Chevron Left
Retour à Understanding Financial Markets

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Understanding Financial Markets par Université de Genève

4.7
étoiles
4,424 évaluations
925 avis

À propos du cours

In this course, you will learn what the main financial markets and their characteristics are as well as how they are linked to the economy. Our very diversified team of experts will start by teaching you how the price of stocks and bonds are computed and why they move while you will become increasingly aware of the notion of risk and why it matters when measuring an investment's performance. The focus will then move to less popular markets such as gold, emerging markets, real estate, hedge funds and private markets. These will be analyzed with an emphasis on their particular risks and return opportunities as well as how they can help in building efficient portfolios. Finally, the policies of central banks and their impact on financial markets will be presented to you along with the link between the economy and the price of financial assets. All along these different steps, experts from UBS, our corporate partner, will show you how the concepts you just acquired are effectively applied in a leading global bank. This focus on practicality means you will not only understand what is going on in global financial markets but also start to figure out how you can use them to achieve financial goals, be it a client's or your own. Course Director and main teaching contributor: Dr. Michel Girardin, Lecturer in Macro-Finance, University of Geneva...

Meilleurs avis

MC
16 juil. 2017

Mr. Michel is really an amazing teacher! His lectures are vivic and greatly attracts my attention. I hope to take more of his classes because I've Learned more than I nomally can do in a short class

RC
5 oct. 2020

Thank you! Coursera for providing me the platform for boosting my knowledge in Financial Markets, as i have learned various financial parts in this subject and this will help me in my carrier too.

Filtrer par :

701 - 725 sur 905 Avis pour Understanding Financial Markets

par Jyotsna r

23 juil. 2020

Good

par Mona A A

16 juin 2020

GOOD

par Dr V S K

25 avr. 2020

Good

par WADHAH A M H A

25 janv. 2018

Good

par Fábio C F J

13 févr. 2019

top

par Jinglei G

11 août 2016

ver

par Yuvraj S

6 août 2020

Ok

par Fəxriyyə H

28 nov. 2020

.

par Gregory P

21 nov. 2018

1

par Bartłomiej N

6 nov. 2018

P

par zhangchengdong

14 nov. 2017

i

par Akshay G M

24 juil. 2017

v

par Jonathan M

29 mai 2017

I

par Dave B

3 janv. 2017

I

par Francisco L

11 nov. 2016

I

par Diana K

17 avr. 2016

W

par Suhrob S

12 mars 2016

g

par Shane C

28 févr. 2016

G

par Elizaveta

15 mai 2020

I do love the lecture, his smile lifts my mood at all times. I don't feel like finance is something boring or difficult when I'm listening to him. Perfect choice for the lecture. Very good energy he has! Looks encouraging and filling up with energy and motivation. However, regarding the course content, I would suggest more practical tasks that would be optional and would be based on real situations. China/Brazil/ India - the countries were mentioned but I would work with the figures and analyse data more before the tests so that I could gain mechanic skills, not just knowledge. There are nice tasks about calculating Enterpirise Value, yield, some others, still now I have no idea how I could use these skills in practice. You have here people who didn't do any maths for decades, so could be great to add some optional tasks(for those who want it) to help cone the skills. Otherwise, thank you for zest and encouragement and comprehensive manner of putting it all togehter.

par Mohamed K I A E

30 juin 2016

This course helped me a lot to better understand the financial markets , and the different assets in which we can invest. The presentation was simple and clear in most of the modules. Maybe more examples and detailed description needed in company evaluation especially for students with moderate mathematical background. The module of Bonds needs -in my opinion - reconstruction so that we can read and understand the changes in Bonds' prices we find in the economical websites and newspapers. Anyway, the course is motivating to know more & extend our knowledge. Thanks a lot to all the professors and lecturers who prepared that course. Special thanks to Dr. Michelle and Dr. Ines for their attractive and simple approach. I recommend this course to all interested in investment management either for themselves or for professional purposes.

par Steve A

6 mars 2016

Generally this is a good course. It has a good bit of definitions about markets. As an individual investor I picked up some information on Net Present Value pricing of stock. Now that the courses are not free we have to determine does the cost provide the value for me. I think of the specializations as being one semester of schooling. A general semester last 16 weeks and thus one specialization last 4 months with a capstone project, so about 20 weeks. Total cost of the specialization is roughly equivalent to one semester class at most Colleges. The advantage to the current layout of learning is that it puts the information into a structured timeline. This places time limits on the info which has a tendency to keep me moving toward the goal.

par Preet Z

23 août 2020

The course structure was perfect - starting with the basics and then moving towards the more complex concepts. Weeks 3 and 4 were particularly very informative, it included some concepts and phenomena which one may not even learn in graduate and post graduate courses. Also, the real and very relevant data used to explain the concepts, coupled with very innovative tailor-made graphs crystalised the ideas in the mind. The only suggestion from my side would be that some concepts were indeed tough and more time could have been spent towards their explanations. Apart from that, one would not regret spending precious hours on this course.

par Mohamad Y

2 mars 2018

The videos of UBS Lecturers aren't that beneficial. Professor Ines wasn't that beneficial and she didn't deliver her concepts in a simple way. I liked Mr. Michel and his way of delivering his ideas. I liked the graphs and the correlations from the inverted time scale on the right.I liked the big mac PPP and the visual aids he used.Finally the last part of module 4 had too many information that can be delivered better by giving a quiz about it and to give time for each topic separately.

I enjoyed this course so much and I would recommend it for my friends

par Vishesh V

29 mars 2017

Course content has been very well designed to encompass all the major asset classes and impact of macro economic variables. While all of the topics covered deserve an individual course on itself, but this being a short-term online course, does great justice to the time and fee commitment from students.

I would strongly recommend this course to others.

Thanks to coursera for designing this course and the respected faculty members for their time and sharing insights into these topics with us.

par Jeffrey G

1 juin 2020

The curriculum is well-planned and is easily understandable for learners without any financial background. The lecturers are very professional, too. However, the tests are too tricky -- you'll need to tick all the possible answers in a single question correctly before you're awarded a full point. Test questions should also not hinge on getting previous questions correct -- this potentially leads to a failing the entire test. Test questions should be independent of one another. Thanks.