Chevron Left
Retour à Think Again I: How to Understand Arguments

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Think Again I: How to Understand Arguments par Université Duke

4.6
étoiles
2,337 évaluations
635 avis

À propos du cours

In this course, you will learn what an argument is. The definition of argument will enable you to identify when speakers are giving arguments and when they are not. Next, you will learn how to break an argument into its essential parts, how to put them in order to reveal their connections, and how to fill in gaps in an argument by adding suppressed premises. By the end of this course, you will be better able to understand and appreciate arguments that you and other people present. Suggested Readings: Students who want more detailed explanations or additional exercises or who want to explore these topics in more depth should consult Understanding Arguments: An Introduction to Informal Logic, Ninth Edition, Concise, Chapters 1-5, by Walter Sinnott-Armstrong and Robert Fogelin. Course Format: Each week will be divided into multiple video segments that can be viewed separately or in groups. There will be short ungraded quizzes after each segment (to check comprehension) and a longer graded quiz at the end of the course....

Meilleurs avis

FY
5 juil. 2018

I found this course very challenging as I find critical thinking very difficult. However this course was extremely rewarding and I will be taking the other three modules in the Think Again series.

SM
10 juin 2020

I found this course very challenging as I find critical thinking very difficult. However this course was extremely rewarding and I will be taking the other three modules in the Think Again series.

Filtrer par :

576 - 600 sur 625 Avis pour Think Again I: How to Understand Arguments

par SHARMA H P

16 nov. 2017

very helpful course.....

par Nguyen T K

19 juin 2017

this course is so useful

par Christian D

9 janv. 2020

Very well structured

par NIRAV V

15 mai 2020

REALLY GOOD CONTENT

par Juan C

26 nov. 2018

Kind of difficult

par sarayudth c

22 sept. 2017

good course cheer

par Cecilia F

25 mai 2020

Very meaningful.

par Eder L B G A S

19 mai 2020

Great course

par Henrietta J

7 nov. 2016

Fun course!

par Iris L

28 févr. 2017

Excellent

par NIYA P

28 août 2020

good

par Laura B

3 janv. 2020

Very

par Jacob A V

17 oct. 2019

Good

par vidushi k

31 janv. 2019

good

par Saurabh J

16 nov. 2017

nice

par NIRMAL K

18 janv. 2019

g

par mahesh g

10 nov. 2017

s

par Greg G

16 août 2016

Dr. Sinnott-Armstrong does an amazingly thorough and detailed job, and the progression of the course is well planned and well executed.

I wanted to give the course a higher rating, but unfortunately, the good doctor's explanatory skills only served to confuse and frustrate me, the further I progressed through the course. Extemporaneous examples were unintentionally and unnecessarily muddled. There were numerous misspoken or confused terms that could easily have been re-recorded or edited. And the splicing between the old course and the new one is sometimes discontinuous (though, to be fair, they warn us about that at the beginning).

Nevertheless, I would still highly recommend the course to anyone looking for a thorough-going university-level course in critical thinking, and basic argumentation.

par Ahmed S G

31 mai 2020

It was good, but it provided too much attention to argument evaluation. I guess knowing which kind of arguments I am having right now, which is valid or invalid, doesn't make me deal well with the argument. It may be satisfying to say that these premises are not good, real, or related to the conclusion. I hope I will be wrong and find that detailed section so valuable.

par Daniel

30 juin 2020

I thought it was overall a helpful class that underlined very important, lifelong skills to arguing, but, at times, it struggled to keep my interest, as much of it was redundant. However, I loved the enthusiasm from the professor and the colorful examples.

par Sophie P K

3 juin 2018

There was a lot of new information, I learned a lot. A bit too long for me, since I'm only 9 years old. I'm happy I accomplished it, though! The reason why I gave three stars is because the due dates on the quizzes did not show. It made me rush at the end.

par MAHMOUD M A E

15 oct. 2020

it is a good course .. thanks to the author .. i don't deny that i expected better than this, but thank you sir for your effort, appreciated.. (I think time could be better managed to half that time probably!).. thanks again :)

par Dorothy H

17 août 2016

Hoping that the next sections won't be so laborious and focussed on analyzing texts in detail. If you want to know how to do such things, then this would be a 5-star course for you.

par Wong H Z

7 mai 2020

Some of the examples are useful/helpful in illustrating the concepts, but there are too much time spent on elaborating the unnecessary or repeating the points.

par Ana I R M

26 avr. 2020

Se ofrece el curso traducido a varios idiomas pero sólo los videos están traducidos. Los cuestionarios y las preguntas emergentes no están traducidas.