Chevron Left
Retour à Think Again I: How to Understand Arguments

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Think Again I: How to Understand Arguments par Université Duke

4.6
étoiles
2,327 évaluations
634 avis

À propos du cours

In this course, you will learn what an argument is. The definition of argument will enable you to identify when speakers are giving arguments and when they are not. Next, you will learn how to break an argument into its essential parts, how to put them in order to reveal their connections, and how to fill in gaps in an argument by adding suppressed premises. By the end of this course, you will be better able to understand and appreciate arguments that you and other people present. Suggested Readings: Students who want more detailed explanations or additional exercises or who want to explore these topics in more depth should consult Understanding Arguments: An Introduction to Informal Logic, Ninth Edition, Concise, Chapters 1-5, by Walter Sinnott-Armstrong and Robert Fogelin. Course Format: Each week will be divided into multiple video segments that can be viewed separately or in groups. There will be short ungraded quizzes after each segment (to check comprehension) and a longer graded quiz at the end of the course....

Meilleurs avis

FY
5 juil. 2018

I found this course very challenging as I find critical thinking very difficult. However this course was extremely rewarding and I will be taking the other three modules in the Think Again series.

SM
10 juin 2020

I found this course very challenging as I find critical thinking very difficult. However this course was extremely rewarding and I will be taking the other three modules in the Think Again series.

Filtrer par :

176 - 200 sur 624 Avis pour Think Again I: How to Understand Arguments

par Heinz H

1 oct. 2019

I like the concept and the profound analysis of language and speech very much. I have just glanced over the course so far, but I want to finish it.

par Amy ( Q

3 mars 2018

Great, quizs while learning helps to understand bette^_^ And the teacher is humourous.

Thanks to Dr. Walter and thousands of likes for Coursera.

par Henault A

18 sept. 2019

Very interesting curse, because in my technological carrier nobody give me the reflexe to thinking about arguments and how to use it to progress

par JoAnn A

10 avr. 2017

Although I had some background "noise" that made this course challenging, it was a good learning experience! The professors made it interesting.

par Mary A

20 sept. 2017

It is a great course. The instructor is excellent , he tries his best to make it easy and fun though the subject is not easy . Thank you all

par Juan S P S

10 août 2020

This course was intriguing, interesting and enlighting! I strongly recommed everyone who is in fond of linguistics and philosophy to take it.

par Phoebe D

19 nov. 2020

This course is fantastic, now I know more about arguments and how to identify whether an argument is valid or invalid, good or bad. Thanks.

par Josef P

27 mars 2020

Great Professor Sinnott-Armstrong, thorough and comprehensible explanation, interesting examples (R. Redford, but especially Monty Python).

par Yiye D

13 mars 2017

This course is awesome! I really appreciate the time and effort devoted to make this course such a great introduction to critical thinking!

par Stephen K

15 juin 2020

The course was easily digestible and engaging. I would highly recommend it to anyone wanting to hone their logic and argumentation skills.

par Matthew K

15 mai 2017

I very much appreciated the material collected and presented for this first in the Think Again series. The course was quite enjoyable too.

par Luis A

14 janv. 2018

This course was very clear for me, it gives a lot of examples and it gives very good explanations for the correct choices in the quizzes.

par Victoria M M

3 juil. 2020

It was a great experience! It was not heavy with materials but it really makes you to renew and refresh your way of thinking critically.

par NARASIMHAN V

12 juin 2020

YOU ARE SUCH A TALENTED GUY WITH SOME FUNNY SKILLS.HOPE PASS MY WISHES TO ALL THOSE TOOK EFFORT IN MAKING SUCH A WONDERFUL COURSE SIR!!!

par Semanur G

28 sept. 2020

It has been a very useful lesson in developing my skills to make valid and sound arguments, to think critically and to analyze. Thanks.

par Hrom T

11 mai 2020

I liked this course so much! It was interesting and fun! The professor explained everything very clearly and in an understandable way.

par YL Z

28 juin 2018

This is an interesting , easy-to-understand and useful course to understand arguments, and to put thinking into a rational perspective.

par Muhammad F Y P

23 oct. 2020

The perfect class for those who are interested in learning how to give better arguments, and avoid being deceived by bad arguments.

par Cristiano C L

30 oct. 2018

I'm very grateful to have done this excellent course. It should be part of the learning at schools. Congratulations and thank you.

par Ilya K

22 janv. 2017

Thank you very much for this course. It helps to understand more clearly the arguments and to be more wise in the art of disputes.

par Valentina R

5 mai 2019

A very interesting and challenging course, in my opinion the material was well structured and understandable. Strongly recommend

par Carlo P

24 août 2019

I appreciated Very much this course, because it allow me to understand better and in a critical way what someone said or write

par Ibrahim N

25 juin 2020

This course really teaches you how to think. It will open up a whole new world of argumentation for you. Totally worth of it,