Chevron Left
Retour à Think Again I: How to Understand Arguments

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Think Again I: How to Understand Arguments par Université Duke

4.6
étoiles
2,153 évaluations
587 avis

À propos du cours

How to Understand Arguments Think Again: How to Reason and Argue Reasoning is important. This series of four short courses will teach you how to do it well. You will learn simple but vital rules to follow in thinking about any topic at all and common and tempting mistakes to avoid in reasoning. We will discuss how to identify, analyze, and evaluate arguments by other people (including politicians, used car salesmen, and teachers) and how to construct arguments of your own in order to help you decide what to believe or what to do. These skills will be useful in dealing with whatever matters most to you. Courses at a Glance: All four courses in this series are offered through sessions which run every four weeks. We suggest sticking to the weekly schedule to the best of your ability. If for whatever reason you fall behind, feel free to re-enroll in the next session.We also suggest that you start each course close to the beginning of a month in order to increase the number of peers in the discussion forums who are working on the same material as you are. While each course can be taken independently, we suggest you take the four courses in order. Course 1 - Think Again I: How to Understand Arguments Course 2 - Think Again II: How to Reason Deductively Course 3 - Think Again III: How to Reason Inductively Course 4 - Think Again IV: How to Avoid Fallacies About This Course in the Series: When is someone giving an argument instead of just yelling? Which parts of what they say contribute to the argument? Why are they arguing instead of fighting? What are arguments made of? What forms do they take? Think Again: How to Understand Arguments will answer these questions and more. In this course, you will learn what an argument is. The definition of argument will enable students to identify when speakers are giving arguments and when they are not. Next, we will learn how to break an argument into its essential parts, how to put them in order to reveal their connections, and how to fill in gaps in an argument. By the end of this course, students will be better able to understand and appreciate arguments that they and other people present. Suggested Readings: Students who want more detailed explanations or additional exercises or who want to explore these topics in more depth should consult Understanding Arguments: An Introduction to Informal Logic, Ninth Edition, Concise, Chapters 1-5, by Walter Sinnott-Armstrong and Robert Fogelin. Course Format: Each week will be divided into multiple video segments that can be viewed separately or in groups. There will be short ungraded quizzes after each segment (to check comprehension) and a longer graded quiz at the end of the course....

Meilleurs avis

FY

Jul 06, 2018

I found this course very challenging as I find critical thinking very difficult. However this course was extremely rewarding and I will be taking the other three modules in the Think Again series.

SM

Jun 11, 2020

I found this course very challenging as I find critical thinking very difficult. However this course was extremely rewarding and I will be taking the other three modules in the Think Again series.

Filtrer par :

176 - 200 sur 578 Avis pour Think Again I: How to Understand Arguments

par YL Z

Jun 28, 2018

This is an interesting , easy-to-understand and useful course to understand arguments, and to put thinking into a rational perspective.

par Cristiano C L

Oct 30, 2018

I'm very grateful to have done this excellent course. It should be part of the learning at schools. Congratulations and thank you.

par Ilya K

Jan 22, 2017

Thank you very much for this course. It helps to understand more clearly the arguments and to be more wise in the art of disputes.

par Valentina R

May 05, 2019

A very interesting and challenging course, in my opinion the material was well structured and understandable. Strongly recommend

par Carlo P

Aug 24, 2019

I appreciated Very much this course, because it allow me to understand better and in a critical way what someone said or write

par Ibrahim N

Jun 25, 2020

This course really teaches you how to think. It will open up a whole new world of argumentation for you. Totally worth of it,

par Basma G

Jul 19, 2017

This course is what I consider a life changing knowledge experience. It's practical, clear, very informative and still fun !

par Carol G

May 28, 2020

Dr. Sinnott-Armstrong's pleasing demeanor, sense of humor, and simplified examples kept me intrigued throughout the course.

par GURINDER K

Apr 05, 2020

Finally I have completed my course. It was very challenging and demands full concentration but totally worth-full.Thank you

par Paul O F

Oct 28, 2018

It´s a great course. The professor is a great teacher (in the sense of teaching others) and the content is very practical.

par Renato A D

Apr 08, 2018

Very well structured course. Learn a lot. Just last week (reconstruction examples) are a bit confusing and hard to follow.

par Raj G

Dec 22, 2016

It changed my thinking and behavior totally. It's a must learn for everyone from my side to the one who seeks knowledge.

par Jack R

May 20, 2020

Amazing course to help you get started with understanding arguments, reasoning and helping to understand people better.

par Iona F

Feb 07, 2018

This was a most excellent course on how to understand and conclude an argument. it is beneficial in all fields of life

par Mark E A A

Jun 19, 2020

I love how this course was presented with so much enthusiasm by the instructors. The assessments are very challenging!

par Anastasia G

Dec 18, 2016

The course was really useful! And I would also like to outline the charismatic teacher who inspired to learn smth new!

par Jose M S

Oct 20, 2018

This course remember me the lacks i have and encorage me to continue taking the others, this course is simply amazing

par Teng C H

Sep 08, 2020

Learned so much from this course about the structures of argument. Highly recommended but also mentally very taxing.

par Jordan N

Jul 03, 2020

Excellent course i lernad how to understand arguments in a way that permits to find the root and reasoning behind it

par victoria

Mar 26, 2019

Great course! Highly recommend. I knew nothing about logic before this, and I found it understandable and enjoyable.

par Utpal D

Jun 11, 2017

Incredible course which gives you a science behind the Arguments, Never imagined such a structure existed. Hats off!

par Xinyi X

Apr 14, 2019

The teacher is really adorable and funny! However, I do hope every question can show the answer to why I am wrong.

par SHAILESH K

Jun 04, 2020

It very easy to understand lecture through Given example in lecturer. will help in real life also.

Thanks Team.

par Abdullah E

Sep 22, 2017

This course is very helpful. It starts from zero basics and highly simplified. Also, it's almost comprehensive.