Chevron Left
Retour à Understanding Financial Markets

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Understanding Financial Markets par Université de Genève

4.7
étoiles
4,414 évaluations
920 avis

À propos du cours

In this course, you will learn what the main financial markets and their characteristics are as well as how they are linked to the economy. Our very diversified team of experts will start by teaching you how the price of stocks and bonds are computed and why they move while you will become increasingly aware of the notion of risk and why it matters when measuring an investment's performance. The focus will then move to less popular markets such as gold, emerging markets, real estate, hedge funds and private markets. These will be analyzed with an emphasis on their particular risks and return opportunities as well as how they can help in building efficient portfolios. Finally, the policies of central banks and their impact on financial markets will be presented to you along with the link between the economy and the price of financial assets. All along these different steps, experts from UBS, our corporate partner, will show you how the concepts you just acquired are effectively applied in a leading global bank. This focus on practicality means you will not only understand what is going on in global financial markets but also start to figure out how you can use them to achieve financial goals, be it a client's or your own. Course Director and main teaching contributor: Dr. Michel Girardin, Lecturer in Macro-Finance, University of Geneva...

Meilleurs avis

MC
16 juil. 2017

Mr. Michel is really an amazing teacher! His lectures are vivic and greatly attracts my attention. I hope to take more of his classes because I've Learned more than I nomally can do in a short class

RC
5 oct. 2020

Thank you! Coursera for providing me the platform for boosting my knowledge in Financial Markets, as i have learned various financial parts in this subject and this will help me in my carrier too.

Filtrer par :

726 - 750 sur 904 Avis pour Understanding Financial Markets

par BHARATH M B

13 sept. 2016

plain and simple(course content)! I found assignments were very simple , wish increasing in level of difficulty.Modules for reading should be made compulsory.I completed this course in three days.why the hell it needs 4 weeks?There should be serious look at assignments as they are the core part and key measure of understanding and passing should be in terms of questions not percent and there should be increase in number of questions.

par Kevin G

6 mai 2020

The course was really good and I loved to see how passionate teachers were. I would only remove 1 star because the subtitles are terrible. I'm not sure how they've been introduced but I even mean the English subtitles which should only be a transcription. If this could be done by a professional, it would improve the perceived course quality tremendously in my opinion.

Thank you very much for putting this course together.

par Rohini B

16 juil. 2018

The program is very good and I feel I am learning a lot but it assumes I know how to work with the mathematical formula's but I haven't done any derivative work for over 20 years and thus I would like the course to have a little addition bit to make sure these mathematical formula are explained and exercises given to help really learn them. I found the bearish and bullish curve very difficult to understand.

par Cindy M

5 août 2017

I had been a bit leery of taking this course because I feared a language barrier, but all of the instructors so far have spoken English very clearly. The information is well presented, although I sometimes find the graphs with the inverted scale on the right hand side confusing at first. I would recommend this class to others who are interested in getting the basics of how financial markets work.

par Krista T

2 mai 2018

Concise and fairly simple introduction (or review, if you are familiar with the topics) into financial markets. Establishes macroeconomy - financial markets linkages well. Background knowledge of topics is useful in understanding issues such as inflation and interest rates. Not mathematically heavy, but good content for a short course such as this one.

par Carlos J G C

11 mars 2018

I really liked this course, I could understand the stock and bond markets, how the interest rate can affect the economc growth and inflation. In the same way, I learned how to value firms, equities and bonds. I'm ready to take up the next course from Investment Management Specialization. I highly recommend this program.

par Maria K

19 août 2016

It's very informative course, though it suggests that a person who signed up for this possesses/ should possess some basic knowledge in finance. So it takes time to actually understand understanding financial markets. All the rest, it's quite interesting course and rather simple and real-life examples

par Kunal N

17 avr. 2017

I have been looking to get into finance for a long time now but couldnt find something as flexible as this course. The concepts taught here are very simplified and are easy to understand. Overall it has been very fruitful and i am looking forward to complete the specialization.

par Sanskar V

13 oct. 2020

A really good course to understand the basics of marketing and investment. The teachers use ample of examples and explain in a simple way. Although it appeared like most of the faculty was reading a teleprompter lol except Michel Girardin. Michel Sir was brilliant!! Thank You

par Hari K K

22 juil. 2018

It was said to be the basic foundation knowledge for the financial markets. But I guess person without prior knowledge of Finance will face lots of difficulty to understand the course. Even the first module of this specialization was harder for a business student like me too.

par Edgars T

17 nov. 2016

General knowledge of bond and equity market and its impact by macro economic aspects.

East to see that professors are not native English speakers, but was ok.

Some lessons, performed by certain professors wear significantly less enjoyable, due to their performance.

par Filippo C

29 juil. 2020

Overall quite satisfied. Girardin explanations are really clear and his videos are the most valuable among other instructors. Subtitles seem like they are made with some automatic translation software, and it would be nice if they could be properly supported.

par Joelle C S

5 août 2017

Very interesting introductory course with some extremely valuable information for anyone jumping into the subject for the first time. My only negative comment would be that certain instructors are quite difficult to understand due to their heavy accents.

par Beatriz M F

8 nov. 2018

The main lecturer was incredibly good, explained everything in a way that was easy to understand. Some of the other speakers were not as easy to understand. Well-structured course. The assignments could involve more case-studies/engaging activities.

par WuyueSun

30 août 2020

This is a great course for understanding basic financial markets, they give out detailed explaination. However, the videos are too short for each part, which has been a bit waste of mind concentration. But might be useful when you are on the go.

par Abu Z

19 juil. 2020

The best stock market and bonds understanding course for Beginners.

The Teacher Michel is the best and I love his lecturers.

Please try once and you will love Michel teaching.

Thank you Sir Michel. I really enjoyed this course because of you.

par María L V B

3 avr. 2020

Los videos no deben ser tan largos máximo de 7 a 8 minutos.

El ingles de la Srta. Ines era muy difícil de comprender dado que no hable ese idioma y la pronunciación, timbre de voz es difícil de entender y seguir el hilo de la clase.

par James S

9 oct. 2020

A thorough and well structured insight into financial markets. Just lacked more interactivity for me, maybe just a couple more tests or alternative methods of learning than videos would have made it 5 stars in my opinion.

par Jochen S

13 oct. 2016

The course offered a good repetition of some major concepts and from time to time I also gained some new insights.

For 4 weeks only, however, 70 EUR is rather expensive compared to some other courses offered by Coursera.

par David H

4 janv. 2018

Very good course in terms of materials and delivery. Good combination of academic content and commercial input. Assessments were generally good although I might quibble occasionally with some of the official answers.

par Ricardo M

28 mai 2017

Great information and knowledge but, since it is aimed to people with basic understanding of financial matters, I feel it has to have more detailed examples and cases (explained in a more detailed, step by step basis).

par Lars M

26 oct. 2017

"Understanding financial markets" is a perfect description of what this course is about. If you have a basic knowledge about financial markets already, it may be somewhat easy. Still a perfect way to get started.

par Rahul G

7 juin 2020

I Love this course but there are some things which need to be more defined

To understand some thing i need to check on investopedia, But other than that i learned a lots of new things about financial market

par Vallery T

3 juil. 2020

I have taken an interest in economics, but ignored many factors that take a role. This course has definitely helped me see the bigger picture. Thank you for giving the opportunity for us to learn from you.