Chevron Left
Retour à Introduction to Typography

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Introduction to Typography par California Institute of the Arts

4.8
étoiles
3,278 évaluations
654 avis

À propos du cours

Typography is the art of manipulating the visual form of language to enrich and control its meaning. It’s an essential area of skill and knowledge for graphic designers. Typography predates modern graphic design by around 500 years; it is rich in rules, conventions, and esoteric terminology—but it remains an exciting space for invention and expression. In this rigorous introductory course, we will study, name, and measure the characteristics of letterforms. We’ll consider the pragmatic concerns involved in selecting and combining type. We’ll peek into the 
rich historical, cultural, and aesthetic histories of familiar typefaces. We’ll discuss time-tested conventions and best practices in setting type, as governed by principles of hierarchy and spatial organization. And we’ll explore the expressive, meaning-making potential of type. Informative lectures will be complemented by a series of three peer-assessed assignments, culminating 
in an opportunity to design a full-scale typographic poster. Please note that this is not a software course; a basic working knowledge of Adobe InDesign or other 
page layout software will be assumed. You will need access to a computer and page layout software, such as InDesign, to complete the assignments....

Meilleurs avis

JC

Jul 29, 2018

Loved that the main typeface study was carried out throughout this course. Loved beginning with the writing assignment and then evolving into a full on typographic poster. Very fun and informative

LS

Apr 07, 2016

Very organized and detailed about the basic, history, characteristics of typography.\n\nI really enjoyed it and wish there were other courses by the same lecturer.\n\nThanks for the great course!!

Filtrer par :

76 - 100 sur 629 Avis pour Introduction to Typography

par Lidia B

Apr 08, 2016

Plenty of information on various aspects of typography presented in detail and in a comrehensive manner, as well as engaging exercises really boost your knowledge and broaden your design horizons!

par Hongjoo Y

Aug 24, 2016

This course was even better than the previous course of the specialization. It explains historical, technical part of the typography and assignments were very well related. Well designed course.

par Jennifer V H

Apr 30, 2016

I learned so much in 4 weeks! Knowing the terminology is wonderful, but I'm excited to start using a grid for my layouts and be able to choose fonts based on the psychology behind their design!

par Rahul K S

May 11, 2020

Ffirstly i need to say thanks to my university they provide me a best platform for learn more about my subject. And i get more knowledge from my forign mentors. I am Thankfully to your support.

par Ethan M

Jan 14, 2018

I highly enjoyed this class. I found it very helpful crash course on typography. The activities were engaging enough to help me understand more of the importance of typography in graphic design

par Elizabeth O

Dec 18, 2017

Reviewed some of what we learned about Typography in the first course (Fundamentals of Graphic Design), but did expand in some areas. Interesting and informative and great course assignments.

par lhys

Sep 29, 2016

The videos are beautifully edited and interesting to watch. There's a good amount of information, without making the course overwhelming. The assignments are clear and focused on the content.

par Juan F Z R

Apr 05, 2020

Como estudiante de arquitectura, este curso me ha ayudado bastante para la diagramación de láminas y el correcto uso de la tipografía. Gracias Coursera y CalArts por este maravilloso curso.

par Junxu L

Jan 14, 2017

Great Course. It is well-organized and instructive. I highly recommend the lectures, however, the assignments are not very challenging. Also, it is kind of theoretical instead of practical.

par Ellie R

Sep 17, 2018

Highly useful information to beginners in typography with very well made videos. Balanced exercises push students to implement the knowledge they acquired mixed with their own creativity.

par Russel Q

Jun 23, 2019

The discerning use of Type has always escaped me. This class helped me see Type blocks as objects in addition to understanding the characteristics of type. Good class by Anther Kiley.

par Susan H

May 24, 2019

Really thorough for an introductory class. The supplementary materials invite the student to go deeper. Made me get out there and get my feet wet in InDesign - fun and good learning!

par Rosa P M V

Aug 26, 2017

I didn't have any idea about all concepts related to Typography. I learned so much that now I see the world in a different way. Now I understand the relation between words and things.

par Jemma H

Apr 14, 2020

I really enjoyed this course as a photographer who studied design I did not go into detail in my degree as to the specifics of typography. I found it beneficial to fill in some gaps.

par Shreya S

Apr 08, 2018

This course helped me understand the basics of typography as well as propelled to experiment with layouts, the composition and collaborate with peers. It was fun learning experience.

par Tsvetelina M

Apr 14, 2020

Typography has always been hard for me. This course makes it way easier to understand typography and how to use it to convey the correct message. I will have so much fun designing..

par Manon P

Oct 10, 2019

Loved it! I've learned so much about typefaces, typography in general. We use it and see it everyday but we don't really know what's behind it, so this course was very interesting!

par Aleksandar J

May 02, 2019

I'm very satisfied with this course overall! Tutorials were clear and interesting and it raised my interest for typography in general. I would recommend it to anybody interested!

par Yunshu

Jan 09, 2017

I have learnt a lot from this introduction course. The peer reviewed assignments also give me the opportunities to see works from other students and inspire me more. Thank you!

par Eva H

Nov 26, 2017

Great course. I love the videos; they are short, specific and right to the main points. I enjoyed all the assignments and creating my designs from scratch.

Thanks to the tutor!

par Veena V

May 09, 2016

The course material is very informative and delves into the history and evolution of typography. The assignments are very interesting and help understand the concepts better.

par Eugenia R

May 13, 2020

I really appreciated the clarity with how the classes are given, and the projects really makes you understand or at least put into use all that was given in the weeks videos.

par udit k

Dec 26, 2017

I liked it. I am graphic designer by profession, but some things are highlighted only when you make the effort to take such courses which provide a brief in-depth overview.

par Mirza B

Aug 22, 2017

A must take course for Graphic Designing learners. Faculty was very helping and lectures & assignments are not too difficult for the ones having some background knowledge.

par Kassandra G C

May 28, 2020

I think the course is excellent but I stumble upon different cases of plagiarism in the assignments. So maybe the instructions could be clearer to avoid these situations.