Chevron Left
Retour à Think Again I: How to Understand Arguments

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Think Again I: How to Understand Arguments par Université Duke

4.6
étoiles
2,590 évaluations
701 avis

À propos du cours

In this course, you will learn what an argument is. The definition of argument will enable you to identify when speakers are giving arguments and when they are not. Next, you will learn how to break an argument into its essential parts, how to put them in order to reveal their connections, and how to fill in gaps in an argument by adding suppressed premises. By the end of this course, you will be better able to understand and appreciate arguments that you and other people present. Suggested Readings: Students who want more detailed explanations or additional exercises or who want to explore these topics in more depth should consult Understanding Arguments: An Introduction to Informal Logic, Ninth Edition, Concise, Chapters 1-5, by Walter Sinnott-Armstrong and Robert Fogelin. Course Format: Each week will be divided into multiple video segments that can be viewed separately or in groups. There will be short ungraded quizzes after each segment (to check comprehension) and a longer graded quiz at the end of the course....

Meilleurs avis

AA
10 oct. 2016

Very good course, made me really think again. The professor is very clear on his explanations and he also made the course smooth and funny, which helped on the learning process. Highly recommended!

FY
5 juil. 2018

I found this course very challenging as I find critical thinking very difficult. However this course was extremely rewarding and I will be taking the other three modules in the Think Again series.

Filtrer par :

676 - 692 sur 692 Avis pour Think Again I: How to Understand Arguments

par Emil

11 juil. 2020

This was a strange course.

par Nicole R

22 mai 2018

Somewhat outdated videos.

par Ricardo S

13 juil. 2020

No es lo que esperaba

par Deepali

17 mai 2020

Super

par Stella O

15 sept. 2020

I learned a lot about arguments. However, I feel that it was at times very confusing and difficult to understand. There was not enough practice to learn how to apply the theories and concepts of arguments. It was as difficult as taking a Math course without tools for practicing the problems of the concepts and theories. Also, the instructors should refer to other Cousera MOOCs that make learning material easy to recall and fun such as Mindshift (from McMaster University) ; Learning How to Learn (from several partners); Positive Psychology: Resilience Skills (from the University of Pennsylvania); Psychological First Aid (from Johns Hopkins University); and the Science of Success (from the University of Michigan). The professors who teach these courses make it so easy to understand the material and remember it. I have even gone back to review these courses and recommended them to my family members. I will not recommend this course. This MOOC was the first MOOC that I had problems with. I had to take the final quiz more than once in other to pass it. The presentation of the material needs to be improved. This explains why lots of people are not taking the course.

par Eric D

18 août 2020

Not what I was expecting at all... Rather than being called "How to understand arguments" this should be called "How to understand what IS an argument and what parts it is made of. This "course is very theoretical and doesn't really explain how to spot fallacies, shortcuts etc, or how to construct a good, clear argument, which is what I expected from this course. So maybe I just took the wrong class, but to be honest I am disappointed with the time spent and what I've actually learnt.

par ΑΙΚΑΤΕΡΙΝΗ Μ

5 févr. 2021

ΕΝΔΙΑΦΕΡΟΝ ΑΛΛΑ ΔΥΣΚΟΛΟ ΓΙΑ ΜΕΝΑ..

par Rocio d M T

19 févr. 2021

Not what I'm looking for. The instructor chose a way of teaching that is not to my entire satisfaction with lots of joke-like prompts and too many details that make a simple explanation too long in my view. No wonder he extended the courses in four parts. I do not agree in making things unnecesary long in order to achieve more. I am dissapointed and I'm therefore unenrolling from this. Good luck.

par Muna A S

26 mars 2021

A very long training course compared to the same quality of training courses and training materials is heavy and not commensurate with the distance learning system, where the goal is the speed of information arrival and the reduction of materials so that it achieves the goal with the largest segment of recipients

par Paola S

6 juil. 2020

In my view, this Course is meaningless. I could pass the final test after completing 1,5 weeks instead of 4. I still can't understand which is the aim of this program. Nevertheless, the teacher is very smart.

par Manisha P

11 juil. 2020

So difficult. why it has been developed, when persons are not getting achieving it? the course should be not so difficult either not too easy.

par Dr. B

19 mai 2020

Curriculum design did not meet expectation. Lectures too long and taking a test after each lecture became tedious.

par Plato 3

22 avr. 2020

This course should be named (Think again : How to use logical fallacies).

It is full with logical fallacies.

par Owie O

13 avr. 2020

The videos were too long and boring

par Brigitte M

1 oct. 2020

It felt boring and biaised.

par Parth K

30 avr. 2020

no need

par Anudatt D

5 sept. 2019

.