Chevron Left
Retour à Osteoarchaeology: The Truth in Our Bones

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Osteoarchaeology: The Truth in Our Bones par Université de Leyde

4.7
étoiles
459 évaluations

À propos du cours

This course is about what we can learn from examining the human skeleton, and how we can use this knowledge to reconstruct the lives of people who lived in the past. In archaeology and anthropology, human skeletal remains can provide unique insights into the past and the present; insights that cannot be gained otherwise. These insights are explored in five main themes spread out over five weeks of learning. First, it is shown how age-at-death, sex and stature can be estimated by the close examination of (archaeological) skeletal remains. In subsequent modules it is shown how human bones can provide information about the diseases and injuries that people suffered from and what they ate. Also, it is shown how the human skeleton provides information about the kinds of activities that people engaged in and about how they migrated and moved around their landscapes. In this course, you will examine all aspects of the human skeleton that can provide us with information about these different facets of life. Together we will explore the scientific field that is known as human osteoarchaeology. - Human, because it is about us and our ancestors, - Osteo, because it is about our bones, - Archaeology, because we use this information to better understand the behaviors and events experienced by past people. During the course, you will decipher the clues left behind in the skeletons of past peoples with the methods and techniques that are presented. You may also discover some clues hidden in your own skeleton and what they reveal about the life that you are living. Want to know more? You can take a look at the course trailer here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fJi22TxzpRw...

Meilleurs avis

SS

7 nov. 2016

Very informative, a good grounding in the subject, I really felt like I gained a lot of valuable knowledge on the subject that will help me in future endeavors. Very well put-together and organized.

PB

20 nov. 2016

I took this course to find out what osteoarchaeology was all about. Excellent, excellent course! Well planned, laid out and , and very interesting. I have learned a lot. Thank you!!!

Filtrer par :

151 - 167 sur 167 Avis pour Osteoarchaeology: The Truth in Our Bones

par Deborah J

20 juil. 2017

Very interesting, but some of the assignments were way too difficult for someone who isn't science minded, or who is just here to learn for fun.

par Thomas A

1 oct. 2020

Great fun, if more difficult than I expected! Nice work by the instructors!

par Olivia K

12 mars 2018

Detailed course with excellent staff and challenging assignments.

par arjan

8 juil. 2019

learned a lot, good reading, shot an clear explanations

par Pauline D

5 févr. 2019

Good introductory material without being simplistic.

par Stephen D

13 mai 2017

great course. very well presented

par Andrea S

9 juil. 2022

Very informative. Would havhave

par Anna S

17 sept. 2017

Absolutely fascinating!

par Richard K

26 mai 2017

very interesting

par Olivia S G

13 mai 2021

While the information was interesting, sometimes the assessments would test students on things that weren't taught or reviewed. Much of my review is a criticism of the Coursera platform.

While peer-reviews can be helpful, it requires everyone in the class to have a good understanding of what is being graded, and I don't think everyone taking the course did have a decent understanding-- at one point, someone submitted a photo of a dog as their assignment, and another individual simply copied in text from a published paper. In addition, it was clear that most people didn't really understand how to provide peer reviews. In the comments boxes, where we were supposed to give advice to improve our future work, all too often people would just write "good" or ".". It was very rare that any actual criticism or evaluation would be provided. If people's grades and learning are going to depend on these peer reviews, then they need to be checked for thoroughness and quality, because as of now, I got the impression that some people just rushed through the reviews to get them out of the way. Ironically, the reviews need to be reviewed by a teacher/instructor/moderator to make sure that they are helpful and complete. I attended a college that used peer reviews extensively, but they were also looked over by instructors and poorly done or rushed reviews were used to evaluate the reviewer instead of the reviewee.

It's also worth noting that at some points, the written assignments would have certain expectations for answers but would not actually outline them sufficiently, and it was hard to answer them when the questions weren't even provided.

While the course is interesting, I do not feel that this is really up to par, especially due to the lack of any interaction with people who know what they are doing. The moderator was helpful but one person moderating forums does not replace a TA or teacher. If this course is going to use written assessments, the review system needs to be balanced with oversight, and the assignments need to be better written so the student knows what they have to answer.

par JVH

9 sept. 2021

Si no sigues el ritmo marcado por los profesores se te puede pasar el tiempo de enviar las tareas y si completas el curso no puedes obtener el certificado. Por lo demás el curso es interesante pero muy básico para conocer muchos aspectos acerca de esqueletos antiguos. Los videos son extensos, los aspectos prácticos son escasos.

par Mark

23 sept. 2017

Although a little dry, this course is TREMENDOUSLY informative to people who know little about Osteoarcheology. Loses a star, though, for requiring outside Word Documents for the completion of it's special assignments, which I do not have.

par Rachel K

1 oct. 2021

There is no way to challenge peer reviewers, even when they claim something incorrect. It is difficult to get work graded when submitted late or regraded when reworked. It was a very informative and well structured course other than that.

par Sue B E

26 oct. 2017

I enjoyed the course very much but having my completion tied up by other people did not appeal to me in the least. I would definitely warn people of that element.

par Valentina d S D P

29 juil. 2022

The fact that I need other people's opinions (and goodwill) to get the certification is frustrating.

par Eugene K

4 août 2022

assignments are peer graded

par ELENI K

3 nov. 2016

This is a nice effort, and it obvious how hard everyone has worked. There are too many presumptions presented as 'facts', though, and too much certainty about research issues that lots of debate is still going around. So, good work, but unless the course is supposed to attract only ignorants and people that haven't been in contact with 'science', some of the instructors act a bit 'I know it all' and that is how it is, although no-one does yet. Sorry to discover this spirit in here.