Chevron Left
Retour à Introduction to Typography

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Introduction to Typography par California Institute of the Arts

4.8
étoiles
4,135 évaluations
842 avis

À propos du cours

Typography is the art of manipulating the visual form of language to enrich and control its meaning. It’s an essential area of skill and knowledge for graphic designers. Typography predates modern graphic design by around 500 years; it is rich in rules, conventions, and esoteric terminology—but it remains an exciting space for invention and expression. In this rigorous introductory course, we will study, name, and measure the characteristics of letterforms. We’ll consider the pragmatic concerns involved in selecting and combining type. We’ll peek into the 
rich historical, cultural, and aesthetic histories of familiar typefaces. We’ll discuss time-tested conventions and best practices in setting type, as governed by principles of hierarchy and spatial organization. And we’ll explore the expressive, meaning-making potential of type. Informative lectures will be complemented by a series of three peer-assessed assignments, culminating 
in an opportunity to design a full-scale typographic poster. Please note that this is not a software course; a basic working knowledge of Adobe InDesign or other 
page layout software will be assumed. You will need access to a computer and page layout software, such as InDesign, to complete the assignments....

Meilleurs avis

BG

Aug 04, 2020

I thought the assignments worked really cohesively with one another. It helped to keep terms and skills in mind from one assignment to the next. The lecture videos were great, short, and to the point.

JC

Jul 29, 2018

Loved that the main typeface study was carried out throughout this course. Loved beginning with the writing assignment and then evolving into a full on typographic poster. Very fun and informative

Filtrer par :

801 - 815 sur 815 Avis pour Introduction to Typography

par shubhangi g

Aug 06, 2020

The overall course was nice and helpful. I just feel like the last assignment should have more parts. Like the course should at least one example video on how to design the poster, before giving an assignment on designing a poster.

par Sergio G F

Jul 25, 2020

I learn that typography is much deeper than I thought but some of the theoretical explanations about how readable some typefaces are are subjective and it depends on each individual or what they are used to.

par E. C C

Jan 24, 2017

Basic overview of Typographical ideas, terms and so forth. A bit short and not very technical, but playing with Type as an integral part of design was really fun and inspirational.

par Ramzi O

Sep 08, 2020

Generic, I feel like a lot of this is found on youtube and can be learnt online. its getting a bit old and needs revision for post 2020 market and ideas

par Dax C

Jun 15, 2020

The course itself is great, however, the comments were not helpful, wrong and downright disrespectful, coursera should pay attention to this problem.

par ANUSHA C

Aug 26, 2020

peer grade review takes a lot of time and even when i have submitted the assignment before time its not being reviewed.

par Pajera D

May 28, 2020

If you are beginer, this is suit to you. But if you have experience in graphic design field, this is too easy.

par Adrienn B

Jun 27, 2020

In the first 2 weeks there was no hands-on project, literally nothing exciting just dry material.

par Euan M

Apr 07, 2016

Would have welcomed more or longer lectures, and more variety in the assignments.

par Carlise T

Mar 31, 2016

It was extremely high level. I would have appreciated more content in the videos.

par Xinjuan D

Jun 20, 2019

too boring

par israa h h

Mar 09, 2019

nice

par Freyja M

Jun 29, 2020

Not engaging, seemed to drag on forever.

par daniel g

Sep 02, 2020

Coursera issue, not the course itself.

Coursera app via appleTV is not compatible despite being available as something to download on that platform. I did work on both appleTV and desktop apps before I realized that the work did not transfer from one format to the other.

Coursera was not helpful in fusing the work so my participation was a bust despite the GREAT quality of the material.

par Alaki E

Mar 23, 2016

K