Chevron Left
Retour à Introduction to Typography

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Introduction to Typography par California Institute of the Arts

4.8
étoiles
2,948 évaluations
575 avis

À propos du cours

Typography is the art of manipulating the visual form of language to enrich and control its meaning. It’s an essential area of skill and knowledge for graphic designers. Typography predates modern graphic design by around 500 years; it is rich in rules, conventions, and esoteric terminology—but it remains an exciting space for invention and expression. In this rigorous introductory course, we will study, name, and measure the characteristics of letterforms. We’ll consider the pragmatic concerns involved in selecting and combining type. We’ll peek into the 
rich historical, cultural, and aesthetic histories of familiar typefaces. We’ll discuss time-tested conventions and best practices in setting type, as governed by principles of hierarchy and spatial organization. And we’ll explore the expressive, meaning-making potential of type. Informative lectures will be complemented by a series of three peer-assessed assignments, culminating 
in an opportunity to design a full-scale typographic poster. Please note that this is not a software course; a basic working knowledge of Adobe InDesign or other 
page layout software will be assumed. You will need access to a computer and page layout software, such as InDesign, to complete the assignments....

Meilleurs avis

JC

Jul 29, 2018

Loved that the main typeface study was carried out throughout this course. Loved beginning with the writing assignment and then evolving into a full on typographic poster. Very fun and informative

LS

Apr 07, 2016

Very organized and detailed about the basic, history, characteristics of typography.\n\nI really enjoyed it and wish there were other courses by the same lecturer.\n\nThanks for the great course!!

Filtrer par :

526 - 548 sur 548 Avis pour Introduction to Typography

par Deb S

Jan 27, 2017

Good introduction to the topic.

par Brooke K

Aug 07, 2018

great course, i learnt a lot

par Bruce R

Feb 05, 2017

Fascinating and organized!

par Tatiana D

Dec 30, 2019

Loved the instructor!

par Arshla J

Sep 24, 2016

Enjoyable experience.

par Boula N S

Mar 08, 2019

It is a great course

par rwaa h

Jun 19, 2019

i think it is good

par NATASHA F

Jun 08, 2016

really good intro.

par Matt A

Mar 28, 2016

Very informative.

par Artem T

Apr 07, 2019

A bit too basic

par Mufizul I

Jan 29, 2017

Good!

par Evan M

Aug 19, 2018

I enjoyed learning about the typographic types but wish I could have learned more about the creation of diverse typographical projects. Showing several posters from professional graphic designers is a good way to see what all is out there, but does not help in the creation process.

par Markus R

Apr 21, 2016

Very interesting topic, but even for an introductory course not nearly enough to justify a full 4 week course for € 71!

The first course, Fundamentals of Graphic Design, had more content, more (optional) assignments, and covered Typography, too.

par Rania M S M

Oct 27, 2017

i think some point in the course need more explanation , too much information in little time

i wish that the instructor give his feed back about all the assignments , this will be very helpful and useful , but the course is good and useful

par E. C C

Jan 24, 2017

Basic overview of Typographical ideas, terms and so forth. A bit short and not very technical, but playing with Type as an integral part of design was really fun and inspirational.

par Euan M

Apr 07, 2016

Would have welcomed more or longer lectures, and more variety in the assignments.

par Carlise T

Mar 31, 2016

It was extremely high level. I would have appreciated more content in the videos.

par Xinjuan D

Jun 20, 2019

too boring

par israa h h

Mar 09, 2019

nice

par Delia C G

Feb 04, 2020

Very underwhelming course. Doesn't even begin to scratch the surface of the topic. A lot of basic information is left out. The two stars are for the reading list--it helped a lot but I guess I could have found out about these books without having to pay a Coursera subscription. More assignments are needed. More basic information. The terms need to be defined more clearly.

par Lynda R

Oct 31, 2019

The instructions for the final project -- the project is the biggest part of the grade -- are ambiguous. I posted on the Discussion Forum for clarification. No response. I looked up the contact information for and wrote the professor of record for clarification. No response. Peer reviewers marked me down for my interpretation. Disappointing. I want to continue on with the specialization, but if no one of knowledge and experience is monitoring student progress -- why should I? Please note: On other Coursera courses I have sometimes sought and received clarification for assignment instructions. This is first time I have received none, so this is my first bad experience with my go to platform for self-learning. Disappointing.

par Chiara S

Apr 03, 2017

Would have liked to do the assignments if they weren't all locked by payment requirements

par Alaki E

Mar 23, 2016

K