Chevron Left
Retour à Osteoarchaeology: The Truth in Our Bones

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Osteoarchaeology: The Truth in Our Bones par Université de Leyde

4.7
étoiles
351 évaluations
117 avis

À propos du cours

This course is about what we can learn from examining the human skeleton, and how we can use this knowledge to reconstruct the lives of people who lived in the past. In archaeology and anthropology, human skeletal remains can provide unique insights into the past and the present; insights that cannot be gained otherwise. These insights are explored in five main themes spread out over five weeks of learning. First, it is shown how age-at-death, sex and stature can be estimated by the close examination of (archaeological) skeletal remains. In subsequent modules it is shown how human bones can provide information about the diseases and injuries that people suffered from and what they ate. Also, it is shown how the human skeleton provides information about the kinds of activities that people engaged in and about how they migrated and moved around their landscapes. In this course, you will examine all aspects of the human skeleton that can provide us with information about these different facets of life. Together we will explore the scientific field that is known as human osteoarchaeology. - Human, because it is about us and our ancestors, - Osteo, because it is about our bones, - Archaeology, because we use this information to better understand the behaviors and events experienced by past people. During the course, you will decipher the clues left behind in the skeletons of past peoples with the methods and techniques that are presented. You may also discover some clues hidden in your own skeleton and what they reveal about the life that you are living. Want to know more? You can take a look at the course trailer here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fJi22TxzpRw...

Meilleurs avis

SS

Nov 08, 2016

Very informative, a good grounding in the subject, I really felt like I gained a lot of valuable knowledge on the subject that will help me in future endeavors. Very well put-together and organized.

PB

Nov 21, 2016

I took this course to find out what osteoarchaeology was all about. Excellent, excellent course! Well planned, laid out and , and very interesting. I have learned a lot. Thank you!!!

Filtrer par :

76 - 100 sur 118 Avis pour Osteoarchaeology: The Truth in Our Bones

par Marisa L

Sep 30, 2019

Super well structured, useful and clear

par Krystyna S

Feb 20, 2019

Fascinating and very informative course

par Savitha

Aug 14, 2017

It's an amazing course.. I LOVED IT!!

par Dr.Martin G

May 20, 2017

Congratulations for this course!!!

par Sarah S

Apr 25, 2017

Such a fun and interesting course!

par Imanol M

Mar 26, 2017

Un curso excelente!!! Enhorabuena

par Bart S

Oct 10, 2016

great class, please repeat it!

par Yve

Aug 03, 2020

An interesting course!

par Gleb E

Mar 26, 2018

Just a perfect course!

par Jewellia T

Sep 25, 2017

Great professors!

par Robin B

Jan 26, 2017

Awesome course =)

par Alfredo J A G

Aug 18, 2017

dis les bendiga

par Claudette D

Oct 12, 2016

Excellent class

par Ahmed A

Nov 19, 2016

perfect course

par Juan A J

Jun 23, 2017

Magnifico!

par mustafa a

Oct 08, 2016

wonderfull

par Paul R

Mar 07, 2018

Excellent

par Joy S

Jan 16, 2017

Good info

par Andrei d S S

Jul 09, 2017

Awesome!

par Nadiyah a

Mar 25, 2020

great

par Hasan m

Jun 23, 2018

good

par Christine S

Nov 05, 2016

The course has been very informative, the mystery cases we had to solve challenging.

The topic and how the team approached it was great, but there have been some downsides too. The transcripts were full of mistakes as done with a voice recognition software and obviously not double checked (which is bad for non-native speakers like me), and some of the material given in the mystery cases would have needed some further explanation on how to interpret them. Especially for the ones without any previous knowledge - like me - there should be more information or a help desk. Peer review is another issue. I am still not quite sure what I have done wrong, as there was no feedback. And, sometimes I really didn't know how to give feedback myself, as I didn't know if I was right or wrong with my analysis. If relying on peer review only, there should be solutions handed in after you have submitted so that you can learn from your mistakes and are able to review the others correctly.

All in all I have learned loads within these 5 weeks and I will definitely come back on another course. It has been fun and challenging!

par Nathalie W

Jan 06, 2020

I like the course, things are quite clear and straightforward. I particularly like the fact that you need to do some work yourself, with the mysteries. You need to practice what you learned rather than just read a course. I am going to university as a mature student where I will study archaeology but eventually, I would like to work in osteology/osteoarchaeology. This is one of the reasons I did this course.

What I like less about it, is that peers have to review your work. Now, I have not had issues personally (I passed with 92.5%). But there is so much wriggle room with wrong/right answers and we are not trained in properly grading work.

The other thing I didn't really like is the fact that there is no help available. There is a forum, but there are no longer any volunteers who can help with questions and issues (course work-wise).

These last 2 things are the reason I have given it 4* instead of 5*.

par Brent C

May 04, 2017

The content and instructional videos are very good. The in video questions and weekly quizzes help to reinforce materials with most questions being well crafted. The weekly mysteries are a very good learning exercise because they introduce material or methods in a new way. A small issue with the interface for the exercises not being intuitive for all learners & no instructions to assist with first exercise.

Two issues with this course/platform:

1) The discussion areas are not designed in a way to encourage exchanges.

2) I did not notice any interaction from any instructor or mentors outside of the prepackaged materials. Perhaps this is an unreasonable expectation; however, I have taken several courses where instructors and mentors encouraged discussions and suggested additional materials / links appropriate to issues raised by students. A great plus for a course when done well.

par Charlotte S

Nov 24, 2016

I really enjoyed learning from this course. It was diverse and exciting. The assignments were interesting, and makes the student feel as though you are truly an osteo-archaeologist who needs to 'solve the mystery' of the skeleton. The only downside of this course is the peer-reviewed assignment. The peer review is done by multiple-choice from 1 to 5 for five 'aspects' of your submission and many 'peers' do not leave any comment to provide feedback for improvement. So, if you didn't pass the assignment the first time, you might not have a clue what it is that you should improve for the second submission. Apart from the fact that you are reviewed by peers (= not specialists) who might be wrong themselves, it is very annoying that you are not able to learn from your mistakes. Perhaps this course could improve on this point by making it obligatory for peers to add a comment.