Chevron Left
Retour à Think Again I: How to Understand Arguments

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Think Again I: How to Understand Arguments par Université Duke

4.6
étoiles
2,321 évaluations
633 avis

À propos du cours

In this course, you will learn what an argument is. The definition of argument will enable you to identify when speakers are giving arguments and when they are not. Next, you will learn how to break an argument into its essential parts, how to put them in order to reveal their connections, and how to fill in gaps in an argument by adding suppressed premises. By the end of this course, you will be better able to understand and appreciate arguments that you and other people present. Suggested Readings: Students who want more detailed explanations or additional exercises or who want to explore these topics in more depth should consult Understanding Arguments: An Introduction to Informal Logic, Ninth Edition, Concise, Chapters 1-5, by Walter Sinnott-Armstrong and Robert Fogelin. Course Format: Each week will be divided into multiple video segments that can be viewed separately or in groups. There will be short ungraded quizzes after each segment (to check comprehension) and a longer graded quiz at the end of the course....

Meilleurs avis

FY
5 juil. 2018

I found this course very challenging as I find critical thinking very difficult. However this course was extremely rewarding and I will be taking the other three modules in the Think Again series.

SM
10 juin 2020

I found this course very challenging as I find critical thinking very difficult. However this course was extremely rewarding and I will be taking the other three modules in the Think Again series.

Filtrer par :

501 - 525 sur 623 Avis pour Think Again I: How to Understand Arguments

par Esther M

8 janv. 2018

The lectures were a little long but were thorough. I didn't realize this course was part of a series. I think I would like to see a more condensed version. I will have to take the other course(s) to find out.

par RAFAEL A M A

15 févr. 2017

Percibí áreas de oportunidad en la claridad de algunos de los ejemplos que el expositor empleó a lo largo del curso. El caso que más crítico fue el de "Búfalo, Búfalo, Búfalo.... hasta llegar a 11 Búfalos..."

par Chua C X

12 juin 2020

It has been good in strengthening my understanding and structure of arguments. It is a very fun subject looking at some of the small things that make up arguments. Do try this out on your own free time.

par Pablo E

3 janv. 2018

A structured way to make and understand arguments. I recommend it. Advice for future students: Pay strong attention in the lectures to the concepts of validity, soundness and argument markers.

par Daniel M

4 juil. 2020

It was something completely new to me. I had a bit of a rough time understanding to begin with, but pushed through. Glad I did. I'll be continuing with the remaining four soon. Great stuff.

par Amal K

28 juil. 2019

Many thanks, i have had fun in the course. Material was easy to comprehend and flow easy to follow . I am just giving it 4 stars, as i think more practical examples should be provided

par Deneil L

15 mars 2017

I found this course to be very interesting. I certainly gained a better understanding of arguments, my own shortcomings and steps I can take to improve/put into practice. Thank you.

par Jesus E S M

5 nov. 2020

I found this course full of useful information, now I am starting to analyse my daily talking with other persons in a complex way. It was a great start for the serie's think again

par Dysprosium

25 juin 2017

Great intro course. The skills taught can be useful for both academic pursuits as well as making our way through the bombardment of information we navigate in our daily lives.

par Berren D

26 oct. 2020

I learned a lot about arguments and reasoning, and the Professor does a good job explaining things. The lectures, too, are (for the most part) not too long and not too short.

par Nguyễn T Q

10 mai 2020

This course helps me improve knowledge about arguments a lot. I studied many interesting things with a friendly professor. But I found hard to apply it to practice.

par Bridgette F

15 juil. 2019

The Instructor Is Fun,I Really Enjoyed The Entire Course Up Until The Awful FInal Quiz.I Have Not Encountered Another Final Test/Quiz Quite As Annoying As This One.

par Andrew C

16 nov. 2016

An excellent course, but it is hard going (took me 3 attempts to get through the final quiz!). Recommend for anyone interested in how people present arguments.

par Guillermo P

4 août 2017

Very well explained every aspect of an argument with examples explained in great detail. Clearly lot of work has put into this and I thank everyone for it.

par Ricky S S

18 oct. 2017

Interesting view on how to construct and deconstruct arguments. Not enough focus on more complex issues though. The examples, in general, were too simple.

par Gregory R

8 sept. 2020

Professor was fun and entertaining. This course provided information on how to break down an argument and actually get more out of what you are reading.

par Nargis l

28 juil. 2017

It was interesting working through this course and though I had to repeat my assignments I understood that I need to enhance my skills in argumentation.

par William M

28 déc. 2016

Weekly quizzes instead of just the final (that actually counts for a grade) would be very helpful to me, but it was a great course and I learned a lot!

par Vincent A

6 août 2020

Really enjoyed the course, although some of the videos did give me grief because of the length. Loved learning all the content throughout though.

par David B

3 nov. 2020

Algunas veces, los subtítulos, tanto en español como en inglés, tienen desfase conforme corre el video. Fuera de eso, es un excelente curso >o<

par Mario A P G

30 oct. 2020

The course is unusual but great, as a student at University, having a course about thinking it helps to check what I'm saying before to do it.

par Win K K

15 juil. 2020

I do enjoy it but this course is mainly focused on theory. Sometimes, it is hard to understand and I still think it should be more practical.

par wai c c

24 sept. 2016

I do enjoy the course through interaction with other participants and like to express my sincere gratitude to Coursera and Duke University.

par Darryl C

3 avr. 2017

No complaints. This course revealed im more interested in the interpersonal dynamic of influence and persuasion vs the logic of arguments.