Chevron Left
Retour à Introduction to Typography

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Introduction to Typography par California Institute of the Arts

4.8
étoiles
3,315 évaluations
661 avis

À propos du cours

Typography is the art of manipulating the visual form of language to enrich and control its meaning. It’s an essential area of skill and knowledge for graphic designers. Typography predates modern graphic design by around 500 years; it is rich in rules, conventions, and esoteric terminology—but it remains an exciting space for invention and expression. In this rigorous introductory course, we will study, name, and measure the characteristics of letterforms. We’ll consider the pragmatic concerns involved in selecting and combining type. We’ll peek into the 
rich historical, cultural, and aesthetic histories of familiar typefaces. We’ll discuss time-tested conventions and best practices in setting type, as governed by principles of hierarchy and spatial organization. And we’ll explore the expressive, meaning-making potential of type. Informative lectures will be complemented by a series of three peer-assessed assignments, culminating 
in an opportunity to design a full-scale typographic poster. Please note that this is not a software course; a basic working knowledge of Adobe InDesign or other 
page layout software will be assumed. You will need access to a computer and page layout software, such as InDesign, to complete the assignments....

Meilleurs avis

JC

Jul 29, 2018

Loved that the main typeface study was carried out throughout this course. Loved beginning with the writing assignment and then evolving into a full on typographic poster. Very fun and informative

LS

Apr 07, 2016

Very organized and detailed about the basic, history, characteristics of typography.\n\nI really enjoyed it and wish there were other courses by the same lecturer.\n\nThanks for the great course!!

Filtrer par :

51 - 75 sur 635 Avis pour Introduction to Typography

par guy k

May 12, 2019

Very good. The course gave me knowledge about typography and terms. the assignments can be improved, the last assignment shouldn't be based on the previous one in my opinion. in general the last week of the course can consist a bit more content.

par Marie-Noëlle W

Apr 20, 2016

This was a quite technical course which allowed me to learn a lot about typography and how it works. I found the video material very interesting and liked how all the assignments were linked to one other by building off each other. Great course!

par Egle H

Nov 08, 2019

Loved it! I thought the assignments were really meaningful for the future in design :) Enjoyed this course very much. There was a bit of repetition from the Fundamentals course, but I think it was necessary. Continuing with the other courses.

par saloni d

Apr 23, 2018

i really liked the course it encourages me to perform more better in the assignments and the classmates suggestions and very helpful to me. the instructor is well communicative and helps me in better understanding of the topics. nice course.

par rom b

May 05, 2020

this course was very interesting great material teacher and projects.

one issue i had in the course as well in the first one of the 5 courses series, is that some people don't rate my assignment according to the rules given by the teacher.

par Lakkhana T

Apr 14, 2018

It was a good class, learn by studying from history and make me more understanding.

You can bring it and apply with your work or job. Also it's a good experience to share your opinion with your classmate. I hope everyone enjoy this class.

par ilias b

Apr 08, 2016

I found this course very well organized and executed. There was clarity and focus in the lectures, and the exercises, should one apply themselves, proved a great space for putting things in practice, in a progressive and meaningful way.

par Claudia U R

Nov 18, 2019

Great Introduction to the uses of typography in Graphic Design and how it can be applied. Valuable theoretical and practical content. I enjoyed a lot taking this course. Thank you so much for making this course available for all of us.

par Laurel B

Mar 14, 2018

The instructor is interesting and thorough, and the assignments help to put our newly gained knowledge to use. I would definitely recommend this course to anyone who wants to learn more about typography and get a little practice in it!

par Liubov S

Dec 04, 2019

This was a very interesting course. It gave me an understanding of how to approach typefaces and what I should consider. But most importantly it was a lot of fun to complete assignments and in the end I got a result I'm very fond of.

par Lili C

Apr 12, 2016

I really enjoyed the historical background this course provided. Since finishing the course, I've started to develop a love for typography and it seems to pop into my mind more often when I read or see something visually stimulating.

par Олександр С М

Nov 07, 2018

Thank you so much for such a great course! For valuable knowledge, great editing and fun activities. I will be definitely recommending this course to my friends who are also interested in Graphic Design. Wish you all the best! Alex.

par Patricia A

Jan 24, 2017

This was a fantastic course in typography. I learned so much about "font". I never imagined all the work that goes into creating new typeface. I was impressed by the history, the process and the strong messages behind each typeface.

par Shirlena R

May 24, 2016

This course also fed my artistic fantasy and allowed me to lose myself in knowledge. I'm still going over what I learned from this course in my head. I even create aside from this course. I don't want to stop and Professor Anther

par Kristen F

Jul 08, 2017

This class ended up being way more interesting than I originally expected it to be, and the last project was a great way to tie in all of the things we have learned up to that point. I definitely feel like I learned a lot.

par Katty A

Apr 17, 2016

A very good introduction to typography. Makes you face some aspects of text editing that were obscure before. Assignments are not overwhelmingly hard but tricky in details and interesting for investigation and execution.

par Alexandra K

May 31, 2016

For me as a complete beginner in typography that was a really informative course. It is a beginner's level, lets you understand if you want to study typography further or that would be enough for your purposes. Thanks!

par Maged E S

Apr 18, 2018

please update the videos as soon as possible because found in this course and other courses that the videos were recorded in 2013-2014 and the quality some times is horrible and maybe to improve sound quality as well.

par Maureen O

Oct 09, 2019

GREAT TEACHERS! GREAT COURSE OUTLINE! GREAT ASSIGNMENTS AND QUIZZES..WORKED MY ASS OUT. I'M GLAD I TOOK THIS COURSE..IT HAS AIDED ME IN LEARNING ABOUT TYPOGRAPHY AND ITS USAGE AND IMPACT IN DESIGNING TODAY.

par Rebecca C

Apr 07, 2020

Introduction to Typography was very informative and had a lot of useful information. The videos were very detailed and easy to understand. The assignments instructions and expectations were outlined well.

par Andrea R

Aug 16, 2019

Because letters are not just letters... You can communicate more than just words and ideas, you can communicate a time, place, feelings, etc when the correct typography... this is what this course is about.

par Rhonda C

May 31, 2019

This course is a very good introduction to typography - it's history, technological advances, layout design and composition. It helps prove how important it is in choosing the right typeface for a project.

par Rita K

Jan 19, 2018

In the Graphic Design Specialisation this course is my favourite so far. The videos are great, the assignments are interesting. After this introductory course I would love a Typography specialization too.

par Anastasia W

Oct 10, 2016

I learned so much from this course. I highly recommend it to anyone who wants to get a quick introduction to typography. The instructor does an excellent job in both explaining and illustrating topics.

par Diana-Mihaela S

Aug 12, 2016

I highly recommend this course! Before taking it, typography was some sort of mystical art, now everything is crystal clear. Concise and to the point, the course allows you to gain essential knowledge.