Chevron Left
Retour à Think Again I: How to Understand Arguments

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Think Again I: How to Understand Arguments par Université Duke

4.6
étoiles
2,258 évaluations
614 avis

À propos du cours

In this course, you will learn what an argument is. The definition of argument will enable you to identify when speakers are giving arguments and when they are not. Next, you will learn how to break an argument into its essential parts, how to put them in order to reveal their connections, and how to fill in gaps in an argument by adding suppressed premises. By the end of this course, you will be better able to understand and appreciate arguments that you and other people present. Suggested Readings: Students who want more detailed explanations or additional exercises or who want to explore these topics in more depth should consult Understanding Arguments: An Introduction to Informal Logic, Ninth Edition, Concise, Chapters 1-5, by Walter Sinnott-Armstrong and Robert Fogelin. Course Format: Each week will be divided into multiple video segments that can be viewed separately or in groups. There will be short ungraded quizzes after each segment (to check comprehension) and a longer graded quiz at the end of the course....

Meilleurs avis

SM

Jun 11, 2020

I found this course very challenging as I find critical thinking very difficult. However this course was extremely rewarding and I will be taking the other three modules in the Think Again series.

FY

Jul 06, 2018

I found this course very challenging as I find critical thinking very difficult. However this course was extremely rewarding and I will be taking the other three modules in the Think Again series.

Filtrer par :

226 - 250 sur 606 Avis pour Think Again I: How to Understand Arguments

par Susan M

Jun 22, 2017

This entire series was informative, engaging, and fun, and the thinking skills taught are so valuable.

par Golam S T

Jun 29, 2020

It was really a great experience. I hope I can use the knowledge for the betterment of my daily life.

par Douglas D

Sep 15, 2019

Great fun and it really makes you think, as well as change how you view arguments in your daily life.

par Ayesha I

May 01, 2020

This was an easy course for me. And my first ever online course and Im soooo happy to complete it :)

par Aaron S

Apr 03, 2020

Excellent lectures and lessons. Each quiz does a great job at reviewing the material in each lecture

par Janice L D

Jul 16, 2020

What I thought was simple is more complex! I learned quite a bit on this course. Time well spent.

par Mohammad J Z

Jun 12, 2020

I learned a lot from this course, I think it is best for those who are interested in philosophy.

par Petr L

Jun 04, 2020

Very clear and nice course. Useful - it should be a part all education esp. on university level.

par Cristian N

Mar 26, 2017

Great course for people trying to excels themselves in critical analysis of arguments and debate

par Sevdenur Ç

May 16, 2020

It is a wonderful course! I have learned so many things, the professor is great in every sense.

par yan l

Sep 13, 2018

The professor is hilarious and knows how to explain very complicated issues with simple words.

par Santiago G

Mar 16, 2018

Excellent delivery; entertaining, concise, clear and well structured. Very useful information.

par gurpreet b

Feb 28, 2017

A perfect course to lay the foundation to the understanding of arguments used in daily lives.

par mfonobong u

Sep 20, 2020

This course has really opened my understanding on read, analyse and write scholarly papers.

par Apul V

Apr 26, 2020

It was my first course and it was a wonderful experience.Prof. Walter is an amazing teacher.

par kirtikumar b P

Nov 16, 2017

this is best way to learn. i appreciate that thing. thank you so much coursera. thanks a lot

par Anil K J

Dec 26, 2016

Thanks a lot! It's a very nice course. This is very helpful to understand about an Argument.

par Nidhi R

Nov 21, 2016

LOVED this course!! Loved professor's engaging ways to explain complicated concepts in logic

par Gregg B

Jun 15, 2020

Not what I was expecting but I got a lot out of it and enjoyed all the lectures. thank you

par John O R

Apr 26, 2020

I really enjoyed this class and I hope to take what I learned from it to advance my career

par Ariana H

Dec 03, 2016

Great course; highly informative. Good teaching that makes the subject easy to understand.

par Michael S

Nov 21, 2016

Easy to understand and fun. Professor explains concepts thoroughly. Would Highly recommend

par Lucia M

Nov 27, 2018

Great course to learn how to deconstruct arguments and check for soundness and validity.

par alex m

Oct 17, 2020

El curso es muy bueno, muy bien explicado y me será de gran utilidad. ¡Muchas gracias!

par Nasir A

Mar 31, 2019

Very informative and learned many things from this course thanks for great improvement