’ll discuss. My hope is that by the end of this course you be able to use different Unix tools as if they’re interconnecting Lego bricks....

Meilleurs avis

RW
29 avr. 2020

This is a very friendly step-by-step guide to Unix for beginners, it helps to build a solid foundation, and the exercises are designed to explore more about what has been introduced in the course.

KS
28 janv. 2018

A wonderful course! Answered so many questions I had and gave me a solid background in Git, Bash, makefiles, and working from the cloud. I will definitely be using these skills in my job search!

Filtrer par :

76 - 100 sur 336 Avis pour The Unix Workbench

par Nawaz R A

17 août 2017

Coming from Unix background myself, I would recommend this course to every newbie in Unix field and any IT/Operations/Development professional as well!

par Jason H

26 avr. 2020

This is a great foundation course for Linux. I knew one or two things before coming in, but getting a refresher on SSH, SCP, Git etc. is very handy.

par Shanila A

3 août 2020

This course was very helpful, it is perfect for any beginner like myself. I would recommend this for anyone who is looking to enhance their skills.

par Trevorr M

27 janv. 2018

Very comprehensive and hands-on! Great to get an understanding of the subject matter and gives you enough information and knowledge to build on.

par Akshata D

31 août 2020

This course is perfect for beginners who want to learn UNIX . Also you can learn about git and GitHub and basic concepts of cloud computing.

par fabian87

7 mars 2019

es un curso hecho bien, en el cual llegas a aprender con grande facilidad.

Gracias a todos los profesores que han hecho este hermoso trabajo

par Јован П

5 juin 2018

Not too easy, not too hard. Gets to the point quick, concise. I learned quite a few tricks about UNIX. I recommend this course to everyone!

par Xiaoxuan W

21 févr. 2018

This course was extremely helpful to my CS studies. I think a course like this should be a required intro class for every college CS major.

par Swarnava G

7 août 2020

Wonderful and an essential course for anyone in any field of computing. Would recommend it to everyone I know would be benefitted from it!

par John J

13 juil. 2020

Excellent.course. Demanding but doable.

Well designed for Online Learning.

The Instructors definitely put in serious thought and effort.

par Jenny C

9 janv. 2018

Great course! More text-based than lecture-based which works great. No large "jumps", but gives a great introduction to UNIX. Thanks!

par Dmitriy K

17 sept. 2017

This was one of the best courses on Coursera. I really liked it's open-minded structure and nice introduction to unix environment.

par Prasang G

25 mai 2020

The Course is simple and efficient for the beginners. The concepts are taught in simple yet effective manner. Highly recommended.

par Mehran K

11 mai 2020

A really helpful course to understand and get started with using the UNIX Systems and it's powerful tools for building up things.

par Hunaid H

26 avr. 2020

a great course for absolute beginners. i would highly recommend this to first semester undergrad CS students or lower proficiency

par Zhong Q

11 mars 2020

Very useful and Thanks to Sean Kross. And really appreciated Mateusz Kita who gives me instructions to make my assignment better!

par Petar C

1 mars 2018

Very well structured course. Great, useful examples and really easy to learn stuff. I really enjoyed the course and recommend it!

par Keyur M

13 août 2020

I understand very quickly & clearly. Good source for learning & getting certificate. I highly recommended this course to others.

par Patrick S

30 avr. 2020

New to UNIX, so it was a great general overview. Learning about details of Github and git file management was especially useful.

par Danilo S O

19 mai 2020

Si recién comienzas a trabajar con los SO basados en Unix, este curso es realmente una excelente opción para un buen inicio.

par Ajay G

3 juil. 2019

Quite good in what this course plans to teach you. Lightweight and a very good starters package to get started with linux.

par Davide B

12 avr. 2018

Very useful course for anyone who wants to learn more about the bash shell and, of course, very well done and explained!

par Salik U

15 nov. 2017

Its good for the beginners who wants to hand on UNIX. Provide all the basic fundamentals of shell and bash scripting.

par Tom M

15 mai 2020

Highly recommend it for those starting to learning programming and those who want to brush up on shell scripting!

par David M

4 mai 2020

Concise presentation with hands on reinforcement of useful concepts. Great course to improve or practice skills.