Chevron Left
Retour à Introduction to Typography

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Introduction to Typography par California Institute of the Arts

4.8
étoiles
2,998 évaluations
587 avis

À propos du cours

Typography is the art of manipulating the visual form of language to enrich and control its meaning. It’s an essential area of skill and knowledge for graphic designers. Typography predates modern graphic design by around 500 years; it is rich in rules, conventions, and esoteric terminology—but it remains an exciting space for invention and expression. In this rigorous introductory course, we will study, name, and measure the characteristics of letterforms. We’ll consider the pragmatic concerns involved in selecting and combining type. We’ll peek into the 
rich historical, cultural, and aesthetic histories of familiar typefaces. We’ll discuss time-tested conventions and best practices in setting type, as governed by principles of hierarchy and spatial organization. And we’ll explore the expressive, meaning-making potential of type. Informative lectures will be complemented by a series of three peer-assessed assignments, culminating 
in an opportunity to design a full-scale typographic poster. Please note that this is not a software course; a basic working knowledge of Adobe InDesign or other 
page layout software will be assumed. You will need access to a computer and page layout software, such as InDesign, to complete the assignments....

Meilleurs avis

JC

Jul 29, 2018

Loved that the main typeface study was carried out throughout this course. Loved beginning with the writing assignment and then evolving into a full on typographic poster. Very fun and informative

LS

Apr 07, 2016

Very organized and detailed about the basic, history, characteristics of typography.\n\nI really enjoyed it and wish there were other courses by the same lecturer.\n\nThanks for the great course!!

Filtrer par :

151 - 175 sur 562 Avis pour Introduction to Typography

par Justyna B

May 06, 2019

I absolutely enjoyed this course! Especially the little projects - I could actually see my progress. Really recommend.

par Muhammad T

May 03, 2016

Excellent course, I recommend this course to all learners, who want to get introduced with Typography and Typesetting.

par Tarik M

Mar 10, 2020

I learned a lot from this course, especially how to see typography in various uses, and how to use it professionally.

par Samara K

Aug 30, 2019

This course was a great introduction for me into typography. I really grew to love typography and all its elements!

par Juachi O

Sep 21, 2017

Really enjoyed this course. Helped me to really examine my typography choices instead of always working intuitively

par Neveen F

Jan 05, 2020

I loved it, I learned a lot about typefaces, the way this course was designed is impressive, thank you very much!

par Michael D

Mar 21, 2016

Lectures are great - very informative and interesting. I appreciate the work that went in to creating the course!

par Sarah K

Apr 07, 2019

Very interesting theory. Good balance between knowledge (quizzes) and practice (assignments) to ensure learning.

par Camila R

Jan 26, 2019

Excellent course, highly recommended! It provides a lot of useful concepts. You will love typography after it.

par Patricia M C

May 15, 2017

Maravilloso a pesar no manejarme en el mismo idioma puede aprender bastante con algo más de tiempo y esfuerzo

par Anne-Sophie M

Aug 20, 2016

Really good course! The assignments are very well designed and just make you to learn more about typography.

par Anna K

May 03, 2016

Very interesting and helpful, especially for me as a beginner. Great lecturer.

Thanks a lot for this course!

par Monique P P

May 24, 2016

Interesting course! I learned a lot from this course and from my peers. Thank you so much for offering it.

par Saurabh G

May 14, 2016

I loved this course. Everything is explained really well and the assignments are pretty good too. 5 stars!

par Shibu P

Apr 16, 2019

An informative course which makes you aware of a bundle of essential knowledge about typefaces and fonts.

par Amanda J V

Oct 17, 2016

This was a fun introduction to typography. I really enjoyed the assignments and the informative lessons.

par Keisuke F

Dec 19, 2019

Very good course. I've learned about typography a lot.

I tried making some logs and customers like them.

par Tigran G

Oct 23, 2017

I enter the world of typography, typeface, fonts, greeds, expressive posters and etc. It was realy cool

par Rumana

Oct 08, 2017

Typography and grammar came together, win-win! Guess what my favourite subject is now? Its Typography.

par Tanjim T J

Nov 29, 2016

It was a great experience.I have learnt many important and useful things.Thanks to coursera and CalArt

par Courtney A

Apr 04, 2016

Very informative and a lot of fun to learn about! I also thought the assignments were very beneficial.

par Blanca J S

Aug 08, 2016

Great course! A little basic for those who already know a little about design but I enjoyed it a lot.

par Emilio R

Aug 18, 2018

Very well explained lessons on Typography with assigments that improve your understanding. Thank you

par Dana R S

Oct 16, 2017

Recommended for beginners and self-taught typographers. Good explanation on basics and foundations.

par Wei-Ru L

Sep 05, 2016

Detailed knowledges of typography. It's also very practical for applying to any kind of design job.