Chevron Left
Retour à Understanding Obesity

Avis et commentaires pour l'étudiant pour Understanding Obesity par Université d'Édimbourg

4.5
200 notes
54 avis

À propos du cours

In this course, we’ll look at the facts and misconceptions around obesity and discuss key physiological and psychological concepts around the brain’s control of appetite and body weight. We’ll consider the biological and environmental pressures that make it easy to gain weight (and hard to lose it!). Most importantly, we'll give you the opportunity to reflect on your own knowledge and assumptions around the subject. We deliver course materials as a mixture of videos, audio-only MOOCcasts, and a selection of short readings. There are short weekly quizzes, a peer-reviewed exercise, and discussion activities on the forum. These will help you prepare for the final project. In it, you are invited to demonstrate your evidence-informed understanding and express how you'll develop it beyond the course. The course features Citizen Science projects. We'll collect data from you (anonymously, of course) and use it to drive participant-led discussions of controversial ideas. In this way, we hope to explore ideas around diet and obesity. These projects also give a taste of how scientific evidence is collected and interpreted by scientists, and give some indication how much there still is to discover and understand....

Meilleurs avis

AD

Aug 19, 2017

Very well addressed from different aspects. Helped forming a solid foundation to address the obesity problem as well as to make good food choices with portion control.

RR

Aug 15, 2017

this is very good course, helped me think about well being not just health. hope to see more courses from the Mr Menzies. thanks!

Filtrer par :

26 - 50 sur 53 Examens pour Understanding Obesity

par WOLFF F

Mar 18, 2018

Interesting.

par A B

Aug 21, 2017

Really useful and interesting approach of the psychology and biology of obesity! Thanks a lot!

par Lillian L

Aug 14, 2017

This course really helped me to understand obesity. It showed me why obesity is such a problem in our modern world. It made me think about how I can help people to eat healthily.

Thanks, Coursera, for this great course!

par Sylvia S

Jul 04, 2018

good information, interesting facts

par Maureen W

May 06, 2018

Excellent. The order of content, the stacking of logic, the professor. Thank you!

par Philippe P

Jul 30, 2017

Great course.

par Sri l B

May 08, 2018

very informative

par Jennifer B

Apr 21, 2017

Very interesting course! Thank you very much!

par DALIA M

May 15, 2018

Great new information!!! Thank you very much!

par zeynep

Aug 24, 2017

Im learning a good data hear , thank you for everything !

par Dr. S B

Aug 12, 2017

the course is rich, informative and the best thing is evidence based

par Kaio M R

Aug 12, 2017

Muito bom

par Sandy C

May 02, 2018

Excellent! Very interesting!

par Amanda C

Oct 29, 2017

Excellent course.

par vaishali s

Dec 26, 2017

Helped me a lot in understanding not just physiological but psychological aspects too.

par DR. M S K

Mar 26, 2019

P.hd level course

par David H

Jul 26, 2019

A wonderful course that allowed me to develop a deeper understanding of the causes and solutions to weight problems in general. The very accessible presentation of a lot of complex ideas and the writing assignments really made me see things differently!

par Kate B

Mar 07, 2019

Why wasn't the world's sedentary lifestyle not discussed as a cause of weight gain?

par Fumio S

Sep 19, 2018

It was a very interesting lecture.

par Ahmad A

Jan 06, 2018

thanks for an excellent course

par Afonso J

Jan 10, 2018

Great experience

This was great experience, with thouthful insight’s.

Looking forward for STEP 2 - Episode 2, “UNDERSTANDING OBESITY_Univ Edinburgh”…

par Monica

Aug 21, 2017

Updated introduction and understanding of this popular topic in health. Worth to take time to learn not only for health promoter but those want to help friends and family members on this.

par Helen B C

May 07, 2018

This course was really interesting, it covered a wide range of topics and supported assertions with evidence. It was quite quick and easy to complete, but I certainly learned new ways to tackle my own unhealthy eating habits. Thank you

par Borbála B

Nov 02, 2017

It is a great course but I didn't was so happy when I could only listen. I prefer the videos, this is why I give only 4 stars. But it was really interesting, thanks a lot!

par Ange R

Oct 01, 2017

Great for a podcast-type learning experience. I question some of the research results they mention, which is my only concern. Otherwise a great course and very educational! Corrects a lot of common misconceptions and does a good job of getting in-depth without being specialized.