Chevron Left
Retour à Osteoarchaeology: The Truth in Our Bones

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Osteoarchaeology: The Truth in Our Bones par Université de Leyde

4.7
étoiles
337 évaluations
113 avis

À propos du cours

This course is about what we can learn from examining the human skeleton, and how we can use this knowledge to reconstruct the lives of people who lived in the past. In archaeology and anthropology, human skeletal remains can provide unique insights into the past and the present; insights that cannot be gained otherwise. These insights are explored in five main themes spread out over five weeks of learning. First, it is shown how age-at-death, sex and stature can be estimated by the close examination of (archaeological) skeletal remains. In subsequent modules it is shown how human bones can provide information about the diseases and injuries that people suffered from and what they ate. Also, it is shown how the human skeleton provides information about the kinds of activities that people engaged in and about how they migrated and moved around their landscapes. In this course, you will examine all aspects of the human skeleton that can provide us with information about these different facets of life. Together we will explore the scientific field that is known as human osteoarchaeology. - Human, because it is about us and our ancestors, - Osteo, because it is about our bones, - Archaeology, because we use this information to better understand the behaviors and events experienced by past people. During the course, you will decipher the clues left behind in the skeletons of past peoples with the methods and techniques that are presented. You may also discover some clues hidden in your own skeleton and what they reveal about the life that you are living. Want to know more? You can take a look at the course trailer here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fJi22TxzpRw...

Meilleurs avis

SS

Nov 08, 2016

Very informative, a good grounding in the subject, I really felt like I gained a lot of valuable knowledge on the subject that will help me in future endeavors. Very well put-together and organized.

PB

Nov 21, 2016

I took this course to find out what osteoarchaeology was all about. Excellent, excellent course! Well planned, laid out and , and very interesting. I have learned a lot. Thank you!!!

Filtrer par :

101 - 111 sur 111 Avis pour Osteoarchaeology: The Truth in Our Bones

par Pauline D

Feb 06, 2019

Good introductory material without being simplistic.

par Stephen D

May 13, 2017

great course. very well presented

par Anna S

Sep 17, 2017

Absolutely fascinating!

par Richard K

May 26, 2017

very interesting

par Mark

Sep 23, 2017

Although a little dry, this course is TREMENDOUSLY informative to people who know little about Osteoarcheology. Loses a star, though, for requiring outside Word Documents for the completion of it's special assignments, which I do not have.

par Sue B E

Oct 26, 2017

I enjoyed the course very much but having my completion tied up by other people did not appeal to me in the least. I would definitely warn people of that element.

par Anne M

Nov 04, 2016

Positive: Very interesting and informative lectures and subject matter.

Negative: Fellow "students" who have no knowledge of the subject (other than what they themselves are learning) are required to submit case studies for "peer review" by other students who have no more knowledge of the subject than they do. These case studies are heavily weighted and if the person is reviewed negatively (for whatever reason), they must resubmit it never knowing why they were given low scores or what the correct answer should have been. No instructor assistance is given. Huge turn-off for me and many of my fellow students. I want to withdraw (drop) this class and take another with more clearly drawn parameters.

par ELENI K

Nov 03, 2016

This is a nice effort, and it obvious how hard everyone has worked. There are too many presumptions presented as 'facts', though, and too much certainty about research issues that lots of debate is still going around. So, good work, but unless the course is supposed to attract only ignorants and people that haven't been in contact with 'science', some of the instructors act a bit 'I know it all' and that is how it is, although no-one does yet. Sorry to discover this spirit in here.

par Stacey M

Oct 30, 2016

While the course is very interesting, I found the peer review process unsatisfying. I did not enjoy grading others without knowing if I was right. Grading a fellow student on their accuracy when I don't know if they are actually wrong is something I never want to do again. After completing the course, I had hoped to learn if any of my assignments were actually correct. I am disappointed in the outcome.

par Ziggy

Apr 08, 2018

This is an awesome course but they have the cheesy "Peer-Reviewed" assignments. Even if you get 100% on the quizzes you still must do peer reviewed assignments. The course is basically impossible because the other "learners" are assholes who give you 3/5 and fail your ass.

par Annigje F

Dec 30, 2016

The peer-review rubrics need adjustments.. it's very hard to grade anyone this way. Especially when the answers are just wrong.

The staff/teachers/instructors CAN BE A LOT MORE INVOLVED ON THE FORUM!